May 2014 Popsugar Must Have Review

DSC_0428

Popsugar Musthave
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $39.95/month
Beauty, Fashion, Food, Home, Fitness, etc.!
Ships via Fedex Smartpost | Ships to the US

 

DSC_0429

Yay! I got my May Popsugar box really early. 😀 Actually, I usually do because I live really close to one of shipping locations. I think Popsugar is the only subscription that I receive faster than the majority of subscribers… and it’s one of my favorites so I’m really happy. Of course, I don’t think I’ll ever be one of the first ones to receive the box because the spoilers for this box were released last night! I didn’t post them because I knew I would be receiving my box today.

DSC_0438

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Pool Boy Nail Lacquer ($10) – Of course, I don’t wear nail polish and subscription boxes keep sending them! But that being said, I really love the color and the packaging of this polish. Like, I really love it. This shade of blue in this bottle? I really love it. If only, if only… but alas, I’ll have to put this in the gift/swap pile.

DSC_0439

Kerry Cassill Eye Mask ($24) – Um… right, so I would never pay $24 for an eye mask when I could get dozens on international flights for free (which I have). I really have no use for this because I don’t sleep with eye masks  in addition to the fact that I have accumulated piles of eye masks thanks to travel. I will say that it’s a cute print, but I don’t think $24 is a reasonable MSRP for something like this. But hey, you can match this with the March Brokedown Ikat scarf.

DSC_0440

Tone It Up One Day Fat Blast DVD ($15) – Well, this is an interesting addition. I think I’d like to try this out because why not? Each work out is only 30 minutes long and I think we could all spare 30 minutes in our day for some fitness. 😀 Or at least, that’s my goal each day, haha. I’ve heard good things about this company/duo so I’m game!

DSC_0442

Hi I’m Skinny Sticks in Multi-Grain Sweet Onion ($4) – The estimated value on this is actually spot on because I just spotted these in my local supermarket today. I’ve never had these before, but I’m willing to bet that I’ll like these more than the Nature Box Popsugar Mix they included last month. That was not a must have, at all. 😄

DSC_0444

Zing Anything Citrus Zinger ($17) – Finally a infuser water bottle! People online have been wishing for something like this since January this year so it’s great that Popsugar listened. Personally I’m not ecstatic over this, but it’s useful since I don’t have one already. I would have preferred a true infuser bottle instead of a citrus-centric water bottle, but I’ll take it! (also, it’s showing up more reddish in color here, but the bottle itself actually matches the Popsugar tissue paper)

DSC_0446

Smell Bent St. Tropez Dispenser ($45) – Let me type up the description for this perfume so that you can judge for yourself.

“Escape to your favorite tropical island with the intoxicating blend of jasmine absolute and fresh coconut aromas.”

Hmmm. I don’t mind either note, but I was wary of this smelling like sunscreen. It starts off strong with the coconut as the top notes and then settles down to the jasmine so you’re left with more floral than tropical. But the bottle itself smells very tropical/strongly of coconut. So there’s that. This was the “big ticket item” in the box and I don’t think that was too wise since scent/fragrance is a personal item, but some people might discover their new favorite! Personally I don’t like it. 😄 Harvey Prince’s Hello all the way!

DSC_0450

The May 2014 Popsugar Must Have Box!

Overall value: $115

Overall enjoyment: This definitely wasn’t my favorite Popsugar box, but it’s not the worst either. I did only pay $4.95 for this box thanks to the RueLaLa deal so I’m not too upset. But if I had paid $32.95 (as I would have if I had used a $10 off promo) then I would be grumpier. :p There’s not really anything in here that I love so ehhhhh. But I really loved the last two months so you win some and you lose some, I guess. Here’s to hoping that June will be amazing!

3 comments

  1. I find that a lot of boxes have ridiculous MSRPs! It’s hard when you know you could find the same thing on Amazon for WAY cheaper. I can’t wait to get my box because I want that infuser bottle so badly! I *always* have a water bottle with me. I want mine to be the same color as yours. I like the Popsugar tissue paper color 😉

    1. I think eBay is my favorite place to go after subscription boxes go out. 😄 SO many people (aka disgruntled subscribers) sell their unwanted products for cheap. Oh, and I think all the boxes come with the same color infuser bottle so you should get it too! 😀 Hopefully you’ll get your box soon!

Leave a Reply

