June 2014 Birchbox Man Review

DSC_0856

Birchbox Man
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $20/month | 4-5 samples | Grooming products and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0857

Proraso Shaving Cream (Deluxe sample size: 10 ml, $0.67) – I feel like I could keep this if I wanted to. :p But then I’d only be using it on my legs and that’d be a huge waste. So to my dad it goes, even though all the hotels he stays at on his business trips already have shaving cream in their bathrooms. XD

DSC_0858

Baxter of California Facial Scrub (Deluxe sample size: 15 ml/0.5 fl oz, $2.13) – I could actually keep this too. XD I mean, it’s a facial scrub that you use bi-weekly. So it’s basically an exfoliator. And you know what, I might just keep it. Neither my dad nor my brother needs this while I love trying skin care products, so… :p

DSC_0859

Proper Bar Soap Elderflower (Deluxe sample size: 1 oz, $2.40) – This one I’m definitely keeping! I don’t use bar soap in the shower (yay shower gels!) but I want to try this as a hand soap by the sink. I’m intrigued by the promise of lychee, pear, and marine notes. I have to say that this looks like a very boring sample that you could get for free in a hotel bathroom though. XD

DSC_0860

English Laundry Tahitian Waters (Sample spray vial: $1.50) – I really like this! It’s kind of your classic men’s cologne. Or at least, it’s a scent that I would immediately associate with that! It smells fantastic and reminds me of aftershave. It’s so clean and refreshing and so, so good. Birchbox has this as its description:

Top notes of lime, bergamot, and coconut lead to mid notes of jasmine and ylang-ylang, followed by a sweet, mellow base of brown sugar and cedar.

DSC_0861

 

DSC_0862

J. Fold Leather Card Carrier (Full size, $34.00) – This is the value of the box! With Birchbox Man, if you don’t like the lifestyle item, you’re kind of out of luck because it’s where most of the value is. But if you love it, then you’ll be super happy. XD I am super happy because this was the lifestyle item I wanted… for myself. LOL. I traded for a different, more classic card carrier for my brother so I’m definitely keeping this. There were three colors being sent out and I really wanted blue. 😀

Oh, and I forgot to take a photo of the inside, but the inside of each pocket is lined with a really awesome houndstooth pattern! This card carrier will serve me well when I go to the Real Madrid – Inter match since apparently bags/purses aren’t allowed. (lame)

DSC_0863

So Birchbox partnered with JetBlue and they sent out a fun questionnaire in each box so you can see what your ideal destination would be.

DSC_0865

 

The June 2014 Birchbox Man!

Overall value: $40.70

Overall enjoyment: I really liked this month’s Birchbox Man because I could keep a lot of things for myself. 😉 Haha, but seriously, I think that the card carrier is worth it for the cost of the box. However, if you total up the value of just the grooming products, it’s only $6.70, which is pretty bad. XD But it is a sampling subscription so of course you’re going to receive samples and thus the retail value of what you receive might be low. In any case, I’m tempted to keep Birchbox Man for another month… but I don’t know. I’ll have to think about it. :p

One comment

Leave a Reply

