May 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_0607

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0608

This month was a special collaboration with Kate Spade Saturday – hence the yellow and the signature black & white pattern!

DSC_0626

They also had a special deal of $25 off of a $75 purchase with a unique code at Kate Spade Saturday.

DSC_0615

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream in Acai Grapefruit (Deluxe sample size: 22 ml/0.75 fl oz, $2.93) – I was excited by this new and exclusive to Birchbox scent, but then I smelled it and it wasn’t the best. I don’t really know what I was expecting, but it was too cloying/sweet than it was crisp, as I thought grapefruit-scented products would be. I’ve never liked Whish because their products always smell far too nauseatingly artificial. Sadly, I’m getting another one of these in one of my other Birchboxes this month.

DSC_0618

LAQA & Co Lip Lube in Purple (Full size: 0.07g, $18) – I was surprised to find out this was full size! I went on the Birchbox website and the full size was 0.07g… and so was my sample. I had no idea they were sending out these in full size but yay! If I’m totally wrong, please let me know but it looks to be full size! At first I was afraid of the purple, but it’s really buildable and it’s MINTY. I love minty lip products.

DSC_0619

Closer.

DSC_0620

SmartyPants All-in-One Gummy Vitamins for Adults (Sample pack: 2 gummies, $0.33) – These were a nice lifestyle extra! I love gummies and these were delicious. The flavors were intense without having that usual chalky aftertaste of vitamins.

DSC_0621

Number 4 Volumizing Shampoo (Deluxe sample size: 30 ml/1.6 fl oz, $4.00) – Eh, I’m not a fan of Number 4 products because I can’t get past the smell. Thankfully, I’ve already arranged a swap for this and the conditioner below.

DSC_0622

Number 4 Volumizing Conditioner (Foil packet: 7.5 ml/0.25 fl oz, $1.06) – Again, not happy with a Number 4 product, but at least it’s an extra item to review for points!

DSC_0625

CoTZ Face Natural Skin Ton SPF 40 (Deluxe sample size: 2.0g, $1.00) – At first I was like noooooo because sunscreen, but then I tried some on and it was actually really, really nice. I’m definitely going to use this. It has virtually no scent and it goes on really well.

DSC_0628

 

May 2014 Birchbox #1

Overall value: $27.32

Overall enjoyment: I hate to do this… but I think Ipsy beat out Birchbox this month! I always used to scoff at the Ipsy v. Birchbox debate, but now that I have both, I understand the comparison. However, Birchbox’s points will always beat Ipsy. That being said, I wasn’t terribly disappointed with this Birchbox (I do have three more coming… one of which is a duplicate of this box) and I do like the products I was sent! However, I just really liked Ipsy more because of the bag. 😄

4 comments

  1. cotz sunscrean is super nice. so smooth and i don’t think it’s clogged my pores. seriously. start wearing sunscreen missy! don’t be like one of the case study people we learn about in cancer biology (or hugh jackman) haha

    1. I didn’t know how nice the cotz was until I tried it! I might have to buy the full size… BUT LOL, yeah I never put on sunscreen, oops. 😄 Only when I go swimming. If I remember. :p

      1. please put it on lol don’t regret it later in life (age spots, cancer… but mainly age spots lol)

        buy ittttt. i did haha it’s pretty cheap compared to the one i was using (shisedo) and is paraben free and uses titanium dioxide vs octinoxate (in shiseido). on sale at ulta! hehe

Leave a Reply

