September 2014 Birchbox Review #2

DSC_0969

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

 DSC_0970

First look!

DSC_0972

Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm in Honey Nectar (Full size, $8) – I really liked the one I received in my first September Birchbox (in the shade Ripe Raspberry) so I was happy to see that I received another one of these lip balms in a different shade! This one is more of a nude/natural so the color is very light and you can barely tell that you have anything on your lips – which could be good or bad depending on the look you’re going for. I think I’m a bigger fan of the Ripe Raspberry shade because it gives just the right amount of color!

DSC_0977

Partially twisted up.

DSC_0979

Harvey Prince Ageless Liquid Loofah (15 ml, $0.92) – I will never say no to a Harvey Prince sample! I just love trying their products and since I received the Ageless body cream last month, I was hoping I’d receive the liquid loofah when I found out Birchbox was sending them. Sadly, it’s not the most amazing shower gel because the scent doesn’t really linger on your skin – if you love Ageless, you’d be better off buying the actual perfume itself. But this was still a fun sample to try out because I love testing shower gels!

DSC_0981

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate (10 ml, $21.67) – This was my sample choice and I was pleasantly surprised to see how generous of a sample this was considering how pricey the full size is! I haven’t tried this out yet but I’m pretty sure I’ll love it because it’s skin care! Plus, I don’t think you can really go wrong with Shiseido. 😀

DSC_0982

TOCCA Crema da Mano Luxe – Hand Cream in Bianca (1 fl oz/30 ml, $5.00) – I absolutely LOVED Tocca’s Cleopatra when I received it in my Birchbox a long, long time ago (okay more like last year) so I was super excited to see that I got another one of their hand creams but in a different scent. I haven’t opened this yet, but if it’s anything close to Cleopatra, then it’s going to be amazing.

This is described as: Bianca opens with a light citrus blend of lemon orpur and mandarin. Green tea and rose petals bloom, while a whisper of musk and sugar linger on the skin, capturing the imagination.

DSC_0983

R+Co BEL AIR Smoothing Shampoo and Conditioner (2x 7 ml/0.25 fl oz shampoo: $1.41, 2x 7 ml/0.25 fl oz conditioner: $1.47) – I’m one of those weird people who don’t mind receiving shampoo/conditioner in subscription boxes like Birchbox. I thought it was nice of them to include double the packets since they usually don’t. I’ve already tried one of the shampoo packets and I can’t really describe how it smells… but it is more masculine than I would have guessed. It didn’t really do anything for my hair but it wasn’t terrible either.

DSC_0984

 

DSC_0986

Atelier Cologne Vanille Insensee Fragrance (sample vial, $1) – Again, I always price fragrance samples at $1 now because it’s too much work trying to figure out the amount included when it’s not written on the vial. I love this scent (no, like I seriously love it – it’s in my top three!) so I’m glad to have more because the full size is pricey.

DSC_0987

My second September 2014 Birchbox!

Overall value: $39.47

Overall enjoyment: The majority of the value is carried by the Shiseido, but I actually think that this is a great box for me personally! I love that there was a lip product, a fragrance, shampoo/conditioner, a hand cream, and skin care! It covers all bases for me even though I know most people would prefer more makeup, but I’m definitely happy with what I received. 🙂

DSC_0989

 

I did get three boxes this month, but my third box was a dupe of my first (review here, in case you’re interested) and I was lucky enough to get all different box designs. 😀

4 comments

Leave a Reply

