Winter 2014 FabFitFun Review

DSC_1056

FabFitFun
The Breakdown:
Quarterly | Cost: $50/quarter |  Beauty, Fitness, Fashion, and Wellness Finds
Ships via FedEx | Ships to the US

DSC_1057

Man, the value of this box is amazing. Like, seriously amazing. Just wait and see!

DSC_1060

 

DSC_1062

Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel Sensitive (Full size, $39) – I’ve heard both good and bad things about Juice Beauty. It seems like this brand is pretty polarizing; people either love or hate it. But now that I have this in hand, I’m definitely going to have to try it because it smells pretty awesome (which is important to me, heh) and because I’ve never really given Juice Beauty a chance before.

It’s super easy to use – you just spread a thin layer over your face, leave it on for 10 minutes, and then rinse it off. It’s organic and it’s supposed to both exfoliate and reduce fine lines/wrinkles. (I do have too many masks/peels right now but… I just can’t help trying the newest one right away). :p

DSC_1063

 

DSC_1066

yourMinerals Assorted Eye Shadow Duo (Full size, $44) – All subscribers will receive Swedish Winter (the shimmery white) and then the other shade is up to chance! (unless you got an email asking you to choose a couple of weeks ago) I ended up with Lavender Dream, which is a… well, it’s basically what you see in the photo. XD I didn’t really have a preference for which one because I think all of them could be used in one way or the other.

I’m really excited for the Swedish Winter because it’s the perfect base! Or… if you’re going for a more subtle/natural look, you can wear it alone.

DSC_1068

Passport to Beauty Tibetan Goji Berry Intense Anti-Aging Eye Serum with Retinol (Full size, $88) – Oh man, this stuff is pricey – especially for the amount in this pump bottle! (though I can see why, as eye serums are usually this expensive/in small amounts) I actually eat goji berries but I’ve never tried them in skin care before. XD

I don’t know if I should keep this for myself to try or gift it to my mom. It is supposed to diminish fine lines and wrinkles while stimulating collagen and elastin to restore the skin around your eye.

DSC_1070

Lather AHA Hand Creme with Evening Primrose (Full size, $30) – This is a pretty big tub of hand cream, but I don’t know if I’ll use it since I currently prefer using body butter on my hands (and I have a lot of body butter that I love right now). However, this is more than just your average hand cream because it not only does the basics (re:hydrating your dry winter skin), but it will also help minimize wrinkles and age spots.

Maybe this is something I should send to my grandma for Christmas? XD She loves using heavier creams and I think this could be something she would appreciate more than I.

DSC_1074

Daniel Stone Coco Candle in White Tea Ginger Root (Full size, $42) – Even though nothing will take the place of Nest candles in my heart, this does smell pretty good. To me, it smells slightly floral and very, very tropical. I don’t really get ginger though. XD

This has a burn time of 60 hours, an organic double -wooden wick, and it is made from eco green coconut wax. I went on the product’s webpage and pretty intrigued by the following claim: “Harnessing the remarkable properties of all natural coconut wax and a remarkably high 15% fragrance load, these innovative candles outperform any department store or boutique brand.”

Specifically, I’m intrigued by the 15% fragrance load because I can smell my Nest candle just by leaving it out but I can’t say the same for this one! However, I do want to keep and try this because I’ve been sniffing it and I haven’t gotten a headache (which happens when I smell soy candles, for some reason).

DSC_1076

Half United Fighting Hunger Necklace ($34) – I. Love. This. I love most necklaces, but this necklace is something special. For every product purchased, Half United gives half of its profits to feed children in need and these necklaces are made from recycled bullet casings. Seriously though, props to FabFitFun for always finding really cool necklaces that also give back.

They included a different necklace in last year’s Winter FFF box: the Giving Keys Neverending necklace. I wasn’t a subscriber back then (actually I had only just started my foray into the subscription box world and was only subscribed to Birchbox) but I loved it so much I traded for one! I mean, I really had to when I read the company’s statement: “Wear this key and embrace its message until you meet someone who needs the message on the key more than you.”

DSC_1077

(ugh, sorry about the lighting in this photo, but how super cool is this necklace??)

