August 2014 Sample Society Review

DSC_0374

Sample Society
The Breakdown:
Monthly | $15/month + tax | 5 deluxe size samples + $10 gift card on any $50 order
Makeup and Beauty (hair, skin, fragrance)
Ships via UPS ground | Ships to the US

 DSC_0375

Clearly I am a terrible blogger because it’s now September and I’m only just posting this review for an August box that I received really early on. But hold on tight because there are at least two more reviews that I’ve been holding out on because I’ve been so busy. 😄 If you work full time and you can still keep an up-to-date blog… then my hat is off to you.

DSC_0377

First look!

DSC_0380

Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Peony (5 ml/0.16 fl oz, $8.40) – I was really, really excited to try this out because so many people have been talking about this product. But… sadly it was not for me. The formula is super drying and it ends up accentuating every single line/wrinkle on your lips… making you look terrible. But I do like the shade and I thought it didn’t look completely unflattering when I tried it on. It’s just a shame about the formula.

DSC_0383

The applicator itself is pretty awesome though.

DSC_0384

 

DSC_0389

Kate Somerville Dilo Oil Restorative Treatment (3 ml/0.1 fl oz, $6.50) – Yeah, I don’t know what happened when I took these photos. For some reason, the lighting was terrible when I tried to take photos of this product along with the next one, so… yeah. Apologies for the terrible lighting and photos. In any case, this is supposed to help boost moisture and firm your skin. It’s a fast-absorbing oil and it kind of smells like… bananas to me? I don’t know. 😄 In any case, I haven’t actually tried it out on my face because I really like my current skincare regime.

DSC_0392

Jane Iredale Longest Lash Thickening and Lengthening Mascara in Black Ice (3 g/0.1 oz, $8.25) – Mascara in a tube! I think this is pretty awesome. I mean, I haven’t opened it yet (because I have too many mascaras right now – but that’s okay! I can always use more) but I think this will be great to throw into my purse or to take along with me for a short trip!

DSC_0388

Oribe Surfcomber Tousled Texture Mousse (75 ml/2.5 oz, $15.86) – Hmmm… I don’t really use hair-styling products, only hair care products… but I might give this a try on days when a new shampoo somehow turns my hair limp and lifeless. I’ve heard good things about Oribe. (I still haven’t tried the Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray I received in my Nina Garcia box, haha).

DSC_0394

Ciate Paint Pots Nail Polish Mini in Cha Cha Cha (5 ml, $8) – You know my spiel about nail polish. I actually just gave this one away to a friend so hopefully she’ll like it more than me! And… hopefully she’ll like the color too. 😄

DSC_0398

The August 2014 Sample Society box!

Overall value: $47.01

Overall enjoyment: This probably wasn’t my favorite box, but… I still think this is a pretty awesome value for what it costs. Plus, I like that I got to try a sample of the Too Faced Melted, which was actually something I had considered buying/trading for! Oribe is an amazing brand and so is Kate Somervile. Not a huge fan of the nail polish, but mascara is always a staple!

Leave a Reply

