January 2015 Ipsy Review

DSC_0107

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via DHL | Ships to US, Canada

DSC_0108

While Birchbox’s January theme was “let’s do this”, Ipsy went with something equally cliche in “fresh start”. XD

DSC_0109

I really like this month’s bag! It’s blue on one side…

DSC_0110

…and white on the other! Plus, it’s lined and has a bright orange zipper. It’s pretty roomy too.

DSC_0112

Malin+Goetz Mojito Lip Balm (0.20 oz/7 g, $6.85) – This is almost full size (full size is 0.35 oz) and I can tell you from experience that this is awesome! I received in my July Glossybox last year and that was kind of the unofficial start of my love of lip balms. I used to only use chapstick, but now I have been converted to lip balms. I cannot recommend this enough!

DSC_0113

Manna Kadar Cosmetics Sheer Glo (0.27 ml/8 ml, $7.83) – I’ve received this before… somewhere. XD But in any case, I do like it as it’s a really pretty highlighter that can also kind of act as a light blush (depending on light or dark your skin is). It’s easy to apply and I think the shimmer really makes this product. No scent to this whatsoever! (a positive, for sure)

DSC_0114

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow in Treasure (0.08 oz/2.5 g, $5) – I have no idea what this costs, but most people are estimating it at $5 so there you go. I’m not very excited about this, even though I do like the color. Eyeshadow like this is kind of boring for me, but Pacifica is a good brand and I like the packaging. XD Subscribers either received this shade or a lighter shade (ethereal) this month as one of their five items.

DSC_0115

What it looks like in sunlight.

DSC_0116

La Fresh Eco-Beauty Be Good. Good Day. Day Moisturizer (0.5 oz/15 g, $12) – I don’t know how this is $15 but… okay. XD I do appreciate that it’s in a resealable package (which is much better than just receiving a foil). However, I hate how it smells. The scent is like wet wood and a weird floral… aka not pleasant, which is disappointing because the formula is light and fast-absorbing. And it’s made in California!

DSC_0117

Hikari Cosmetics Mechanical Eye Liner in Storm (Full size, $13) – Yay full size. XD Storm is described as a slate gray, which most people will be happy about because it’s not your average black eyeliner. I think I’m going to have to put this one up for swap because I have too many eyeliners right now!

DSC_0119

My January Ipsy!

Overall value: $44.68

Overall enjoyment: I’m not overly excited about the contents but I do love the mojito lip balm and the actual bag itself. I think that Ipsy really isn’t the best subscription for me, but when they’re good… they’re amazing. Ipsy tends to send out more full size items and cheaper brands while Birchbox sends out more sample size items and high end brands. In any case, Birchbox wins it for me this month!

DSC_0121

Oh and Ipsy does have a points system… theirs just isn’t very good. XD But! I have finally redeemed some of my points to get this. I used up 500 points to get this deluxe size of Benefit’s Fake Up! I’ve heard good things about this so I thought I’d go ahead and give it a try.

DSC_0124

As always, Benefit’s packaging is adorable.

DSC_0125

It’s very little product in such a “big” tube. But a little goes a long way!

DSC_0126

It’s an ultra-hydrating concealer for under your eyes… which I’m definitely going to need in the coming weeks. XD

2 comments

  1. Bag twins! I also got the Benefit Fake-Up, PosieBalm and the dual Crown brush. I was excited to redeem some of my points — not realizing how little the samples were for Benefit! You hit the nail on the head with the smell of that moisturizer…OMG. So far, my favorite product is the lip balm. It’s awesome sauce!

    1. Yay for being bag twins! 😀 It’s always fun to find someone else who got the exact same items as you did. Haha yeah Benefit samples can be ridiculously small sometimes (but then you realize you can get a lot of uses out of one, so it’s not that bad!).

      I’m glad it’s not only me who thinks the moisturizer smells gross/weird! XD

      BUT YESSSS I LOVE THAT YOU LOVE THE LIP BALM TOO. 😀 Seriously so amazing.

Leave a Reply

