October 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_1155

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

 DSC_1156

My Birchbox shipped out SUPER early this month! So I was actually spoiler-free except for my PYS (pick your sample) choice since I received my box before the box contents updated online. I’m a sucker for spoilers so it’s kind of torturous not knowing what I’m going to get when I open my box. XD

DSC_1157

First look!

DSC_1159

ModelCo Party Proof Lipstick in Kitty (3.8 g/0.13 oz, $8) – This was my PYS choice because I love trying new lipsticks! I’ve found that I prefer lipsticks and lip crayons over lip glosses so I’ll always choose a lip product when it’s available (unless there’s a better skin care product). :p This is full size and it’s a beautiful nude lipstick that smells like strawberries (which is amazing because I love strawberries).

DSC_1161

See-through on the top!

DSC_1164

Very subtle and really pretty.

DSC_1166

dr. brandt pores no more vacuum cleaner (0.25 oz/7.5 g, $11.25) – This is a quarter of the full size product and I’m so excited to try this because I loved the last dr. brandt product Birchbox sent me (the microdermabrasion). The really cool thing about this is that after you leave it on for 5-10 minutes, the product will actually turn blue to let you know that you’re done! This is like the perfect lazy-person facial product because all you have to do is look in the mirror to know that it’s time to rinse off the product.

DSC_1167

BeeKind Body Lotion (30 ml, $1.91) – This has a really clean, citrus (think lemon) scent! And it’s definitely a generous size that will last a while. It’s apparently a UK favorite! (I always think it’s kind of cool when I get to try out another country’s favorite products).

DSC_1168

 

DSC_1169

Harvey Prince Petaly Noir (Sample spray vial, $1) – Blech.

I was tempted to just leave it at that one word. In any case… this was not for me at all. Don’t get me wrong, I love Harvey Prince and I want to try out all their scents, but they definitely have a few that I do not enjoy and this one makes that list. It reminds me of a cross between Harvey Prince’s Journey and Yogini, both of which I dislike. XD It’s way too floral/perfume heavy, if that even makes any sense.

DSC_1170

Lord & Berry Paillettes Glitter Eye Pencil in Black (0.01 oz/0.4 g, $4.50) – This is a quarter of the full size and it has glitter. XD This was actually another one of the PYS choices this month but I really don’t need any more black eyeliners (even ones with glitter) so I decided not to choose it. I guess Birchbox just really wants me to have it though because here it is!

Also this really is super small, it’s not even the full length of the letters of Birchbox on the box.

DSC_1175

So much glitter. Probably not work-appropriate. :p

DSC_1176

My October 2014 Birchbox!

Overall value: $26.66

Overall enjoyment: This isn’t the best box I’ve received… but it’s not the worst either. I’m happy with my sample choice and the dr. brandt product; could live with or without the lotion and eyeliner; and really do not like the perfume. But such is life. :p I feel like the value of the box was there, but I was most definitely secretly hoping for a Beauty Blender since they’re sending those out this month! Oh well, maybe next time.

6 comments

  1. mine was pretty bad, 1 good thing was a mascara, everything else was blah i got tinted sunscreen for fall time! wow and face wash, and a tiny pot of lotion and what i thought was a perfume sample was actually an oil treatment, ehh ok but pretty sucky for me

    1. If you check MUT, I think a lot of people are trading theirs away! 😀 Also I tried it out last night and it’s pretty awesome – very gentle and it left my skin feeling so smooth!

  2. I’m getting number 14. I missed out on the laggies box but got the two things from it that I wanted anyways-toca and hair protector. I also managed to avoid glitter eye liner and that nipple stuff that seemed to be in every box.

    1. Sucks to hear that you missed out on the Laggies box. 😦 But box 14 looks pretty awesome!! The suki smells amazing, the tocca hand cream is amazing, and the BP hair spray is one of my favorites – I hope you love it! 😀 And haha, I’d take the nipple balm (???) over the glitter eyeliner any day.

Leave a Reply

