December 2014 Ipsy Review

DSC_1027

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via DHL | Ships to US, Canada

DSC_1028

The last Ipsy bag of 2014!

DSC_1029

I like that this month’s card was kept simple. Most of the time I’m rolling my eyes at whatever they put on there. XD

DSC_1030

And I really like the December bag! You can easily remove the Ipsy heart if you want to keep this bag unbranded.

DSC_1032

 

DSC_1033

 

DSC_1036

 

DSC_1038

Cailyn Just Mineral Eye Polish in Orchid (Full size, $15) – It’s always nice when the value of just one item covers more than the cost of the subscription! I’ve received one Cailyn product before from Ipsy (a lip lacquer/gloss), but I traded it away because I had too many lip products at the time. But I think I’ll keep this one (yes, really!) because its applicator, a sponge tip, is super convenient for application! (with no mess because it’s all on the applicator and the jar) Also, this is just a really gorgeous rose gold! Plus, I’ve found that I like eyeshadows that have just a little bit of shimmer so this is perfect. 🙂

DSC_1039

450° Blow Out Heat Defense Blow Dry Spray Mini (1.7 fl oz/50 ml, $7.58) – I’m not much about blow out hair products… mainly because I don’t blow dry my hair most days. XD But now that it’s winter and cold, I do tend to blow dry my hair more often than I’d like so I might be incentivized to use this. However… it doesn’t smell amazing (in other words, I’m not crazy about the scent), so we’ll see if I actually do want to try it.

DSC_1042

Beauty Without Cruelty A.H.A. 3% Facial Cleanser (2 fl oz, $2.60) – This has a fairly clean and neutral scent, which is very much appreciated! Plus it doesn’t hurt that it’s: paraben free, pH balanced, 100% Vegan-Vegetarian, and never tested on animals. I’m always looking to try new and gentle facial cleansers. 🙂

DSC_1043

NYX Butter Lip Balm in Marshmallow (Full size, $4) – I love NYX lip products! One of my favorite lipsticks is actually by NYX. 😀 I’m not so sure about this nude color though. In this case, I’d rather just use my Malin + Goetz mojito lip balm since this product doesn’t really provide much color at all. But I’m still keeping it because reviews say that it has a really nice flavor (which is a bonus for lip products)!

DSC_1044

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara (0.1 oz, $8.33) – I’ve heard really great things about this mascara! My current favorite is the Benefit They’re Real! mascara, but I’m going to have to try this one to see what all the fuss is about.

DSC_1046

My December 2014 Ipsy bag!

Overall value: $37.51

Overall enjoyment: I have to say… when I first saw my glam room, I was pretty bored/disappointed with the items that I was receiving. But now that I have everything in front of me, I have had a change of heart. XD The facial cleanser will definitely be used; the Cailyn eyeshadow is really awesome (like, seriously awesome); the tarte mascara will be a fun experiment and comparison to the benefit they’re real mascara; the lip balm will be used; and even the blow out hair product will be used (maybe). :p This is a pretty high value bag so it’s not a bad way to close out 2014!

4 comments

  1. My bag was totally different from this! I’ve heard lots of great stuff about the Cailyn powder. I got the Pixi version but feel like I’m not skilled enough to use a sponge with mineral shadow :-/ And I’d love to have gotten the Marshmallow NYX balm because I love nude colors and because MARMALLOWS 🙂

    1. A lot of people have said that the Pixi eyeshadow is easier to use if you depot it and just use your usual eyeshadow brush (or whatever it is you use)! Hopefully that will help. 😀

    1. YESSSSS. It’s pretty awesome and this is coming from someone who doesn’t wear a lot of makeup. (aka it’s fool proof even if you have little make up experience hahaha). I think you’re going to get the exact same variations… because IIRC, we’re bag twins again. :p

Leave a Reply

