September 2014 Sample Society Review

DSC_0798

Sample Society
The Breakdown:
Monthly | $15/month + tax | 5 deluxe size samples + $10 gift card on any $50 order
Makeup and Beauty (hair, skin, fragrance)
Ships via UPS ground | Ships to the US

 DSC_0799

First look! I already knew what was coming because the Sample Society dashboard updates with your products about the time your box ships out. (and also because people were posting about spoilers on MUT anyway) :p

DSC_0804

Alterna Caviar Repairx Re-Texturizing Protein Cream (1.35 fl oz/40 ml, $9.26) – I absolutely love the smell of Alterna hair products! The CC cream that I received in the Bergdorf Goodman Glossybox was not really suitable for my hair, but I gave it to my mom and she LOVES it. She uses it practically every day and I guess it was a good thing that I got three boxes that month, haha. But I can’t wait to give this to her too! I know she’ll really love it.

DSC_0807

Tarte Brazillance Self Tanning Face Towelettes (set of 3, $9.oo) – Straight to the swap pile. I know Tarte is a great brand, but I will never use self-tanning products.

DSC_0808

Givenchy Dahlia Divin Eau de Parfum (sample spray vial, $1) – I love trying new fragrances, even if I might actually end up loving the fragrances themselves. Sadly, this one doesn’t do it for me. It’s sickly sweet and floral, which is probably one of my least favorite combinations when it’s not done correctly. The description says that it’s supposed to be woody floral, but regardless… it’s not for me. (but I can see why other people might enjoy it, if they have the right skin chemistry with this scent!)

DSC_0810

Lorac POREfection Mattifying Face Primer (0.17 fl oz/5 ml, $3.20) – Excited to try a different primer because I still haven’t found my “holy grail” primer yet! This is a shine-reducing primer and I’m really happy that it’s fragrance free. I hate it when face products have fragrance because I’d rather smell like my perfume, thank you very much. :p

DSC_0811

Restorsea Revitalizing Eye Cream (Full size, $85) – Receiving a full size, $85 eye cream in a box that only costs $15? MADNESS. I haven’t opened it up yet because I’m still slowly making my way through my Laura Mercier Flawless Skin Tone Perfecting Eye Gel Creme. But I’m really happy that they sent this out because I love skin care and eye creams are always ridiculously expensive!

The actual eye cream itself comes in a really small container that looks like this.

DSC_0812

The September 2014 Sample Society box!

Overall value: $107.46

Overall enjoyment: While I hate the self-tanning towelettes and am not super excited about the fragrance… I’d say that the eye cream and the Alterna product more than make up for them. The primer is not really an exciting product either, but it’ll be used! I think that Sample Society has definitely become more high-end since their revamp so I’m definitely staying subscribed to see what they’ll send out next month.

Leave a Reply

