April 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_0381

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0382

This is the first of my three Birchboxes this month! I really love that Birchbox exchanged the usual pink tissue paper for blue in honor of their Rainy Days theme! I have way too much pink tissue paper from Birchbox and Popsugar.

DSC_0384

 

DSC_0385

As always, Birchbox includes an info card with all of your samples!

DSC_0386

 

DSC_0387

This month they sent out one of fifty two tips in each box. I got #24 and I hope that I’ll get two different tips in the other boxes!

DSC_0388

Klorane Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk (Deluxe Sample Size: 50ml/1.06 oz, $6.46) – I don’t actually use dry shampoo but a lot of people like this product so I’m happy to try it!

DSC_0390

KIND Healthy Grains Bar – Maple pumpkin Seeds with Sea Salt (Full size, $1) – I was sort of bummed when I saw that there were no variations in the flavors that were being sent out with this lifestyle extra. But this isn’t a terrible flavor to get stuck with, though I have to say that the pieces of sea salt are a bit too much.

DSC_0391

The Nyakio samples came in a set and I have to say that the packaging is gorgeous, I love the colors. The samples are pretty small and I’ll get one use out of each so that’s something. I’m not sold on the face oil because I’d rather not put oil on my face, but I’ll give it a try.

DSC_0396

Nyakio Kenyan Coffee Face Polish (Foil sample: 0.07 oz, $0.70)

DSC_0397

Nyakio Kenyan Coffee Body Scrub (Foil sample: 0.25 oz, $1.31)

DSC_0398

Nyakio Hydrating Face Oil with Kola Nut (Foil sample: 0.07 oz, $3.43)

DSC_0401

The last two samples came in a pillow pack!

DSC_0402

theBalm How ‘Bout Them Apples Cheek & Lip Cream (Deluxe sample size, $2?) – It’s the same sample that I received in my second account from last month! I’ve actually already got a trade set up for this so I can try something new. 🙂

DSC_0404

 

DSC_0407

 

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Black Eyeliner (Deluxe sample size: 0.03 oz, $12) – It’s always awesome when one sample is worth more than the entire box! It’s almost full size anyway. 🙂 This applies very smoothly and I really like the formula. Not too much smudging either!

Overall value: $26.90

Overall enjoyment: Not a bad box at all even though I am slightly disappointed at the foil samples. But hey, I’d rather sample skin care from higher end brands than get a full size lip crayon from a drug store brand. I’m all about the skin care! Plus, I think the eyeliner and the dry shampoo are great sizes. In addition to all that, because I had seven samples in my box, I got to review them all for 70 points, which equates to $7 in the Birchbox shop! Now I’m really excited about my other two Birchboxes for this month. I won’t spoil it for you but I will say that one is a 5 item box, while the other is a 6 item box!

NOTE: Regarding the SFBB100 and BB100 codes… Birchbox went around and took off the extra 100 points from every account that used it. 😦 Both of my accounts had 100 points deducted from them, unfortunately. So if you were able to cash out your points into gift cards, you got to keep them! But if you were saving them, then… tough luck, it seems. :/

2 comments

  1. We seem to be seeing eye to eye regarding Birchbox sample size. I may get bigger sizes from Ispy, but I’ve disliked most of the stuff I’ve gotten from them.

    1. Yay I’m glad we agree. 😀 Although, I do think that Ipsy has started partnering with better brands in the past few months. But I still think Birchbox has them beat in terms of quality + rewards system. 🙂

Leave a Reply

