December 2014 Geek Fuel Review

DSC_0977

Geek Fuel
The Breakdown:
Monthly | $17.90/month + $6 Shipping for US
Exclusive games, toys, gear, collectables and all things epic.
Ships via USPS Priority 2-Day | Ships to the US, Canada, UK

DSC_0978

First look!

I am so excited to share this box with you because Geek Fuel is brand new to the subscription box scene and this is their first box, ever! They started off on Kickstarter and their campaign was successfully funded. I really wish I had known about them back when their Kickstarter was still running because I totally would have backed them.

DSC_0979

 

DSC_0981

Information card (I actually never read these until I’ve finished going through my box because sometimes I just want to dig into it all and see what I can find). πŸ˜„

DSC_0982

My eye was immediately drawn to this item because it was in a red velvet drawstring pouch. It had to be something awesome, right?

DSC_0983

I pulled out a deck of cards and was immediately excited because… I collect cards! People collect magnets, post cards, or other small knick-knacks from their travels but I get decks of cards. I think my card obsession started with Pokemon and then Yu-Gi-Oh. πŸ˜„

PS: this deck of cards smelled amazing – you know, that new, mint condition card smell when you pull them out of their packaging.

DSC_0984

The Princess Bride Playing Cards Deck By Albino Dragon – Okay. OKAY. This is my favorite item in the box. The Princess Bride is one of my favorite movies ever so I was totally geeking out when I saw this. Honestly, this makes the entire box for me because this is now one of my favorite deck of cards that I own. Why?

DSC_0986

Because the illustration are GORGEOUS.

DSC_0987

Seriously gorgeous. *____* I want to rewatch the movie now.

DSC_0988

As you wish.

DSC_0989

Hello! My name is Inigo Montoya! You killed my father! Prepare to die!

DSC_0990

Inconceivable.

DSC_0991

Star Wars Pez Candy – YESSSSS. STAR WARS. I will happily take ANY Star Wars item. πŸ˜€ I think this was an awesome item to include since it could make for a great stocking stuffer for any Star Wars fan! There was variation in which Star Wars character you could receive. Hehehe, I was secretly hoping for Darth Vader and now he’s mine. πŸ˜„ I’ve actually never collected Pez dispensers but the candies aren’t too bad when you want something sweet. πŸ˜‰

DSC_0992

I’ll probably eat all the strawberry candies first. :p

DSC_0994

*cue the imperial march*

DSC_0997

Halo Alpha Mega Bloks Mini Figure Mystery Pack – I’ve never played Halo so I honestly don’t know anything about the figures you could have received. πŸ˜„ But I do like building figures and I definitely like mystery items within a mystery box. (I guess I could have saved this for my cousin, who does (did?) play Halo, but he’s probably too old for these things now haha).

DSC_0998

The 8 different figures.

DSC_1003

This was the figure I received – it’s the second one on the top row!

DSC_1006 DSC_1009

Eye of Sauron Poster by Kitchen Overlord – Aww, this is both cute and creepy! I can totally see this as a recipe to make for Halloween or a LOTR-themed party. πŸ˜„ I actually think this is a pretty good recipe because it’s easy to make and the end product actually looks like it would be tasty. Plus, the super cute step-by-step illustrations are great to help you along if you get stuck on a certain part.

DSC_1012

Not gonna lie, I laughed at the McDonald’s = Mordor. πŸ˜„

DSC_1013

Hobbitses.

DSC_1014

 

DSC_1015

Limited Edition Alpha Geek Fuel Graphic Tee – When they say limited edition, they mean it! I got #113 out of 300. So now you know how many December boxes are being sent out. :p (hurry and grab one for yourself or someone you know before they sell out completely!) I think it’s pretty cool that they actually numbered them so that you can see for yourself what limited edition means. πŸ˜‰

DSC_1019

Armor Hunters #1 by Valiant – This is an exclusiveΒ chrome cover first issue of Valiant’s crossover event, Armor Hunters. I’ll be honest, I have no idea what this is about (for all the books I’ve read, I never really got into comics or graphic novels) but the imagery is pretty amazing. See for yourself in the photo below!

DSC_1020

 

DSC_1022

They also included a really well-thought out magazine in the box! It’s their launch issue so I won’t spoil the content. πŸ˜‰

 

 

DSC_1025

(oh and they included a cute Geek Fuel robot/mascot sticker! It reminds me of Wall-E, haha)

The December 2014 Geek Fuel box!

Overall enjoyment: This was such a fun box to go through. πŸ˜€ I fell in love with that deck of cards based on The Princess Bride and that by itself just really made the box for me. I don’t think any other geek/nerd box out there would have included a The Princess Bride item! Of course, Geek Fuel also won me over with that Star Wars Pez Dispenser and that creepy/cute LOTR poster-recipe. (I also don’t think I’ve seen many boxes out there sending LOTR-related items!)

There’s still time to get this box! Sign up today to get the December box. πŸ˜€ (seriously – I cannot recommend The Princess Bride card deck enough) Below is a quick screenshot of their cost breakdown per subscription length!

Geek Fuel   Monthly Mystery Box

 

*Disclosure:Β The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

7 comments

  1. Omg. I need those cards. I neeeeeeeeed them. Never start a land war in Asia. You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means. Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line! I think I’ll watch it again tonight in bed.

  2. I’m so jealous! I didn’t get the Princess Bride cards in my box and I was even a Kickstarter backer! Everyone in my family would have flipped if we had gotten those. We got a little Android figure instead, and since we’re an Apple family, no one really cares about it. Oh, man, I need to get those playing cards! That would have been the best stocking stuffer ever for my husband. Our poster was different, too, but we did get a LOTR greeting card, which is awesome. We also got a zombie Princess Leia shirt, which is creepy and cool at the same time. We were happy with the box, but now that I’ve seen what we missed, I’m less happy!

    1. I had no idea there was variation between boxes! All of the reviews I had seen included the same items. :O But omg that zombie Princess Leia shirt sounds AMAZING! (as does the LOTR greeting card, but really… just give me anything and everything Star Wars/LOTR-related and I’ll be happy).

      I’m sorry that you didn’t receive the Princess Bride playing cards though. 😦 They are currently on sale right now! http://www.albinodragon.com/the-princess-bride-the-brute-squad/ So… maybe it could become part of a birthday present later? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

