September 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_0716

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

 DSC_0718

First look! There were three different box designs this month because it’s Birchbox’s anniversary month.

DSC_0720

Davines Oi Conditioner (75 ml/2.53 fl oz, $9.60) – This is a really generous sized sample of conditioner! I don’t know why they decided to send out so much conditioner instead of shampoo (which most people use more of), but I’m just glad that it’s not a foil sample. The scent of this isn’t as bad as I thought it would be after reading comments about it on various forums, but I’m not a huge fan of it because it does smell floral. Though it’s not so terrible that I won’t use it.

DSC_0721

Davines OI Shampoo (12 ml/0.40 fl oz, $1.11) and Davines Oi Oil (3 ml/0.10 fl oz, $1.03) – The shampoo and oil are considered bonus extras and I don’t really mind that they are foils because I got to review both of them for 20 points! I’m going to go ahead and guess that these two smell like the conditioner. But I think Davines makes some awesome products (I really enjoyed their Love shampoo and conditioner) so I’m excited to try these!

DSC_0725

Acure Organics Day Cream (1 fl oz/30 ml, $10.85) – The full size is 1.75 fl oz, so this is also a super generously-sized sample! For those of you who love organic products, I think this one hits the jackpot because it’s sulfate free, PEG free, phthalate free, gluten free, paraben free, petroleum free, silicone free, and 100% biodegradable. You can use this on your face, neck, and chest.

DSC_0728

Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm in Ripe Raspberry (Full size, $8) – I have been wanting this ever since Birchbox started sending out! I had even contemplated buying one with my points, but now I don’t have to. 😀 I love lip products, especially lip balms and so I’m super excited to try this. It smells fantastic because it’s vanilla! I have two more boxes coming this month from Birchbox and both of those have Pixi lip balms… and I know for sure that at least one of those will be a different shade, so I can’t wait.

DSC_0734

What it looks like! (this is not fully twisted up, so there’s a lot more product than what this photo shows)

DSC_0735

 

DSC_0737

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kit (1 fl oz/30 ml, $6.52 and one Muslin Cloth $3.00) – I love this stuff. I use it every day and this month, I picked this sample for two of my boxes because I just can’t get enough of it! (I was honestly tempted to get this for all three boxes, but I went with the Shiseido as my last PYS). I’m waiting to see how long I can last on just using the samples of Liz Earle I’ve received before I actually have to buy the full size. This stuff is honestly AMAZING. It really “polishes” your face to make it look fresh and clean. Plus, it smells absolutely amazing with the eucalyptus. If you’ve never tried this before, I highly recommend trying it out/trading for it!

DSC_0738

 

DSC_0739

 

DSC_0740

Atelier Cologne Vanille Insensee Fragrance (sample vial, $1) – I always price fragrance samples at $1 now because it’s too much work trying to figure out the amount included when it’s not written on the vial. I’ve traded for this before (because I had heard so many good things about it) and so I already knew I would love this. It’s not your run of the mill vanilla scent because it’s deeper, darker, and much more seductive. It comes with a postcard and I think it’s a great fall scent.

DSC_0742

My September 2014 Birchbox!

Overall value: $41.11

Overall enjoyment: This is probably one of my favorite Birchboxes to date! The value is also amazing. 😉 I love that there were three really very generously-sized samples, one of which was a full size item! Yes, there were foils, but I don’t care. Yes there was a fragrance, but again… I don’t care! I am so happy with how my PYS (pick your sample) box turned out this month.

5 comments

  1. Great box! I chose the Macadamia hair oil and am happy with it. I also got the Acure organics cream and am a little less happy because there’s no SPF in it (I wear SPF everyday). I would have loved to get that Pixi balm too!!

  2. We were box twins. I thought I was the only one who noticed the raspberry gloss smells like vanilla. I was also concerned that the conditioner (my sample choice) would smell weird. But it’s fine and fades completely by the time I’ve finished blowdrying. I loved the shampoo so much I cashed in all my points and bought a bottle.

    1. Yay box twins. 😀 I think a lot of people received this variation (and I was so glad to be one of them)!

      I think I’ll have to go and try that Davines stuff now because of your experience. 🙂 I did really enjoy the Davines Love shampoo/conditioner, so hopefully this set will be just as awesome!

Leave a Reply

