Winter 2014 Fortune Cookie Soap Box Review

DSC_0337

Fortune Cookie Soap
The Breakdown:
Quarterly | Cost: $19.99/quarter
8 exclusive FCS bath/body products in adorable mini-sizes
Ships via Newgistics | Ships Worldwide!

 DSC_0341

First look!

DSC_0338

This quarter’s theme is based on the Christmas movie classic, Christmas vacation… which I have never watched, but probably should now that I’ve received this box. :p In any case, this box included a cuticle butter, OCD hand sanitizer, fortune cookie soap, hydrate me, whipped cream, shower steamer, whipped soap, and deep conditioner!

DSC_0339

It always makes me sad and excited when there’s variation in the whipped creams they send out. Sad because I can’t try out all four scents… and excited because I don’t know which one I’m getting! XD

DSC_0343

 

DSC_0344

Scrumptious vanilla pumpkin waffles topped with brown sugar, pecans, and sheets of fresh whipped cream.” 

“Sparky” Hydrate Me – Let me just preface this entire review by saying I am not a fan of FCS’ food flavors. I think they are too intense and almost cloying in their intensity. I smelled this a couple of times before finally arriving at a conclusion. At first I hated it because it smelled way too sweet. But then I smelled it again and it wasn’t so bad… and now? Well, I like it! The scent mellows out a lot when you rub it onto your skin so it’s less syrupy and more vanilla. 😀

You can see that it melted a little on its way to me, but it’s totally still useable! Oh, and what is a hydrate me? Here are the directions from FCS’s website: Under running water, rub the conditioning bar all over. Massage into skin. Do not wash off. After you step out of the shower, air dry and allow a few minutes for the butters to sink into the skin. Experience the softest skin you’ve ever felt after just one use.

DSC_0347

 

DSC_0349

A brisk and outdoorsy blend of blue spruce and balsam fir, fresh mint, and garden herbs.

“I Pledge Allegiance, Amen!” Shower Steamer – I was so excited when I saw that this box would include one because they haven’t sent one out in the last two quarters. This scent is way concentrated and the smell of spruce and fir are honestly a little too overwhelming for me. I know that if I take a shower with this all up in my face, I’ll probably become really nauseated. I might just save this for when I have a cold/stuffy nose. XD

DSC_0350

 

DSC_0352

“Rich cream, egg, and a touch of nutmeg.

“Moose Mug” Cuticle Butter – I hate the smell and taste of eggnog so this is just not for me at all. I’m not even going to bother to try it because the smell will make me want to wash my hands right away. Let me just tell you that I had a instant gag reflex when I opened it to smell, but this is just personal preference so if you love egg nog, I’m sure you’ll be ecstatic about this scent!

DSC_0355

 

DSC_0356

“Tart cranberry, crisp pine, and herbal spruce warmed by clove and a splash of sweet mandarin orange.”

“Bend Over & I’ll Show You” Whipped Cream – This was my variation and I’m so glad I received this one – it smells like Christmas in a jar! The cranberry is very prevalent as the top note and then you get the earthiness of the pine/spruce. The sweetness of the mandarin orange really ties it all together beautifully. You know those Christmas shops? The ones that sell the ornaments, wreaths, decor, and other random holiday-related items? This is seriously what those shops smell like and this is hands down my favorite scent in the box!

DSC_0358

 

DSC_0359

“Juicy plum and whipped caramel wrapped in artisan bourbon vanilla and jasmine blossoms.”

“Fried Pussycat” Whipped Soap – I think this is my second favorite scent in the box. It would have been first if it didn’t have the caramel undertones, which lends a weird smell toward the end – almost as if it had a musty scent. But I’ll happily use up this little sample because the formula for this whipped soap is fantastic!

DSC_0360

 

DSC_0361

“Christmas Bonus” Deep Conditioner – This is their third annual mystery fragrance! You smell it and then send your guess to them. The winner gets a $50 FCS gift card. I honestly have no idea what it smells like, other than I’m not sure I like it. :p I’ll probably still email them a guess to see if I’m anywhere close to what it actually is. But hopefully I’ll remember to update this post later on if/when they release the scent description.

DSC_0363

 

DSC_0364

“Tropical spiced rum, Tahitian vanilla, sprinkled with jasmine petals and twisted woods.”

“Mele Kelekimaka” OCD Hand Sanitizer – The more I smell this, the more it reminds me of potpourri. XD I think the spiced rum and the floral/woods combine together to make that potpourri scent. I can also smell a little coconut and jasmine mixed into all of it. But can I just say that I absolutely love this vibrant, icy blue? It’s so cool and it reminds me of gatorade, haha.

DSC_0365

“A hint of sweet almond with warm swirls of tobacco.”

“‘Tis the Season to be Mary” Fortune Cookie Soap – For some reason, this just smells like soap to me. For how strong the other scents are, this one basically smells like nothing. XD I think I can kind of smell the almond but I may just be imagining things. Either way, it’s not bad at all! Although it does kind of have a “play-doh” scent to it.

And… that’s it! 😀

Overall enjoyment – There were definitely some misses in this box, but I really love the whipped cream scent that I received! That in itself is Christmas wrapped up in a little jar and makes the entire box for me. I think that their Fall 2014 box was still the best one I’ve received since signing up for the summer box, but this one wasn’t bad either. 😉

Leave a Reply

