April 2014 Birchbox Review #3

DSC_0097

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0098

KIND Healthy Grains Bar – Maple pumpkin Seeds with Sea Salt (Full size, $1) – Nothing much to say about this one, except that I haven’t eaten it yet. 

DSC_0099

Number 4 Clarifying Shampoo (Deluxe sample size: 30 ml/1 fl oz, $3.76) – I really don’t like the smell of this. It smells too strongly of chemicals and I don’t want to use it. Definitely going on my swap list.

DSC_0102

Number 4 Reconstructing Masque (Packet sample: 7.5ml/0.25 fl oz, $2.84) – This… I’m kind of interested in, even if it smells bad. I’ve never used a hair mask before so I would like to see how it affects my hair!

DSC_0101

Harvey Prince Yogini (Sample spray vial, $1): And here it is, my second Yogini spray vial! Ugh, I really want to try Harvey Prince’s Cherie Blossom, but of course, I get stuck with two of these instead. (Although I did trade the other one away, so now it’s really just this one left).

DSC_0103

Pillow pack!

DSC_0104

Sumita Color Intense Pencil in Jamun/Deep Purple (Deluxe sample size: 0.7g, $5.25) – As you may or may not know, I already received two eyeliners this month (both from Birchbox)… and this makes three! So I basically got an eyeliner in each box, but I’m not complaining! 🙂 I’m probably one of the few that don’t mind receiving a lot of black eyeliners. But in any case, this one is actually going to go to a friend as a gift!

DSC_0106

 

DSC_0108

Color Club Gala’s Gems Collection – Heirloom Pearls (Deluxe sample size: 7ml, $3.25) – It’s an… off-white? Kind of? This is definitely going on my swap list! (It would have been cool to have received one of each color, had I gotten four boxes, since Birchbox is selling all four together as a set!) 

DSC_0113

 

My third and last April Birchbox! I’m only going to be subscribing to two women’s Birchboxes next month… I think. :p At least, for now, that’s what I’m thinking. I might change my mind if the items are amazing though. Word on the street is that May is the month in which the new Ruffian nail polish collection is going to debut! (lol more nail polish…)

Oh! And as for the rainy day tip, I got #26… again. So I didn’t take another photo of it.

Overall value: $17.10

Overall enjoyment: This was a six-item box but I’m not really going to use any of the items in this box. I mean, yes I’ll eat the KIND bar and I would like to try the hair mask… but I’m not particularly excited about anything. I think that’s my own fault though – I kind of burned out since this is my third box for the same month of the same subscription. I think two might be the “sweet spot” for Birchbox, as least in my opinion. But all those points… :p Well, it wasn’t the worst, but it wasn’t the best and nail polish always makes a great gift!

Leave a Reply

