January 2015 Smart Art Review

DSC_0260

Smart Art
Monthly | Cost: $49.95/month
8-11 trial/full sized art supplies
Ships to the US

DSC_0262

This is Smart Art’s second ever box! (and of course, their first box in 2015)

DSC_0264

This month’s theme was Neo-Impressionism. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it on this blog (probably), but my favorite style of art is basically any kind of impressionism so when I first opened this box, I was really excited about the theme! (and before you ask, yes my favorite piece of art is Van Gogh’s Starry Night) – though, strangely enough… one of the close seconds is Gustav Klimt’s The Kiss, but maybe it’s just because gold is shiny, haha).

DSC_0263

As always, Smart Art will provide a detailed description of everything included in the box and a suggested project in case you don’t know what direction you want to take with your new art supplies! For January, the suggested project pulls from pointillism… which is a fancy way of saying “put dots on a paper and make an image appear”. (it’s actually harder than it looks if you don’t have a vision from the start).

DSC_0265

Fabriano Studio Watercolor Pad ($9.60) – This is the real deal, guys. The card stock/the paper is of incredibly good quality and if I were an artist, I’d be psyched to get a watercolor pad like this! It’s heavy and it’s texturized, but seriously – look at the photo below.

DSC_0267

Had to play around with the lighting to actually get the texture to show up. I’m just really glad that Smart Art sends out something you can draw/paint on because I definitely do not watercolor paper just sitting around in my house. XD

DSC_0269

 

DSC_0270

Dahle Chubby Pencil Sharpener ($2.75) – Aww, haha this is cute. And true to its claim, it’s pretty comfortable to hold as you sharpen your pencil. I actually don’t know if I even have a pencil sharpener in my desk drawers anymore because all I use these days are pens!

DSC_0271

General’s Pure Woodless Graphite HB ($2.33) – This has a really nice weight to it when you’re holding it. This is a woodless pencil that is made of pure graphite. I don’t know about you, but this makes me want to draw something, even if it turns out lame. Just the feel of it in between my fingers is so nice compared to those #2 pencils I used to use for standardized tests. :p

DSC_0272

Prismacolor Magic Rub Eraser ($0.80) – Who remembers these!? I used these all the time in elementary/middle school – and maybe even in high school! These are definitely a throwback for me, haha, and I can testify to how well they work. 🙂 The only downside is that these erasers produce a lot of eraser shreds when you erase.

DSC_0273

Another photo, just because.

DSC_0274

 

DSC_0275

MEPXY Brush Markers ($35.94 at $5.99 each, 6 are included) – Holy crap these are expensive markers. Smart Art does not mess around when it comes to the art supplies they send out! The colors included in my box were: G17 Medium Green, O07 Fresh Vermilion, N13 Brick Beige, CG05 Cool Gray 05, V09 Violet, and Y15 Cadmium Yellow. I’m used to using those Crayola washable markers (hahaha) so having these is a huge step up.

Best part? They’re all double-sided! So you can really get the effect you’re looking for.

DSC_0276

Brush tip!

DSC_0277

Chisel tip!

DSC_0285

The January 2015 Smart Art Box!

Overall value: $51.42 (I used the list pricing for everything).

Overall enjoyment: I think I might actually like this box better than the first because the suggested project seems easier for someone at my “skill” level. 😉 I really love playing around with markers and sometimes making random sketches with a good old fashioned pencil so this is totally my month! The coolest thing about those markers is that the felt tip side “writes” like a paintbrush, which will really add to the range of creativity. Oh, and they’re alcohol-based so they dry almost instantly. My only complaint is that I wish they had sent a blue marker! (but only because blue is my favorite color).

As I’ve said before, this is a great box for adults and kids alike because all you need is creativity! There really is no right/wrong way to go about enjoying the supplies in this box and it’s a wonderful activity to do together as a family.

 

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

