Nina Garcia Quarterly #NGQ02 Review

DSC_0403

Nina Garcia Quarterly
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $100/quarter
Home, beauty, fashion, and lifestyle items.
Ships via USPS | Ships to everywhere!

DSC_0406

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! This is hands down the most expensive subscription box I have ever bought. It was $100 a pop and I took the plunge for several reasons. 1. The first spoiler was a notebook (I love stationary). 2. There was a promised FIFTEEN items in this box, with many of them being custom-made for Nina Garcia. 3. I did really like her previous box and actually traded for some of the items. 4. I had a $10 discount!

DSC_0407

This box was heavy. Like seriously heavy. I couldn’t believe it when I first picked it up.

DSC_0409

Everything was packaged so nicely and each item was wrapped individually. It’s like opening 15 gifts on Christmas, except in March.

DSC_0414 DSC_0416

Tom Ford’s Jasmin Rouge – sample vial of 1.5 ml (Value: $2?). I am currently sick and have a stuffy nose, but I could smell this and it’s lovely! I’m not one for floral scents, but I love jasmine and this is really quite nice. (Update: I think I might be allergic to this because I sprayed some on my wrist and I couldn’t stop sneezing. In the end, I had to go and wash it off.)

DSC_0419

 

 

DSC_0420

OPI Nail Lacquer in Greenade – 15 ml (Value: $10?) This was a custom made color especially for Nina’s Quarterly subscribers! I don’t wear nail polish regularly (or really, at all) but this is a bright green/lime that’s perfect for spring!

DSC_0422

 

 

DSC_0423

Graphic Image Pocket Notes Notebook – 3″ x 5″, 144 pages (Value: $36): This was the spoiler that Nina posted on both instagram and twitter! I am so happy that I received it in blue because blue is my favorite color. 😀 It’s gorgeous and I’m afraid to write in it because it is so gorgeous, haha. The gilt edges are amazing!

DSC_0424

Sterling Silver Shark Tooth Necklace (Value: $100): This is amazing and ridiculously expensive… and something I would never spend $100 on. But since it’s in my box, how can I say no? It is sterling silver and the necklace itself is a hand-woven Mexican tassel necklace. It’s actually a lot smaller than it looks here so it’s more of a delicate piece than a statement piece. Effortlessly trendy!

DSC_0426

C Wonder Bangle/Delicate Pave Spike Cuff (Value: $34): I’ve been eying cuffs like this for a while, unfortunately this one is so small and so tiny that I think I’d break it trying to get it on my wrist, no joke! This was one of the items that had variation on the motif, as I’ve seen ones with hearts on them instead! I might have to trade this in the end but we’ll see. It’s really dainty and great for stacking!

DSC_0428

Revive’s Moisturizing Renewal Serum – 6ml (Value: $47): This serum is sold at Neiman Marcus and the full size is worth a ridiculous $235! I don’t think I’d ever spend that much a night serum but this is a fun sample to try out!

DSC_0429

 

 

DSC_0431

Laura Mercier Bonne Mine Compact (Value: $48): This is a great addition because Laura Mercier is a wonderful brand! The best part about this item is that all proceeds go to the Laura Mercier Ovarian Cancer Fund (which Nina says is close to her heart). What a fantastic item to include.

DSC_0434

Philosophy’s Time In A Bottle (Value: $74): This is a full size item and it is expensive. I’ve actually never used any of philosophy’s items, but I know a lot of people swear by them! This is a morning serum so you’ve basically got your skin care taken care of by Nina between this and the Revive night serum!

DSC_0438

Slip-Up Flap Wallet from Charming Charlie (Value: $15) – This is really gorgeous and my mom has actually already claimed this for herself when she saw me taking photos. (well, I volunteered to give it to her for mother’s day, haha) You can actually buy this online but you can’t buy this exact floral print!

DSC_0440

From the website:

“Debuting this spring: The Slip Up Flap Wallet in an earthy floral print, a personal favorite of Project Runway judge Nina Garcia. A featured item in Nina’s own curated collection celebrating her fifth anniversary as creative director of Marie Claire.”

DSC_0441

 

 

DSC_0442

LAFCO House and Home Bath Soap in Fresh Cut Gardenia (Value: $17) – Ahhh, no… more bar soaps! I think bar soaps are a current trend in subscription boxes, but that’s okay. I mean, I don’t use bar soaps (I prefer liquid body washes) but this one smells really nice and my mom actually commented on how much she liked it. This was definitely super heavy and it’s a good size! You could probably use this one for a while.

DSC_0443

Muy Cool T-shirt By Spenglish (Value: $40?) – I can’t find the exact t-shirt online, but I’ve linked to the website/series of t-shirts that are close to it. It’s a large, like really large, haha. They didn’t ask about shirt sizes when I subscribed, but I guess you can’t really go wrong with a large t-shirt! I’ll probably use this as a sleep shirt or a work out shirt because it is so comfy and quite roomy. I like it a lot more than I thought it would, but of course if it had been a small or even medium, I think I would love it more as an every day tee! (because I love v-necks!!)

DSC_0444

Donkey Co. Special Edition: pret-a-porter Tea Bags – 2x (Value: $4?): I love tea so this is awesome! They’re super cute and it’s like the figures are lounging in your teacup when you make it. The tea itself is a classic tea blend with assam and I can’t wait to try on a day that I need caffeine. Donkey Co. is a German company that sells a lot of awesome stuff – I was looking through their website and their products are cute and quirky!

DSC_0446

X-Pen Ballpoint Pen (Value: $24): It has a nice weight to it and it also has Nina’s signature on the side! Who doesn’t need more pens? Hahaha.

DSC_0447

Fausto Puglisi Collage (Value: $???): I don’t think I can place a value on this because it’s a special item for this box. From Nina’s letter:

“And lastly, one of the most special items in the box is the illustrated Fausto Puglisi Collage, which he created in celebration of my 5th year at Marie Claire. I adore Fausto’s runway collections, and I am so pleased that I get to share this unique piece of art with you.”

DSC_0448

Marie Claire (Value: $4) – Of course Nina included the latest edition of Marie Claire!

DSC_0449

Happy Chic by Jonathan Adler (Value: $15): Awww, this is a nice addition! Chevron is a great pattern and the gold just makes it that much better. You can place a 4×6 photo in it, but the frame itself is huge! If you like this item, you can buy it at JC Penney!

Overall Value: $470 (and that’s being conservative)

Overall Enjoyment: So worth the $100 I spent! This is such a well-curated box and I loved Nina’s letter that explained each item and why she chose them. I really, really loved it and I’m so happy that I got it! I’m kind of at a loss for words to describe how amazing this box was and how I loved unpacking each item, but I just have to say that this was probably one of the best boxes, if not the best box, I’ve had the pleasure of receiving!

If you wanted to read more about the box: 
1. http://www.marieclaire.com/fashion/nina-garcia-five-years
2. http://finance.yahoo.com/news/nina-garcia-celebrates-five-years-130000552.html

5 comments

Leave a Reply

