January 2014 Glossybox Review

DSC_0075

The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $21/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via Newgistics | Ships to the US

DSC_0077

Glossybox sends out deluxe and full size samples, hence their higher price tag. They will usually reveal two spoilers for every box and each spoiler is guaranteed to be in your box. This is a really late review for the January 2014 Glossybox because despite the fact that it’s a January box, mine didn’t arrive on my doorstep until the first week of February. There were definitely a lot of unhappy subscribers last month in January due to the shipping delays, lack of communication, and horrible customer service from Glossybox.

DSC_0079

First look into the box shows that it’s packed full of products. January’s spoilers were the Beauty Blender + bonus cleanser and the Vichy. Of course the Beauty Blender by itself is basically already worth the entire cost of the box so a lot of people jumped onto the Glossybox subscription last month.

DSC_0081

The Original BeautyBlender + bonus solid cleanser (Full size | Value: $20.00) – I was actually really excited for this product (even though I don’t personally use a lot of makeup) because it is holy grail status for a lot of experience makeup artists and it’s supposed to be amazing/easy to use. A little fun fact about this: many subscribers who received their box on time received the liquid cleanser, whereas the late boxes contained the solid cleanser. I really had no preference but I think the solid cleanser is probably of better value.

DSC_0083

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Rich Cream (Deluxe sample size (0.5 fl oz) | Value: $9.12) – This was the second spoiler that they released and I was actually really excited for this product too. Not for myself, but for my mom! She loves Vichy products and this was the perfect gift to her as she’s going to travel in a few days so this cute little jar will be great to bring along!

DSC_0086

Toni&Guy Casual Sea Salt Texturising Spray (Deluxe sample size (2.5 fl oz) | Value: $5.51) – I actually already received this in a previous Birchbox but traded it away so this was a nice surprise. It’s actually a very decent sized sample despite the low value and it really does smell amazing when you compare it to your regular hairsprays that smell like chemicals. I’ve tried this and it really does help give volume to your hair while maintaining a flexible hold.

DSC_0092

BCBGMAXAZRIA Bon Genre Eau de Parfum (Travel Spray Pen (0.33 fl oz) | Value: $7.30) – This is a very nicely sized spray pen of perfume. I don’t mind the scent as it’s not super floral (I can’t stand floral of any kind), but it won’t be taking the place of my favorite perfume, aka Hello by Harvey Prince.

So here’s another fun fact and a bit of pot-stirring… I will say that I have no idea what happened with Glossybox this month and I don’t think we’ll ever really know because all they would say was “shipping delay due to extreme weather”, but… there was a variation this month and it was either getting this perfume or a body wash. As it was with the liquid cleanser and the solid cleanser… the subscribers who got their boxes on time received the body wash while the late boxes received this perfume. This specific perfume was actually already included in the September Glossybox so I do believe that some subscribers did receive this as a duplicate. Fortunately, I was not a subscriber at that time so this was new to me.

DSC_0096

Bellapierre Mineral Blush in Desert Rose (Full size | Value: $20.00) – I’ve never used mineral blush before so this should be an interesting product to try out! It’s nicely pigmented and others have said that it goes on as a peachy sheen.

photo 1 photo 2

Overall Value: $61.93

Overall Enjoyment: Too much frustration. Allow me to elaborate – while I absolutely loved the items inside the January Glossybox, their lack of care and attention to their customers was not enough to keep me as a returner subscriber. I had to continuously contact their customer service before I received an answer that wasn’t just a generic copy and paste reply about the weather. While I do find that the value of the box to be worth the price of the box, I did not find that it was worth the frustration to continue giving them my money. Unless they come out with another amazing spoiler, I think I’m going to have to stay away.

One comment

Leave a Reply

