January 2015 Popsugar Must Have Review

DSC_1289

Popsugar Musthave
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $39.95/month
Beauty, Fashion, Food, Home, Fitness, etc.!
Ships via Fedex Smartpost | Ships to the US

DSC_1291

First look!

My box arrived SUPER early this month – which is a very welcome change from the last couple of months of 2014, when I would have to wait toward the end of every month for my box to arrive. (or I’d have to continuously bother Popsugar’s CS to make sure I even get a label created). But 2015 is a fresh start so I’m hopeful that Popsugar will get back on track with their shipping timeline.

DSC_1293

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream (6.0 oz/170.1 g, $28) – I’ve never tried this before but I’ve seen it pop up in a lot of other subscription boxes (full size like this one or deluxe sample-sized) so it’s kind of awesome that I’ll finally get to try it at such a perfect time. California is pretty dry during the winter and I’m definitely the effects even as I slather on body butter. ๐Ÿ˜„ I haven’t opened this yet so I can’t comment on its scent or its texture (reviews seem to disfavor the scent and say that this is sticky).

DSC_1296

Manduka eQua Hand Towelย ($16) – This towel is 16″ by 26.5″ (which was actually bigger than I expected, but that’s because I was picturing what I now know to be a fingertip towel, haha thanks BBB!) and the color is seaglass. I wasn’t super excited by this item until now… because it’s so soft thanks to the microfibers! You can use this for more than just wiping off sweat at the gym; you can also use this as a very expensive computer screen/ipad/smart phone screen wipe. ๐Ÿ˜„ This is marketed to be super absorbent so I’m going to try to use it to dry my hair!

DSC_1297

 

DSC_1299

ToGoSpa EYES in Ice Waterย ($12.50) – I love under-eye gel patches! Each pack comes with three sets and I think I’m going to need all of them by the time busy season is over in mid-March. ๐Ÿ˜„ I went onto ToGoSpa’s website and found out that they also carry other scents (coconut and green tea)! But what made me laugh was their taglineย โ€œPERFECT FOR ANYONE WITH A FACE!โ€.

Anyway, here’s what these claim to do for you:

  • Relaxes, calms, and pumps up hydration levels to new heights.
  • De-puffs and reduces the appearance of dark circles.
  • Reduces irritation and redness.
  • Minimizes pores with clarifying, cleansing oils.
  • Hydrates crepe-like skin and fine lines.
DSC_1301

 

DSC_1303

 

DSC_1306

KeepCup Brew 12-Ounce Reusable ($26) – I’m not sure if I’ll actually use this – and not just because I don’t drink coffee, but because I already carry a water bottle (yay contigo water bottles) with me to work every day and I’m too lazy to carry two when I already have a ton of other crap to lug around. ๐Ÿ˜„ But this is super cute and I love the design (mostly the splash proof seal) and the fact that the cup itself is glass for easy cleaning!

DSC_1307

General Mills Nature Valley Protein Granola in Peanut Butter ‘N Dark Chocolateย ($3.68) – It’s been a while since I’ve had Nature Valley granola bars, but I liked them even if they were always kind of hard. This isn’t as exciting as the last couple of months’ food items, but I enjoy granola so this will definitely be eaten even if it’s not the tastiest. :p

DSC_1311

Jack + Lucy Pom Pom Hat ($32) – So… I thought I would hate this and then I made the mistake of putting it on my head and… now I like it. ๐Ÿ˜„ It’s super cozy (at least it’s cozy enough for the NorCal winter, haha) and it’s stretchy so that there’s no pressure around your temples even after you’ve had it on for a while. I do think that Jack + Lucy doesn’t make quality items, but since I got this in a Popsugar box on a discounted subscription (yay Black Friday deal), I can’t really complain! I just hope that this thing doesn’t unravel or develop gaping holes like last January’s Jack + Lucy tech gloves.

DSC_1313

Skin Jewel Tattoos in Empire ($18) – I can’t believe these cost $18 retail. ๐Ÿ˜„ I mean, yes they’re on trend and all that but… these are just fancy temporary tattoos. (I guess I’m not that fashionable, hahaha). But seriously, I can’t see myself using these at all unless I’m going on vacation to somewhere warm with sea and sand. But Iย can see other people using this – for example… at Coachella or Burning Man.

DSC_1314

This comes with two sheets – one in silver and one in gold! I know people have been asking for a silver jewelry item in their Popsugar box, but others still love their gold so… this is a good compromise? :p

DSC_1319

Overall value: $136.18

Overall enjoyment: This was a strangely appropriate and useful box! I had my reservations about it when the spoilers first came out a couple of days ago, but now that I have it in front of me… I find myself really enjoying the contents – even that hat. :p The only thing I don’t really like is the temporary tattoos, but that’s just my personal style.

9 comments

    1. You still can! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you sign up now, your subscription will start with the January box. I haven’t tried the gel patches yet but I’m definitely looking forward to them.

  1. This is going to be my first box as a subscriber (as opposed to swapping for it or single box Ruelala) and I’m happy. I should get mine Monday. I thought the towel was going to be dishtowel or washcloth sized so that sounds like a perfect hair towel.

Leave a Reply

