Sample Society Mystery Boxes Review

DSC_1165

This was a one-time purchase of Sample Society’s Mystery Boxes!

I posted about them earlier and I ended up picking Mystery Box Duo E because when I checked, the website said that it would ship out with UPS 2nd Day Air. And since I’m impatient, I obviously needed to get these as soon as possible so I went with Duo E.

DSC_1168

I paid $15 for these two boxes (plus $7.83 in shipping and tax) and received August 2013 Kit A and April 2014 Kit F.

DSC_1170

Here’s August 2013 Kit A!

DSC_1173

First look.

DSC_1175

Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum SPF 30 (Deluxe sample size: 5 ml, $4.20) – Haha yay more sunscreen! Except this tube is basically empty… or so I thought it was. I tried squeezing it carefully (so that I wouldn’t waste the entire thing) but nothing came out. So that’s kind of a bummer. And then I squeezed a little too hard and so much came spurting out. Ugh. So much fail on my part. 😦 Oh well, I’ll save whatever’s left in the tube and place it in my sunscreen stash for later.

DSC_1179

Korres Cherry Oil Lip Gloss in 11 Buff (Deluxe sample size, 2 ml, $5.60) – It’s a really cute and small sample! I really like the packaging on this product and it smells like cherries!

DSC_1181

(which is appropriate considering the outside box has cherries printed on one side)

DSC_1183

Jane Iredale Purelash Lash Conditioner (Deluxe sample size, $2?) – There’s no size listed on this sample, but you can definitely get more than a couple uses out of it! Not sure if I’ll actually use this but it’s certainly an interesting product. It’s supposed to help strengthen, lengthen, and thicken lashes.

DSC_1189

Elemental Herbology Cell Plumping Facial Hydrator SPF 8 (Deluxe sample size: 15 ml/0.5 fl oz, $25.29) – This is supposed to help give you a smoother and fresher face with its collagen-boosting formula.  It smells a lot like the Balance Me Super Toning Body Wash sent out in a previousGlossybox and you’re supposed to apply this every morning. The full size is kind of expensive and this is a very full tube so it will be awesome to give it a try to see the results!

DSC_1193

Dr. Hauschka Cleansing Cream (Deluxe sample size: 10 g/0.34 oz, Value $4.26) – I’m excited about this! I love cleansers and trying out new cleansers too. It’s made out of sweet almond meal so it also should act as a gentle exfoliant! It’s a decent sized sample so I can definitely get a good feel for how well it works for me.

DSC_1197

Overall value: $41.35

DSC_1206

Here’s April 2014 Kit F!

DSC_1207

First look!

DSC_1223

Butter London Wink Eye Pencil in Brown Sugar (Full size, $18) – OMG YAY FULL SIZE ITEM! It’s kind of awesome when one item covers more than the cost of what you paid (before shipping… and tax). I would have loved to get this in Holland Park (a really gorgeous blue), but brown is a safe bet for me!

DSC_1225

I had to photograph this and share it because how awesome is the packaging and detail?

DSC_1211

Tatcha Japanese Beauty Papers (Full size, $12) – Another full size item! April 2014 was definitely a crazy good month. My face doesn’t produce enough oil for me to use this on a regular basis, but I’ve always wanted to try something like these. The papers are so pretty and you can see flakes of gold leaf on the sheets!

DSC_1214

Illume Anemone 2 oz Travel Tin Candle (Full size, $9) – Yet another full size item! I’m not really a candle person. I tried (I actually bought some candles from this exact brand), but I’ve found out that I don’t really enjoy burning candles/using wax warmers to melt wax tarts. But this does smell really good and the tin is adorable! It smells really fresh but it also smells like a cologne.

llume’s website says these are the fragrance notes: “Citrus blossoms and crisp apple are blended with ethereal oak moss, oriental clove and a touch of patchouli”. I don’t actually smell the patchouli (and for that I am very thankful), but I love, love, love oak moss. (one of the candles I bought from Illume was actually just oakmoss and it was fantastic) Apples and citrus blossoms are always welcome too. 🙂 You can really smell the oak moss and I love it.

DSC_1216

H2O Aquafirm Micro Collagen Moisturizer (Deluxe sample size: 10 ml/0.34 fl oz, $10) – I’m always happy to try out a new moisturizer even though I’m pretty sure I will love the Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre the most. I really like the packaging of this product because of the colors. XD You’re supposed to apply this morning and night, but I’ll probably end up just using this at night because I’m always too lazy in the mornings. :p

DSC_1221

Borghese Splendore Brightening Makeup (Full size, $15.48) – WHAT? WHAAAAAAT? Another full size product? This is crazy! I don’t know how this happened, but seriously. Crazy. It’s priced at $30 on Birchbox and Beauty Bar, but I can find it on Amazon for about half the price so I’m going with that value. It’s supposed to be applied over foundation or blended with it/moisturizer so that you get  hint of shimmer on your skin. It also helps to camouflage imperfections, apparently. But wow. just… wow. I thought this was just a sample size but it’s 1 fl oz, which is the same size as the full size product!

I did some research and it seems that they sent this out in one of their November 2013 boxes, so I guess I was lucky enough to get one in this April box! I didn’t even think there was a Kit F for April 2014 because I couldn’t find a review of it online, but I guess there was or they might have just made up a new one to send out! Either way, I’m happy. 🙂

DSC_1228

Overall value: $64.48

So I paid $22.83 (including shipping + tax) and received $105.83 worth of products! That is insane. And the best thing is, I’ll actually use a gross majority of these items. I think I might have to think about subscribing to Sample Society since they are pretty heavy on skin care, which I love. Every month they release two spoilers so I’m going to wait and see what they’ll include in their July boxes before deciding. This was a great first experience with Sample Society and I’m really happy that I took a chance on these boxes!

3 comments

  1. Wow this looked like a great variety of products! The Korres lip gloss sounds fantastic, I might have to splurge on one of these is they have them again.

Leave a Reply

