Trades #01

DSC_0162

What is this post? Well… I do subscribe to a few boxes and there are inevitably things I won’t like or won’t use, so what do I do with them? I trade! (and okay, sometimes I will sell things too) But I really love trading, especially when I can get things I’ve coveted while I get rid of things I know I don’t want. So here’s just a quick post about things I’ve recently traded for!

Coincidentally, all of the trades that I’m sharing were for Golden Tote clothes! I’ve made quite a few trades for other things, but they were on much smaller levels (think Birchbox samples). I’ve also traded a lot of Popsugar items. ūüôā¬†I’m a huge nerd because I keep track of all of my trades on an excel spreadsheet to see what I’ve traded away and what I’ve gotten in trades. Now onwards!

DSC_0041

 

DSC_0042

What did I receive?¬†I received the Cefian Blue¬†Top.¬†This was a surprise item in the December 2013 Golden Tote. At first I wasn’t sold on this because I thought it would be too… boho for me (I was picturing this as a yoga shirt/spiritual leader shirt). But dark blue and grey are my favorite colors when it comes to clothes, add on the fact that it’s like a v-neck¬†and¬†it has thumb holes? Yeah, I kind of had to. It fits really nicely and it’s so soft. It is a bit thin, which means I can layer it! I usually hate long sleeved tops, but I actually really like how this one styles!

What did I trade for it? I traded the Love Note Pendant from Your Bijoux Box‘s February box! The person I traded with really wanted this necklace and it was literally just sitting in its original pouch, being unused… so I thought, why not trade it to someone who will love it? She was so sweet and actually sent me a surprise along with this top – she sent me an actual Golden Tote… tote! The March Golden Tote review that I posted earlier shows a different style of tote and I was kind of sad that I received the new style instead of the original tote. But she was amazing and sent me one! So now I have two totes – one in the new style and one in the old style!

Fun fact – I actually have none of the original February pieces from Your Bijoux Box! I sold the Jolie Statement Drops on ebay. I traded the Celine necklace for a The Giving Keys necklace from the FabFitFun winter box. And of course, I traded the Love Note Pendant for this top!

Where did I trade? On Makeuptalk.com!

DSC_0043

 

DSC_0044

What did I receive?¬†I received the¬†Priddy by Puella Swing Dress.¬†This was a surprise item in the¬†February 2014¬†Golden Tote. I really wanted this even though people have said that it’s hard to style due to the way it wears and that you would need to belt it to make it look flattering. But I wanted it anyway. It’s a Priddy by Puella dress, how could you go wrong? Also, I have a thing for elbow patches. Also…¬†also, it’s a grey-blue color and I think you all know how I feel about those colors when it comes to clothes!

It is true. You do need to belt it to avoid looking pregnant, but I have a nice collection of sensible belts that pair nicely with this! The material is¬†substantial (it’s a heathered, navy french terry) and would work in fall or spring without a jacket! (but only if you live in California or a place with similar climate) If you want to see what it looks like on a person without a belt, here’s the Golden Tote model!

1620677_444801565620976_921664995_n

What did I trade for it?¬†I traded the¬†Gorjana Brooks Jewelry Roll¬†from¬†Popsugar Must Have‘s February box! I actually had two of these lying around (I’m using the one I didn’t trade away) so I thought this would be a great trade for me since you can buy these for dirt cheap on ebay since Popsugar’s February box was a huge miss for a good majority of the subscribers. I was really happy to trade this away since I didn’t need it and I definitely felt like I was trading up in terms of value and usage!

Where did I trade?¬†On mysubscriptionaddiction’s swap site!

DSC_0045

 

DSC_0046

What did I receive?¬†I received the¬†Porridge Surprise Tee.¬†This was a surprise item in the¬†March¬†2014¬†Golden Tote. After receiving my Porridge Surprise Tee in my own Golden Tote, I really wanted another one in a different pattern. I love how it looks on me and I love v-necks (yes I’ll stop mentioning this now), so I was really hoping that I could swap something I had for another one. But a lot of people seemed to really want these, so it looked like I might not get one… until I lucked out!

What did I trade for it?¬†I traded the¬†Noble Open Knit Sweater¬†from the March 2014¬†Golden Tote! As I mentioned in my March Golden Tote post, there was just one item in my tote that I didn’t love and so I was definitely trying to get rid of it as soon as possible. I posted it in all of my usual spots, but no one really wanted it until someone commented on my post and said that she had this Porridge Surprise Tee in the blue/white pattern. I was ecstatic!

Where did I trade? On Facebook!

Ahhhh, so pleased with all of my trades. ūüôā The best thing about trading is when both parties feel equally satisfied. It’s great when you both come out of a trade feeling like you’ve “won”. I think it worked out nicely that I could post about these three items and also introduce the three places where I usually trade!¬†In any case, I definitely hope to post more about my trades in the future!

If you’re curious… here’s a list of some of the “bigger” items I’ve traded for:

  • Jack Vartanian Ear Cuff (Nina Garcia Quarterly)
  • Rachel Zoe Gold Knot Ring (Popsugar LE Fall 2013 Box)
  • Gorjana Open Circle Necklace (Popsugar August 2013 Box)
  • Wurkin Stiffs Power Collar Stays (Birchbox Man)
  • Giving Keys Necklace (FabFitFun VIP Winter 2013 Box)
  • Erickson Beamon Rocks Bracelet (Popsugar LE Holiday 2013 Box)
  • Lands’ End Canvas Wine Tote (Popsugar November 2013 Box)
  • #FashionNotes Notebook (Nina Garcia Quarterly)*
  • Alex & Ani Silver Swan Bracelet (Glossybox March 2013)*

*(Still waiting to receive these items!)

Smaller items that I’ve traded for are mostly Birchbox samples that I came to love:

  • Beauty Protector Protect & Oil
  • Vasanti BrightenUp!
  • Camille Beckman Morelia Monarch Body Butter

(See, nothing super exciting!)

Leave a Reply