DSC_1079

Salted – 3 months of Free Membership ($29.97) – I love watching cooking shows (Top Chef, Masterchef, Masterchef Junior, Iron Chef, Cutthroat Kitchen, Guy’s Grocery Games, etc.) but… I am just not a fan of cooking. Maybe it’s weird but while I love baking and will bake any time I have a chance, I really cannot be bothered to cook unless I was starving and didn’t want to leave the house. XD And honestly, at this point in my life, I really don’t have the time nor the energy to cook something for myself.

$30 Fashion Project Gift Card ($30) – This is a real gift card. There is no minimum. There are no “tricks”. It is $30 you can spend at FashionProject.com! I can’t believe this site doesn’t have more buzz. You get to shop previously owned designer brands at ridiculously cheap prices and the best thing about shopping at this site? Part of every purchase will go to a different charity and you can clearly see which charity your purchase will be helping!

I’ve already used my gift card to get this:

Untitled-3

The $30 can be applied to both the product and shipping costs! At least that’s what it let me do. 🙂 So my subtotal was $25 and then shipping was $6.99. Adding those two values together gives me $31.99 and when you apply the $30 gift card? I just had to pay $1.99 out of pocket!

I’ll definitely keep you all updated on this because I want to see how legit this site is/the quality of the bags they’re selling. So… check back in a week or two and hopefully I’ll have received it by then! But if you’re getting a FFF winter box (and you totally should with all the gift cards/items in here!), you should go check out this website ASAP because things will sell out and disappear! They don’t have inventory because it’s all donated by people so once it’s gone… it’s gone forever. :O

DSC_1080

 

DSC_1082

Zumba 60 minute DVD “Max” and $25 Gift Card ($55) – Let’s talk about the gift card first. Yes, it is a real gift card too. 😀 You can use it on the website (Zumba.com/shop) on anything you want! I’m having trouble deciding what I want at the moment (currently it’s a three-way tie between this, this and this). Someone help me decide! XD

Along with the gift card, there’s a 60 minute Zumba DVD workout! I’m pretty coordinated (I used to play a lot of sports), but I’m not much into dancing (though I did try jazzercise for fun for a little while…) so I don’t know how much use I’ll get out of this DVD. However, I do think it would be fun to try since zumba is much livelier than most other exercises.

DSC_1083

Organic Valley Organic Balance Milk Protein Shake in Vanilla Bean ($2.99) – Now we move onto the sponsored items! I think FabFitFun has really stepped up their sponsored items game; every new box has better sponsored items than its predecessor. I don’t really drink protein shakes and I’m somewhat lactose intolerant, so I might have to pass this onto my brother who drinks whey protein like it’s water. XD

DSC_1084

Justin’s Classic Almond Butter ($0.63) – Oh yes, I love this stuff. I don’t even try to find something to spread it on; I just eat it straight out of the packet. No shame. 😉 It’s great for a pick-me-up with all its protein and delicious flavor.

DSC_1085

Special K Snack Bars in Salted Pretzel Chocolate ($0.44) – Special K bars are awesome, no joke. The Special K Strawberry Fruit Crisps are like CRACK. So I’m definitely going to eat this and enjoy it. I don’t mind salty-sweet combinations if they’re done right so I have high hopes for this bar!

DSC_1088

The 2014 Winter FabFitFun VIP box!

Overall value: $366.06 (without the Salted membership) or $396.03 (with the Salted membership)

Overall enjoyment: The curation of this box is on point and the value is insane. There is close to $400 of products in this box! And I think the best part is that there are two gift cards that are actual gift cards without any restrictions so that you can pick out something for yourself in your size and your style. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite item in this box, but the top three would go to:

1. Half United Fighting Hunger Necklace
2. $30 Fashion Project Gift Card
3. Daniel Stone COCO Candle

This box really has a little bit of everything: makeup, accessories, clothing, fitness, food, skin care, and home items! I can’t wait to see what FFF comes out with for their spring box, but whatever it is… it’ll be hard to top this box.

And guess what? You’re in luck because this box is still available! Use WINTER10 to get $10 off.
That makes this box just $39.95 (and you’re basically getting 10x the value in items! 🙂

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

