October 2014 Taste Guru Review

DSC_0379

Taste Guru
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $19/month + $5 shipping | Gluten Free Food!
Ships via USPS | Ships to the US

 DSC_0382

Taste Guru reached out to me a while ago and asked if I would like to review one of their boxes. At first, I was apprehensive because I had read some pretty bad reviews (I always do research on a subscription company before accepting/declining their offer)… BUT Taste Guru was patient enough to explain everything to me – including how they’ve completely changed their company so that they could re-establish their business and win back customers!

Here are the highlights:

– Two months ago, new management was brought in to overhaul the business.
– Staff has tripled, especially the support team.
– A new website and a new brand.
– A new price point: just $19/month + $5 shipping
– Awesome new products every month and beautiful presentation

DSC_0383

October was their first new month with the rebranding and it is pretty darn amazing. The box was packed and it was truly evident that Taste Guru wanted to prove themselves to their customers.

DSC_0384

 

DSC_0385

 

DSC_0386

Dave’s Homemade Sweet & Sassy Smokehouse Rub – Gluten free, GMO free, Vegan. I love it when food subscription boxes send out spice rubs because I’m really not creative enough to make my own. 😄 This comes in a resealable bag and is made with: smoked paprika, ancho chili, oregano, and cumin… to name a few spices. I’m seriously looking forward to trying this out with some chicken or fish for that extra kick! Cool fact? This spice rub was created by Dave Martin from Season One’s Top Chef. (I love that show, haha. The only reality TV shows I watch are cooking competitions… and sometimes The Voice). :p

DSC_0388

Enstrom Almond Toffee Single in Milk Chocolate – I’m totally saving this for when I have a bad day. Toffee and chocolate? Yes, please. I do believe this was a bonus item in the box as it wasn’t listed on the information card.

DSC_0390

Mediterranean Snacks Lentil Crackers (2x) – Certified gluten free, GMO free, good source of fiber. Lentil chips are always a love/hate relationship for me. I think it really depends on my mood and if I have hummus in the fridge. But there’s no debating on how much healthier they are for you than potato chips. :p Best part? They included two bags!

DSC_0391

Peeled Snacks Apple Clusters in Cinnamon Crunch – Gluten free, GMO free, all natural. THESE. ARE. SO. GOOD. I love dried apples. I love cinnamon. I love apples and cinnamon. And most of all, I love these. I’m going to have to find out where these are sold locally because I’m totally stocking up on them. These are like crack to me. 😄 I had to stop myself from inhaling the entire bag so that I could actually have some later. Thankfully there are two in this box!

DSC_0392

Schar Bonta d’Italia Pasta – Gluten free, lactose free, no preservatives. I’ve never had gluten free pasta before, but these have some pretty rave reviews on Amazon. It’s a corn and rice based pasta, which has me intrigued. I’m going to have to go buy some Ikea meatballs and gravy and enjoy them over this pasta! (yes I love Ikea meatballs and gravy – but not so much a fan of the lingonberry sauce).

DSC_0394

Saffron Road Crunchy Chickpeas in Korean BBQ – Certified gluten free, GMO free, vegan. It was a toss-up between this and the apple clusters for my favorite item in the box because these are amazing too. Seriously amazing. The Korean BBQ flavor is a sweet/spicy (the heat kicks in at the end) and there’s just such a depth of flavor to the chickpeas. One of my favorite snacks are deep-fried broad beans in a garlic flavor (and yes, those are not very healthy) so I think chickpeas could be a really good substitute because they taste almost exactly the same!

DSC_0395

Brenton Crackers with Flax – Certified gluten free, peanut free, cholesterol free. I haven’t tried these yet but I love cheese and crackers so I’m pretty sure I won’t be let down! Taste Guru actually included a recipe on how to cook with these (the recipe was for crab and shrimp cakes) so in case you don’t want to eat them straight out of the box, you’ll have something else to do with them!

DSC_0399

The October 2014 Revamped Taste Guru box!

Overall enjoyment: I have to say that I’m really impressed with how Taste Guru has turned around in just a few months. Their debut of their rebranded business makes a statement and I love how there are duplicates of three different items (so that you can continue to enjoy when you finished the first serving!) and every product is either full size or very generously sized. If they can keep this up, I think they’re going to win back a lot of old subscribers while picking up even more new subscribers!

DSC_0396

If you’re interested in giving Taste Guru a chance, then sign up now to get the November box! There’s a spoiler and it’s BACON JAM! It’s valued at $15 so I think you know it’ll be good. 😉

Leave a Reply

