May 2014 Ipsy Review

DSC_0594

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via Newgistics | Ships to US, Canada

DSC_0600

This is my first month with Ipsy! 😀 I got off the waitlist quite easily earlier last month (just had to connect through with social media) and have been excited for my first bag ever since. Before I started my subscription box craze/obsession, I was innocently deciding between Ipsy and Birchbox… but Birchbox won me over for several reasons: their website design was more intuitive/user friendly, they sent a wider variety of items, they were less make-up heavy compared to Ipsy, and they had a better points system.

However… recently, Ipsy has been straying away from makeup and moving more toward skin care, which makes me happy! I know a lot of people are upset about this since they signed up with Ipsy for makeup. In any case, I decided that now would be a good time to give Ipsy a try because I’ve always wanted a different makeup bag each month anyway. Plus, it seemed liked Ipsy items traded really well so even if I didn’t like something, I could get rid of it without too much trouble.

I have to say it’s a lot of fun following Ipsy’s spoiler-a-day because I have something to look forward to everyday until my glam room is revealed!

DSC_0595

 

Pur~Lisse Pur Moist Hydra Balance Moisturizer (Deluxe sample size: 15 ml, $16.50) – I was definitely hoping for this product when I saw the spoilers because I’ve been looking to try new moisturizers. I’ve already opened this and test it on the back of my hand – it goes on nicely, absorbs quickly, and doesn’t have an unpleasant scent. I have to say that I like it! But the search for my holy grail moisturizer continues as I would like something that I would love the scent of. (if only caldrea made facial moisturizers…)

DSC_0596

Balanced Guru No Frizz Oil (Travel Size: 0.5 fl oz, $13.00) – I really wasn’t excited about this product because I already love my Beauty Protector Protect and Oil for my hair. Once I had it in my hands, I definitely didn’t want this! It has a really strong scent that is not for me at all. I’m really glad that I already have a trade set up for this to get something else I wanted from this month’s Ipsy samples. 😀

DSC_0597

Hang Ten Classic Sport SPF 50 (Deluxe sample size: 1 fl oz/30 ml, $2.17) – Yeah, I really don’t wear as much sunscreen as I should for living in a state that gets so much sun. 😄 Maybe the fact that I’m getting so much sunscreen between Birchbox and Ipsy is a sign that I should start taking better care of my skin when I go out during the day. This is actually made by Coola and is water resistant so you can put this on and go swimming!

DSC_0598

Hey Honey Take It Off Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask (Deluxe sample size: 10 ml, $7.00) – YESSSSS. This was the one item I really wanted out of everything they previewed. I was really happy when I looked at my glam room and saw this as one of my products. I’ve already opened this too and tested out a very small amount on the back of my hand. It smells like honey and it has a very gooey consistency! I’m really excited to try this out later tonight.

DSC_0599

Pacifica Eyeshadow Duo #2 (Full size, $5?) – I have no idea what this would be valued at so I’m conservatively estimating it at $5.00. I don’t think I can pull off purple eyeshadow but I saw some swatches of these two shades and they look great! I’m really happy that I only received one make-up item in my bag this month. I was really hoping to receive as many non-make-up products as possible and Ipsy definitely delivered!

DSC_0604

Oh and let’s talk about the bag. This bag is SO CUTE. I couldn’t believe how much more I liked it when I finally had it in my hands. It’s canvas and there’s a bottom instead of Ipsy’s usual plastic + flat bag. What a great month to join!

Overall value: $43.67

Overall enjoyment: I think I really love this month’s Ipsy! Between the bag, the pur~lisse, and the mask… I’m happy! The sunscreen will be good too because I do need to start using it more often now that the sun is basically blinding me every day until 8PM. The no frizz hair oil was easily traded away for something I wanted and the Pacifica eyeshadow can be a great gift! Of course, there’s the value of this bag… which is pretty amazing considering you get 5 products and a bag. I thought I’d just sign up for one month, but I think I’m going to have to keep Ipsy for at least one more month.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

