Plated Week of 3/31

DSC_0191

Plated
The Breakdown:
Weekly | Cost: $12 a plate for members or $15 a plate for non-members
Fresh ingredients delivered to your door for you to cook!
Ships via Fedex | Ships to the 80% of the US

DSC_0192

 

 

DSC_0193

What is this? This is Plated! They were on Shark Tank this past Friday and got themselves a deal with one of the sharks (I think it was Mark Cuban…) so they’ve been recently inundated with new customers, I’m sure.

In any case, it’s a fun subscription that allows you to choose what meals you want to cook at home! The recipes are all super easy and time efficient (most take 30-40 minutes). It also saves you time on shopping and trying to find your own recipe. (However, I will say that there are recipes on Plated that are easily replicated at home if you want to buy your own ingredients and google a recipe).

I’m probably terrible at explaining how it works, so if you want to learn more, here’s their version of “how it works”!

DSC_0197

All of the ingredients laid out on the table.

DSC_0206

 

DSC_0203

The first dish I chose was the Coffee Rubbed Steak with Roasted Red Pepper Panzanella.

DSC_0207

 

DSC_0205

The second dish I chose was the Lemongrass Pork with Vermicelli Noodles.

DSC_0209

First up… the Coffee Rubbed Steak!

DSC_0211

 

DSC_0212

 

DSC_0218

 

DSC_0224

 

DSC_0225

 

This was so good! It was a huge hit! I really enjoyed the panzanella and how flavorful it was and how easy it was to make! I’m definitely saving the recipe card and using it later again! I think the panzanella is a great side dish and would be great for potlucks. The cut of beef was a little tough for me personally, but it was still delicious so I honestly didn’t even care.

 

DSC_0233

And now onto the Lemongrass Pork…

DSC_0236

 

DSC_0238

 

DSC_0239

 

DSC_0242

I don’t know why they gave me so much mint. It was a huge amount. I definitely did not use all of it.

DSC_0245

 

DSC_0249

Sadly, this dish was not a hit with me at all. I love Asian flavors, but this was not good. The fish sauce and lemongrass were entirely too overwhelming. (And yes, the recipe is for lemongrass pork. But I’ve had this before at restaurants and the taste of lemongrass was not so much.) I found the seasoning of this to be way off from what I am used to (in many different aspects) so I don’t think I would remake this dish… and if I order again, I’d probably stay away from Asian-flavor dishes.

Overall, I really like the concept of Plated. I actually really don’t enjoy cooking (I prefer baking) but Plated makes me enjoy cooking just a little more, haha. One dish was amazing while the other was blah. Since I signed up and got three months of free membership, I’ll keep an eye out for recipes that I want to try. But I might not have the time to cook in the coming months, so we’ll see. But so far, I’m a happy customer.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

