October 2014 Birchbox Review #2

DSC_0000

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

 DSC_0001

I reserved this box on one of my side accounts because I wanted to do the PYS on my main account! In any case, this is the Laggies box and I knew I wanted this box the moment I saw what would be included. Apparently Laggies is a movie that will be coming to a theater near you this month. :p

DSC_0002

First look!

DSC_0003

Beauty Protector Protect and Detangle (Deluxe sample size: 1 oz, $2.74) – This was a huge reason why I reserved this box. I love this stuff! It’s one of my holy grail items and I love Birchbox for introducing me to it! It seriously does wonders for my hair and I don’t even know how. I’m currently on my second to last sample of it and so I had to replenish my stock. 😉 My goal is to see how many samples I can go through before I have to cave and buy the full size.

DSC_0005

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (20 g, $5.67) – This is also one of the products that Birchbox has introduced me to that I’ve fallen in love with! It’s gentle and yet it helps to exfoliate. I love the scent because it’s so subtle and fresh. It’s honestly just a great product and I cannot recommend it enough. (this was also a reason why I decided to reserve the Laggies box!)

DSC_0007

TOCCA Crema da Mano Luxe – Hand Cream in Bianca (1 fl oz/30 ml, $5.00) – I actually received this in one of my September Birchboxes, but I totally don’t mind having another one! It smells great and goes on so smoothly. The formula is wonderful and I feel like Tocca is just great with their scents! And it’s a great size.

DSC_0009

ModelCo Power Lash Long Wear Black Mascara (0.17 fl oz/5 g, $10.00) – This is half of the full size, so I’d say that’s pretty awesome! Mascara is one of those makeup items that you can never have too many of because I feel like it’s just good hygiene to throw them away regularly to avoid eye infections. That being said, I’m going to save this one for later because I currently have two open and will finish those first!

DSC_0012

SAGE + fasten Onward Eau de Parfum (4 ml/0.13 fl oz, $4) – I have to say, I get pretty excited when Birchbox sends out perfume that isn’t in the form of a spray vial! So when I saw that a rollerball would be included, I had to get this box. I’m not sure if I love this scent though – it’s a bit too sweet for me, but it’s definitely pleasant! It’s supposed to smell like “A blend of grapefruit, melon, and crisp green apple mingle with hints of lemon and cool cucumber to create a lively, bright fragrance.” But to me? It smells like honeydew. Maybe I’m just smelling the cucumber and melon blended together.

DSC_0013

The Laggies x Birchbox box!

Overall value: $27.41

Overall enjoyment: I loved this box! Sure, choosing this box outright takes away the mystery of “what will I get”? But… it’s totally worth it to me! I know I’ll use everything in this box – even the perfume when I’m feeling adventurous. :p I think this was a really wonderful box in terms of curation and variety of items included. I would definitely choose to reserve another curated box if Birchbox keeps it up!

Leave a Reply

