August 2014 Glossybox Review

DSC_0627

Glossybox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $21/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via Newgistics | Ships to the US

 DSC_0628

Impeccable packaging as always.

DSC_0629

This was their 3 year anniversary box.

DSC_0630

First look!

DSC_0632

Uberliss Hydrating Shampoo and Conditioner (2 fl oz each, $3.98 for the shampoo and $4.32 for the conditioner) – I do enjoy trying out new shampoos and conditioners… but not when it’s in a box that costs $21/month. If I got these in Birchbox or Ipsy, I’d be more than thrilled because those are only $10/month. Also, if this is your third year anniversary box… don’t you think you should be including products that are a bit more exciting than shampoo and conditioner?

DSC_0633

The shampoo is a purple color and the conditioner is just a regular cream color. Interestingly enough, there was more conditioner than shampoo in the bottles I received.

DSC_0634

Eslor Firming Collagen Day Cream (0.34 fl oz/10 ml, $17) – This smells… not so great. It’s super floral and it’s nauseating if I’m to be perfectly honest. It’s supposed to improve elasticity and prevent the early appearance of wrinkles but… I think I’ll pass on this one. I might give this to my mom or just trade it because it’s just really not for me. But I will say that it’s definitely a good size and enough to try to see if the results are worth the price.

DSC_0637

 

DSC_0638

 

DSC_0640

Kryolan Highligher in Cashmere (Full size, $18.95) – This is quite a small product, but a little goes a long way! I think this color is really gorgeous and I’m actually pretty excited to try it out. This was made exclusively for Glossybox and it’s a full size item! I’ve heard a lot of great things about Kryolan mostly because I really like watching Face Off and they keep talking about it. 😄

DSC_0641

Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner (1 g/ 0.035 oz, $8) – This is a mini and exactly half the size! I haven’t tried this yet because I had previously received an Eyeko product (mascara) in my Birchbox and wasn’t impressed. But I’ll probably end up keeping this for myself just to play around with it. 😄 I’m not terribly adept with liquid eyeliners, but practice makes perfect and all that. :p If you’re a fan of Alexa Chung, I’m sure you know this brand since it’s fronted by her!

DSC_0645

The eyeliner itself.

DSC_0646

 

DSC_0648

Lamoon Beauty Precision Nail Lacquer in Trillion Dollar Red (Full size, $5.95) – NAIL POLISH. Haha, well I should have guessed there would be nail polish. There’s always nail polish, it seems. But you know, this color isn’t entirely terrible… even though I’m going to be either gifting or putting this on my trade list anyway, haha. There was definitely variation in the color you could have received and there was a really nice blue that I was admiring.

DSC_0652

The August 2014 Glossybox!

Overall value: $58.20

Overall enjoyment: This is a really weak box, in my opinion. Eyeliner, nail polish, and shampoo/conditioner are terrible products to include in one box… let alone an anniversary box. The firming cream is nice (and expensive) but I think a lot of people will be put off by its scent. The only item in this box that is exciting is the Kryolan highlighter, which is an exclusive and also from a well-known brand. This will be my last Glossybox for the near future unless they come out with an amazing spoiler or collaboration. (Like the Alex & Ani bracelet or the Bergdorf Goodman box)

4 comments

  1. I remember you posting a note about the new cancellation rules of Glossybox. I wish I would have paid more attention. I had a 3 month subscription that was supposed to automatically end after 3 months. I got an email that stated that the 3 month plan will now auto renew unless I cancel. I thought that if I cancelled by the end of August (my last month) I would be in the clear. No such luck. The new rule says I would have had to cancel by the beginning of August. What?!?! Well, I cancelled the last week of August but I got charged for another 3 months into November. Hmm, not very nice.

    1. Oh no. 😦 I’m so sorry they pulled a fast one on you like that. They’re seriously terrible about auto-renewing subscriptions. I’ve read on forums that if you use Paypal, it’s easier to dispute the charges and get your money back, so maybe look into that if you can? But yeah, their new cancelation policy sucks… which is why I’m not going to sign up for a while.

    2. Quick update: I sent Glossybox an email stating that I do not wish to continue my subscription at this time but that I saw my credit card being charged for a new 3 month sub. They were very nice and immediately issued a refund. Great customer service! Once I’ve used up some of my cosmetics I will likely sign up for Glossybox again but for now I’m drowning in make up and cosmetics thanks to sub boxes. I need a break for a while.

Leave a Reply

