August 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_0280

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

 DSC_0281

I was really excited to get this box because it was the first time that I actually received my box in the mail before the boxes were revealed online… hence making my box spoiler free! (except for my sample pick, but that’s okay!) I always, always look at spoilers so it was kind of fun to actually get a mystery box from Birchbox.

DSC_0283

Laura Geller Beauty Cool Lids Cream Eyeshadow in Silver Sands (0.17 fl oz/5 ml, $12.42) – This was my sample pick and I had no idea it would be worth more than the entire box! The full size is only 0.26 fl oz, so this is a very, very generous sample. It goes on really smoothly and doesn’t have any weird scents. Plus the color is gorgeous!

DSC_0287

Facing the light.

DSC_0288

Not facing the light.

DSC_0289

Neil George Shampoo and Conditioner (50 ml/1.69 fl oz, $4.50 each) – I love trying new shampoos and conditioners as long as they’re not Number 4 products, so I was really excited to see these huge samples in my box this month! These do have an off-putting smell of pickled ginger, but the scent doesn’t last so I have no problem using them. (just hold your breath when you’re actually washing your hair, ;)) The full sizes only cost $9.00 each so if you like this brand, then you can get them pretty easily with your points! I think I’m going to need to continue using them before I see if I really like how my hair looks and feels afterwards. One thing to note: the shampoo does contain sodium laureth sulfate.

DSC_0291

Harvey Prince Ageless Body Cream (15 ml, $1.10) – I love trying anything Harvey Prince makes, even if I might not end up actually loving whatever it is I try. But ever since I fell in love with Hello, I have to keep trying their different fragrances and products so of course I was psyched to get this in my box. (I was totally secretly hoping for this when I saw that they were sending it out). It’s a really nice grapefruit scent that has hints of floral. The formula is nice and light like the Hello Body Cream. I really like it but if I wanted a grapefruit-scented body/hand cream… I’d rather go with Tocca’s Cleopatra (which I absolutely love).

DSC_0294

Nügg Face Mask Revitalizing (1 pack, $2.99) – YES A FACE MASK! I’m definitely on a face mask kick even though I have uh… a lot to try in my stash of products and samples. XD But apparently these can be bought directly at Target for around the same price so if you love it, you can immediately go and get more without having to wait for Birchbox to ship it out to you! People have said that these remind them of Vick’s Vapor Rub, so if you’re not a fan of menthol, I’d pass on this (but I don’t mind at all, so I can’t wait to try it out).

DSC_0295

My August 2014 Birchbox!

Overall value: $25.51

Overall enjoyment: What a month! The value was pretty good and I can really use/enjoy all the samples. This was definitely a box that I was hoping to receive after I started seeing the different variations with my sample pick going out to subscribers. I know that most people wouldn’t be happy to try receive shampoos or conditioners, but I love them! The Harvey Prince body cream and the face masks are absolutely awesome for me. And of course, I got the sample I picked out – I don’t even mind that it’s a five-item box this month. 😀

4 comments

Leave a Reply

