Ipsy August 2014 Review

DSC_0554

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via Newgistics | Ships to US, Canada

DSC_0556

This month’s bag was kind of lame. It’s a terrible plastic and it looks like a cheap pencil case. I’m pretty sure I’ll never use this but at least it doesn’t smell like last month’s bag!

DSC_0557

 

DSC_0558

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara (3 ml/ 0.1 fl oz, $5.50) – Urban Decay is always a win! But I was secretly hoping for the mascara because I feel like I need to try out a few more before I settle on one that I really like. My currently favorite is Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara.

DSC_0560

Dr. Brandt’s Pore No More (0.25 fl oz/7.5 ml, $11.25) – I love this stuff! It really helps to make your skin look more matte while minimizing your pores! I have a sample from Birchbox that I have been slowly using but now I have a back-up, which is awesome. (I was also secretly hoping for this too)

DSC_0564

 

DSC_0565

Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil (0.02 oz/0.6 g, $5?) – I actually have no idea what this costs because I’m having trouble finding out what the full size of this is. But the full size does retail for $15 so I’ll guess that this sample is about 1/3 of the actual full size product. I don’t think I actually own any kohl eyeliners, which I’ve always wanted to try, so this is pretty awesome for me!

DSC_0567

 

DSC_0572

You’re The Balm in Grape (12 g/0.42 oz, $2) – I know it retails for more online (they’re sold in duos), but I found these recently at Marshall’s selling for $4, hence the $2 estimate. I thought I would like this because it smelled really good – like kyoho grapes, but unfortunately it tasted like grape medicine when I applied it. The texture is actually really nice and very light, shame about the taste though! Also, something terrible is the fact that it’s SPARKLY. I mean, I do like glittery things, but not on my lips. XD

DSC_0573

Coastal Scents Forever Blush (2.4 g/0.08 oz, $1?) – I have no idea how much this would be worth but at least blush lasts a long time since you don’t want to be very heavy-handed with it! I also don’t really know which two colors I received since I don’t see any labels on the packaging.

DSC_0575

My August Ipsy bag!

Overall value: $24.75

Overall enjoyment: This was definitely not one of the most “valuable” Ipsy bags I have ever received, but I think the fact that I got the dr. brandt Pores No More sample in my bag was well worth it! I will be throwing away the lip balm (even though I do enjoy lip balms) due to its taste, but I’m definitely going to be trying out everything else sooner or later. 😀

Leave a Reply

