September 2014 Ipsy Review

DSC_0752

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via DHL | Ships to US, Canada

Β DSC_0754

I absolutely LOVE this month’s bag. It doesn’t smell terrible and the faux leather is so wonderfully soft. Plus the gun metal with the metal studs is pretty awesome.

DSC_0766

NYX Hot Singles Eye Shadow in Asphyxiation (Full size, $4.50) – I’ve heard really good things about NYX eyeshadow because it’s great makeup for the value, especially when you’re just starting out. This is a really gorgeous, sparkly blue and maybe I’ll try it out on a day when I’m feeling adventurous. :p

DSC_0776

An extra photo to show how sparkly it can be when directly under the sun.

DSC_0771

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask (1 fl oz/29.57 ml, $4.95) – I’ve actually also heard really good things about this hair mask too, but I don’t like how it smells. πŸ˜„ I can’t really put it into words but I just know it’s not for me. (it’s weirdly sweet-smelling) This will probably end up on my trade list since I have other deep conditioning hair masks that smell AMAZING that I would rather use (like the Fekkai one I received in my Sample Society box a while back).

DSC_0773

CAILYN Art Touch Tinted Lip Gloss in Basic InstinctΒ (Full size, $19) – It’s always awesome to receive an item that is almost twice the value of the cost of the original bag itself. πŸ˜€ But this will actually go on my trade list too because my favorite lip gloss is the NYX Butter Gloss! (which is cheaper and absolutely awesome). I do totally appreciate receiving this in my bag though! Especially since it’s a really nice, subtle color that would have been work-appropriate.

DSC_0774

 

DSC_0775

Pacifica Natural Water-Proof Eye Pencil in Fringe (0.026 oz, 0.73g, $5.50) – I can’t find what the full size would be, so I’m guessing the one that I received is half its size. Pacifica is also a well-loved brand that Ipsy frequently includes in their bags! There were two color variations for this particular product and I received Fringe, which is brown. (the other was a gunmetal silver). I’m actually really happy that I received the brown because I know I’ll use it more and I actually don’t have a brown in my ever-growing collection of eyeliners.

DSC_0778

 

DSC_0784

Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet Brush (Full size, $6.99) – I was so excited to see that I would be receiving a brush in my bag this month! BUT… it arrived damaged. 😦 I’ve never contacted ipsyCare before so I have no idea how good/bag their customer service is, but I’ll see soon enough since I’ve already emailed them about this issue. One of the brushes came bent/broken. It’s still technically useable, but it looks sad.

DSC_0781

Here’s a close-up of the broken side.

DSC_0795

My September 2014 Ipsy bag!

Overall value: $40.94

Overall enjoyment: The really cool thing is that my Birchbox AND my Ipsy are on par for value this month. And even though I am in love with this month’s Ipsy bag (the actual bag itself), I have to say that Birchbox wins because it has more products I will use right away. I actually don’t plan on using any of the samples in my Ipsy bag until later. πŸ˜„ Plus it was unfortunate that the item I was most excited to receive (the brush), arrived damaged.

I think my top three favorite Ipsy bags are: June 2014, September 2014, and May 2014. (in that order)

9 comments

      1. A red lipstick.. I’m so pale that I don’t wear much other than nude/pink, eyeshadow, the brush (wasn’t excited but I think I can use one end for shadow liner) avon mascara, and the hair mask. I have other hair masks but nice they included. I just found a different service that you get bigger products for the money. So I’m going to try them out for a while. I just can’t stop subscribing to something though. Lol..

      2. Yeah, that’s not a super exciting bag 😦 and the worst part is when you receive something you know you just really can’t use.

        But it’s awesome that you found another subscription! Hopefully that one will work out better for you. πŸ™‚ And haha I totally get what you mean about not being able to stop subscribing… πŸ˜„

  1. I think my daughter got the same bag but she hates lipgloss or lipstick & for that matter she only wears makeup for dance – why am I buying her a bag still? Oh she liked the bag this month

  2. I got the pacifica nail polish. It smells horrible but dries super fast and is a really awesome dark red. But I was so relieved when I got brown/tan eyeshadow and pale nude gloss. I’m only adventurous when it comes to nail polish.

Leave a Reply

