July 2014 Ipsy Review

DSC_0763

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via Newgistics | Ships to US, Canada

DSC_0764

The bag this month! I’m not excited about it because I don’t particularly care for this shade of pink. But what was worse was the fact that this bag smelled really terrible. It has that chemical plant smell and I don’t think I’d ever want to use this to put stuff in. Out of all the months I have subscribed to Ipsy thus far, this is probably my least favorite bag.

DSC_0767

Pur~Lisse Pur~Protect SPF 30 (0.5 oz/15 ml, $16.18) – More Pur~Lisse! If you’ll recall, I received this exact same product (but full size) in my Summer 2014 FabFitFun box. I have also received this product without the SPF (aka the regular moisturizer) in an earlier Ipsy bag this year. In addition to all that, I have a full size of the moisturizer without SPF as well. So basically I’m on Pur~Lisse overload… but I don’t mind! I love using this product and now I have plenty. 🙂

DSC_0768

DermaE BB Creme SPF 25 Light Tint (0.5 oz/14 g, $7.38) – I’m pretty excited to try this! I don’t really use BB cream but I think I’ll have to at least give this one a chance, especially since it already has SPF and will help my skin. This is a really good size product and the tube is definitely all the way full.

DSC_0770

PIXI Tinted Brilliance Balm in Unique Pink (1.8 g/0.06 oz, $8.40) – So originally, I was really psyched to get this because I love lip products. But when I tried it on today… it really didn’t do anything for my lips. I couldn’t tell that there was any added color or tint… the only thing I could tell was that my lips looked greasy and gross. 😦 Apparently this particular shade is reactive to your lips’ pH so I guess it didn’t work well for me.

Oh and for those who were wondering, it has a toothpaste scent/taste… which is kind of gross because it’s not nice and refreshing like mint gum.

DSC_0772

Very waxy.

DSC_0777

 

DSC_0780

 

DSC_0781

BareMinerals Ready Eyeshadow 2.0 (1 g/0.03 oz, $7.00) – When it came to this Day One spoiler, I didn’t really mind either way. But the colors are pretty! I just don’t really use eyeshadow very often so I might end up trading or gifting this. The two colors are Muse and Passion (left to right)

DSC_0786

Better representation of the colors.

DSC_0789

Pop Beauty Sunkissed Bronzer in Secret Sunshine (6.95 g/0.25 oz, $10.00) – I’m pretty sure this is a full size item, but I’m not 100% sure. I don’t really use bronzer either (I’m really quite minimalistic when it comes to makeup) so I might just keep this to experiment around with!

DSC_0790

 

My July 2014 Ipsy bag!

Overall value: $48.96

Overall enjoyment: I actually quite enjoyed this month! The value is certainly there and I really like the size of the items included. (I think I might be one of the few who actually doesn’t mind receiving Pur~Lisse). I’d say that this was a vast improvement over June. The only complaint I have is the bag itself, but I’m not too bothered by it. Overall, not bad!

 

2 comments

  1. It seems like the pixi lip balm is really hit or miss! And I think every blog post I have read about ipsy this month mentions the horrible smelling bag, so it must have been very strong!

    1. I think it really depends on your preference! It just made me look really gross haha. XD But I hope it worked out for others who got it in their bag this month. 🙂

      The bag seriously smells terrible. I’m going to try to air it out and if it doesn’t work… then I’ll have to throw it out.

Leave a Reply

