Birchbox Home Sweet Homespun Review

DSC_0777

Birchbox Home Sweet Homespun Limited Edition Box
The Breakdown:
One-Time Purchase | Cost: $40
Ships via USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0779

So… I finally caved and bought this limited edition box!

This happened during the Black Friday/Cyber Monday sale that Birchbox had (everything for 25% off!) because I had originally wanted to buy more of the Milk Bar cookie mixes but they were all sold out. 😦 This was the next best thing because I really, really wanted to try the other flavor being offered (I had bought the confetti flavor in a separate order and loved it).

Oh and I want to say that I love the physical box itself! The blue pattern is both fun and classy (is that possible? :p) and it just looks like a wonderful gift.

DSC_0780

First look!

DSC_0781

What they say about this box.

DSC_0783 DSC_0784

Milk Bar Cornflake-Chocolate Chip-Marshmallow Cookie Mix ($16) – Yessssss. The entire reason why I bought this box. I cannot wait to make this! My family loved the confetti cookies and were impressed by the quality of the recipe. I love Milk Bar stuff and this is definitely a place on my “to visit” list! (I’ve been to NYC once before but didn’t have time to go to Milk Bar, sadly).

DSC_0785

Soak Handmaid Luxury Hand Cream in Fig ($10) – I haven’t opened this yet because I might gift it. Maybe. :p I love skin care items but I do prefer using body butter for my hands. But I really want to know what this smells like because I’ve heard good things about it!

DSC_0786 DSC_0789

Makerskit Hanging Photo Clips Complete Project Kit ($24): Okay, first off… there’s no way this is worth $24. I can get everything in this kit for under $10 at Target/Walmart/Michael’s/Joann’s. That being said – this is a really cute kit and I’m actually going to use this to make a small decoration, though I will have to get some photos printed!

DSC_0790

Meri Meri The Little Garden Treat Kit ($12.95) – Awww, these are really cute too! I might be too busy to make caramels for my coworker this holiday season, but I’ll have time in January so I’m definitely going to be attaching these tags to the small bags of caramels I’ll give to them for a more personal touch.

DSC_0792

Askinosie Chocolate Single Origin Sipping Chocolate (38 g, $3.69) – I was really excited to get this because hot chocolate? LOVE IT. However, it isn’t what I really wanted in a hot chocolate in terms of flavor. I’ll still finish off the bag though!

DSC_0794

Cowshed Lippy Cow Natural Lip Balm (0.18 fl oz/5 ml, $3.51): Lip balms are my new obsession thanks to Malin + Goetz’s Mojito Lip Balm and Memebox’s Eglips Jolie BeBe Lip Treatment. I like this one too! It tastes like oranges and goes on smoothly. But it does feel a bit more greasy/oily, which isn’t all that pleasant.

DSC_0796 DSC_0797

Richer Poorer Socks in Women’s Parlor Light Blue ($12) – I couldn’t decide which photo I liked better, so you guys get two! XD I don’t know about you, but I can always use socks. These are a fun pattern (even though I do kind of wish that they had sent out this pattern instead). I think I’ll gift these to my mom for Christmas as part of her gift! She prefers long socks to ankle socks and these are great quality. 🙂

DSC_0798 DSC_0799

Illume Mini Tin Soy Candle in Noble Currant ($9) – Not too excited about this one because the only candles I like are Nest candles now. :p However, this scent definitely screams HOLIDAY to me so it’s a totally appropriate inclusion in this box.

DSC_0803

The festive squiggles in the box!

DSC_0801

This was the mystery sample pack I received – two Marcelle 8 in 1 Power Serums! I’ve gotten one of these before and tried using it, but it really didn’t do anything for my skin. In fact, I think it caused my skin to break out – but other people do like this product. So these will be put in my trading pile for sure!

DSC_0805

The Birchbox Home Sweet Homespun Limited Edition box!

Overall value: $91.15

Overall enjoyment: I’ll pretty much use everything in this box, except for the candle so I’d say this was a great deal even though I mostly bought it for the cookie mix. :p If someone gave me this box as a Christmas gift, I’d be thrilled! The curation for this was on-point and a great way to get someone a thoughtful gift without trying too hard, haha.

This box is still available if you want to get one!

Leave a Reply

