July 2014 Sample Society Review

DSC_0948

Sample Society
The Breakdown:
Monthly | $15/month + tax | 5 deluxe size samples + $10 gift card on any $50 order
Makeup and Beauty (hair, skin, fragrance)
Ships via UPS ground | Ships to the US

 DSC_0949

After buying all of those mystery Sample Society kits… I had to sign up for Sample Society after they revamped it! The spoilers they gave out for July were amazing and totally worth the original cost of the monthly subscription. Gone are the original black boxes, now they have allure stamped on top of a bright red box. The mini-magazine is also a lot better and much more informative than the original ones.

Oh and this is a review for Kit C.

DSC_0967 DSC_0968

Butter London in The Old Bill (Full size, $15) – So freaking beautiful. There’s just something really nice and really posh about Butter London polishes. Obviously I won’t be using it but I think this is an amazing addition considering this one item covers the entire cost of the box! There were two other shades you could have received – Champers or Bobby Dazzler

DSC_0969

Fekkai PrX Reparatives Intense Fortifying Mask (Deluxe sample size: 1.69 oz, $6.04) – This smells absolutely amazing. I opened it and just kept opening it to smell it. XD I just want a body lotion made from this scent because it is such a beautiful, warm vanilla. If anyone knows a fragrance that smells like this, PLEASE let me know because I am in love with this scent. I don’t even care if it actually works on my hair, I’ll slather it on anyway. :p

But in all seriousness, Fekkai is a great brand and they are quite pricey for the volume of product! And hehehe, I found out that Birchbox carries the shampoo and conditioner of this particular line (aka more amazing vanilla-scented products) so I might just be buying those with my Birchbox points somewhere down the line…

DSC_0971

The consistency!

DSC_0972 DSC_0973 DSC_0975

Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder in Highlighter 01 (Deluxe sample size: 0.06 oz, $8.31) – This is something I don’t know how to use but really want to use. XD It just looks so pretty and I bet it would be a great addition to any makeup routine. Plus, it’s a cute travel size so you can bring this with you anywhere! I really should learn how to use this properly because Laura Mercier is an amazing brand.

DSC_0977 DSC_0978

L’Oreal Paris Extraordinaire by Colour Riche Liquid Lip Color in Ruby Opera (Full size, $9.99) – OMG I love this. It smells/tastes like PEACHES and the color is so wonderfully vibrant. It’s actually a little too red for me, so what I like to do is to apply it, wait a while and then wipe some off so I don’t like weirdly vampy/so that it’s not cripplingly bright. The remaining color is beautiful and lasts a long time. I want to buy more colors for the scent and staying power of this product!

There were also… two other colors you could have received this month, IIRC.

DSC_0979

The applicator is huge and really soft. Super easy to apply!

DSC_0980 DSC_0981

Maison Francis Kurkdjian Paris Aqua Universalis Eau de Toilette (Sample spray vial, $1) – This is just okay for me. I don’t really love this scent, but I don’t mind receiving it in my box! It’s fun to try out new perfumes and it’s actually really, really fun to collect a bunch of little perfume spray vials. It’s like having your own lab in your room. :p

If you’re curious about the notes of this fragrance: Bergamot and Lemon from Sicily, White Bouquet (Lily of the Valley and sweet mock orange), Light and Musky Wood.

DSC_0982

The July 2014 Sample Society box!

Overall value: $40.34

Overall enjoyment: I think this box was pretty darn amazing. The curation and the variety of items were great. I think I’ve found a new favorite lip product and hair care product! Seriously fantastic value and I’m totally looking forward to next month’s box. (there are already two spoilers out, which I will post momentarily) I think that the revamp of this subscription is going to help gain a lot of subscribers because the value, the brands, and the curation of this box blows Ipsy, Birchbox, and Glossybox out of the water in my opinion.

One comment

Leave a Reply

