February 2014 Escape Monthly Review

DSC_0169

Escape Monthly
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $49.95/month
Local food, artisan crafts, souvenirs, and more!
Ships via USPS Priority | Ships to the US

DSC_0174

Escape Monthly is a “vacation getaway in a box”! From their website:

“Escape Monthly was born from the love of travel and relaxation. Each month, we bundle majestic experiences into each box, helping everyone and anyone escape to that place they cherish so deeply in their hearts—their paradise.

Each month, members escape to the world’s most luxurious destinations and indulgences, from exotic retreats to the most luxurious spas and from celebrated events to experiences loved world wide. Escape Monthly brings these experiences right to your doorstep.”

DSC_0175

First look at the box. The destination for this month was New York! I was definitely excited to give Escape Monthly a try not only for its destination, but because I got this box for 50% off when they were doing a promotion. So I thought, why not?

I have to say that the box was definitely heavy when I picked it up and having opened it, you can see why – it’s packed! However, there was a very strong herbal/medicinal smell that immediately hit me when I opened it, which was slightly off-putting as there were food items also in the box and there’s nothing worse than having strong scents transfer into food. But more on that later.

DSC_0184

Better Brittle West African Style Peanut Brittle ($4.75) – These are vegan! Personally I’m an omnivore and will eat everything, but I think it’s great that those who receive the box and are vegan (and not allergic to nuts) will be able to enjoy this! My dad loves brittle so I’m definitely going to have to share this with him.

DSC_0186

New York Taxi Treats Cookies ($2.99) – I’m really not a fan of shortbread (I mean, I’ll make it for friends and family, but I’ll rarely eat it). So I was kind of bummed to see this item in the box. I can see that it’s definitely very touristy, but I was expecting a better representation of New York City than just taxi-shaped shortbread cookies. Maybe I could do something like a shortbread crust with some lemon bars or other kind of baked good with this.

DSC_0187

The Peanut Principle Gourmet Maple Peanut Butter ($6.99) – This is a pretty exciting treat! I love peanut butter and I love maple syrup, but I’ve never had them together as one product. Also exciting is that it’s organic. I’m definitely looking forward to trying this on my next PB&J or in my next batch of peanut butter blossom cookies!

DSC_0188

Flint Creek Good Skin Blend Soap ($3.00) – This was my least favorite item in the entire box. I don’t enjoy the scent of the soap and I actually don’t use bar soap so I’m not quite sure what I want to do with this. I’ll probably end up gifting it or trading it away because I know for sure I won’t use it. I can appreciate the fact that it’s well-made and that it’s an artisan soap, but unfortunately it’s not for me.

DSC_0189

Brooklyn Studio Travel Tin Candle ($9.00) – I’ve definitely been getting too many candles from subscription boxes lately! But this is a very nice and subtle scent with green tea lemongrass. I really liked the little drawstring bag it came with and I’m sure this will make a great gift!

DSC_0191

Sundaes Best Hot Fudge ($6.50) – Yay fudge! Who doesn’t love fudge on their ice cream sundae? I’ve actually already opened and tried some (okay I took a small spoonful of it) and it is definitely rich in chocolate. Good thing it’s already in the 70s here in California so I can enjoy it with some ice cream!

DSC_0194

DSC_0197DSC_0198

Kanpekies Peckigram Cookies ($8.00) – These were very nicely packaged. I will admit that I wasn’t too happy when I first saw this after seeing the taxi-shaped shortbread cookies but these are great! I love dried cherries and so this was actually better than expected. Would I pay $8.00 for these? No. (mostly because I could make them myself) But I am glad that they were included!

DSC_0199

Bonus I Love New York Sticker ($1.49) – Just a fun extra!

DSC_0201

Moon New York City Metro ($14.99) – This is a tour guide of New York City, which would be great for planning your next vacation to NYC!

DSC_0204

Last looks.

I think that I went into this with the wrong mindset, as I made the obvious error of equating a New York box with New York City – and of course, New York is more than just New York City! So that was definitely my own fault. However, I do have to say that this box did raise some concerns.

One, there were two food products that contained nuts. I don’t have a nut allergy, but if I did, I’d be pretty bummed out with this box’s curation as I would not be able to enjoy those items. That being said, I am looking forward to both items, I just thought it might be a good thing to note for future boxes.

Two, there were two kinds of shortbread cookies. I wouldn’t have complained about getting one kind because hey, I’m always open to trying new brands and new flavors. But when you think of everything else that New York has to offer, would you send two kinds of shortbread cookies in the same box? That’s probably my biggest complaint. Even if I liked shortbread cookies, I would have really loved to try other items from New York.

Three, (last one, I promise!) the soap was just sitting in the box. I wouldn’t usually care but this soap had a really, really strong scent. (I left the box in my room and when I came back, all I could smell was the scent of the soap). I really don’t like it when food picks up the scent of other things when the two are in close proximity because when you eat it, the whole food product is ruined. Thankfully, nothing I’ve tried so far in the box has had this issue but I think it would be a good idea to at least seal the soap in something the next time around so that the smell doesn’t permeate throughout the entire box.

Overall Value: $57.71

Overall Enjoyment: Despite my lack of love for the soap and my complaint about there being two kinds of shortbread cookies… this was definitely a good box for how much I paid. As I mentioned earlier, I got this box for 50% off so was this box worth the $24.95 I paid? Definitely. The cost of shipping alone would be ridiculously high to try and get the same items myself. Would I pay $50 for this box? No. However… if there is a destination that catches my eye in the future, I might be tempted.

Fun fact: Next month’s destination is IRELAND and they’ll be shipping on St. Patrick’s Day so if you love Ireland and its culture, be sure to sign up!

Fun fact part ii: Escape Monthly is currently offering deals on select items that were included in this month’s New York box, so if you missed out and want to try some of the products for yourself, be sure to check out their shop!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

