July 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_0718

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0720

First look!

DSC_0721

Birchbox teamed up with Women’s Health Magazine this month and so that’s why we have an awesome new box design! Each box includes12 tips to “power up” as well as a free one-year subscription to Women’s Health. (If you don’t want it, you can also get a refund for $9.99 by following the instructions in the small print.)

DSC_0730

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Valentine (0.079 oz/2.25 g, $9.29) – I had to double check to see if I had done my calculations wrong, but nope. This tiny sample really would cost that much because it’s about half of the full size! I love lip products but I might be tempted to trade this one… (only because I recently ordered some NYX Butter Gloss and NYX Butter Lipsticks). I did really like the CR eyeliners I received in the previous months, so I could just end up keeping it.

DSC_0731

Harvey Prince Hello Body Cream (15 ml, $0.93) – I was so excited for this! It does smell exactly like the perfume – although it’s definitely more citrus in lotion form. Kind of sad that it is such a small sample (the tube is totally not filled all the way, it’s not even one third full). I might end up buying the full size of this because it’s only $22… and for all you Harvey Prince Hello fans out there, Birchbox has also started carrying the Hello Body Wash! 😀

I still think that I prefer the perfume though (if I had to compare the two). And I don’t think this is really all that moisturizing. BUT… because it smells like Hello (as advertised), I really don’t care that it’s not the most hydrating body lotion because it means I can put this stuff on after showers and go to bed smelling like Hello all over!

DSC_0733

Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect (30 ml/ 1 oz, $4.80) – Yet another Number 4 product. Of course. OF COURSE. This is supposed to be like the Beauty Protector Spray but I’m not even going to use this because it smells absolutely vile. I refuse to use products that don’t smell tolerable. And you all know how much I hate Number 4 products.

DSC_0735

Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel  (0.17 oz/5 ml, $4.80) – After trying out Sonya Dakar’s Flash Facial and not being impressed… I don’t know if I want to try this because it’s somewhat of a similar concept. But there has been positive feedback about this so far so maybe it is worth a shot.

DSC_0737

100% Pure Gingerade Shower Gel (2 ml each, $0.50) – People were really mad about this sample. XD They were advertised as a “beauty extra” though. First, because these are “ketchup packs”. Second, because these were not at all effective as shower gel. Apparently this doesn’t foam or clean. I haven’t tried them yet so I can’t say if they are good or bad (though the size is pretty lame), but I do love trying new body wash, so I’m definitely going to see how these work out.

DSC_0742

 

Overall value: $20.32

Overall enjoyment: This isn’t my favorite box… but it’s not terrible either. The only real fail was the Number 4 product. (but all Number 4 products are fails) The Hello Body Cream is fantastic (and I’m totally going to buy the full size once there’s another promotion code out). Usually I would trade for more, but I feel like it’s a waste of time and money (shipping + shipping supplies) since the sample isn’t all that generous in its amount. Still undecided about the peel and the lip stain… but the shower gel will definitely be used.

I still have two more boxes coming and I can’t wait to show you guys what I’m getting in them! 🙂

6 comments

  1. I got the Real Chemistry peel a few days ago and just tried it tonight. I absolutely LOVE it. My skin looks & feels amazing! I think I’m going to buy the full size. Don’t discount it just yet!

  2. I got the ketchup packs too and can’t imagine using them – I just know the time it takes to open and squeeze out the stuff the shower will just rinse it off before I can get it onto the scrunchie. I need to find someone with better stuff than mine (sorry yours was equally as bad as mine) and then ask if I can ‘copy off their paper’ so I can get those things too! I had a 3-month gift subscription that I think was never customized because it was a gift subscription (I took the quiz and even selected the Ruffian Polish but it was always generic – even the month with Kate Spade that subscription was a normal BB). My subscription (the non-gift one) has been decent so I shouldn’t complain – it’s just I see other things (box envy?) and think wow what should I answer on my quiz to get that stuff?

    1. I tried one of the shower gels and it wasn’t as hard to open as I thought it would be! But it really did not do its job at all. I didn’t feel clean after using it and it didn’t lather well.

      I think I’m actually getting a pretty awesome box on my other accounts! But I think the trick this time around was that if you got to reserve a Ruffian polish, then you got some pretty awesome items in your box.

      I don’t really know how they match up boxes to profiles because I purposely set up two other accounts. One, I marked everything and the other, I marked nothing. I somehow ended up with the same box for both accounts two months in a row, lol.

  3. I loved the Flash Facial and I’m bummed you hated it! Also, I tried that Harvey Hello from my last Birchbox and loved it. The ketchup packets are the most ridiculous form of sample. Especially for shower gel but oh well 😀 I didn’t know Number 4 was horrible but I’m not big on hair products anyway. I totally hope I’m getting the lipgloss though.

    1. I WISH I COULD LOVE IT!!!

      Awww yay I’m glad you love the Harvey Prince Hello. 😀 And lol, I guess I would be okay with ketchup packets for lotion, but it’s kind of inconvenient when it comes to shower gel.

      I’m just stoutly against Number 4 products, but I think some people really like certain lines within the brand. Did you peek at your box this month? 😀

Leave a Reply

