December 2014 Birchbox Review

DSC_0883

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US, Canada

DSC_0884

The physical box this month was GORGEOUS. It’s probably the best one they’ve sent out so far. I tried to capture the color/sparkly design, but I don’t think I did a very good job. XD Regardless, if you get a December Birchbox, you’ll know what I’m talking about!

DSC_0885

First look!

DSC_0889

Acure Organics Lip Lush in Birthday Suit (Full size, $7.99) – I was all set to love this product but I can’t really get over its flavor/how it tastes. Unfortunately it has a weird artificial taste that reminds me of now and laters in apple or some other kind of cheap apple candy. Also it leaves my lips feeling super greasy. :/ But maybe that’s from the argan oil in the formula?

DSC_0891

I will say that the color is gorgeous and the microshimmer really makes all the difference!

DSC_0893

Color Club Art Duo Pen in White (Full size, $10) – I’ve actually received this before (on another account)… and I haven’t used it at all! (which shouldn’t really be a surprise seeing as how I don’t paint my nails haha). Though I think I would really like this if I did enjoy painting my nails because you can really get creative with this product. However, it’s not for me and I’ll add this onto my trade list. :p

DSC_0894

Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream (0.1 fl oz/3 ml, $1.28) – This sample is just kind of lame, imo. I’m not even going to open this because one, it’s a skin cream and I already have more than I need (plus I like the ones that I already have) and two, all the reviews say that this stuff does not smell good, as in… it smells like Vicks vapor rub/bengay. I think this will just go into my “samples extra” pile in which I send out small extras when I swap.

DSC_0896

Benefit They’re Real! Mascara (3.0 g/0.1 oz, $7.67) – I know people are getting tired of receiving this in their subscription boxes… but not me! This is my favorite mascara and I love getting these minis so that I never have to actually buy the full size. Also having these deluxe sample sized mascaras means that I don’t have to feel guilty about throwing them out after 2-3 months.

DSC_0897

Davines Replumping Superactive (50 ml/1.69 fl oz, $19.75) – This is an EXTREMELY generous sample as it’s half of the full size! I love the smell and it is made with hyaluronic acid, which means it’s super hydrating. It’s a volumizing spray and while my hair does already have enough volume, there are definitely some bad hair days that can be fixed by this. XD

DSC_0900

Davines Replumping Shampoo and Conditioner (12 ml/0.4 fl oz each, $1.22 and $2.04 respectively) – These were considered bonuses that came along with the spray, which I’ll gladly take! It’s fun trying out new shampoos and conditioners as I like changing it up every so often and Davines always makes great hair care products.

DSC_0902

My December 2014 Birchbox!

Overall value: $49.95

Overall enjoyment: This has to be one of the highest value Birchboxes I’ve ever received! Sadly it’s not my favorite. :p The Yube skin cream is a dud. I didn’t really like the Lip Lush and I won’t be using the nail art duo. However, I’ll happily use all the Davines items and the Benefit mascara. 😀

Leave a Reply

