Spring 2015 Fortune Cookie Soap Box Review

DSC_0320

Fortune Cookie Soap
The Breakdown:
Quarterly | Cost: $19.99/quarter
8 exclusive FCS bath/body products in adorable mini-sizes
Ships via Newgistics | Ships Worldwide!

DSC_0424

SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOX. I was seriously counting down the days until I could get this in my hands because the descriptions from other people’s unboxings sounded amazing.

DSC_0425

Probably my favorite FCS box to date!

DSC_0392

Body Wash – FutterWackin: Sun-warmed lilies brightened with a splash of grapefruit and a breath of fresh air.

This is really fresh (no, seriously – it is!) and it reminds me of orange candy. But if you seriously try smelling it, you can really smell the distinction between the grapefruit and the lilies. I love their body wash even though the scent doesn’t last on your skin, but it lathers up so nicely! I do quite like this scent but it’s nothing revolutionary. :p

DSC_0393

Look at that bright orange!

DSC_0394

Perfume Oil – Eat Me: Scrumptious yellow cake with a fresh slathering of creamy vanilla frosting topped with fresh white pineapple slices and garnished with a sprig of blooming cilantro.

This is absolutely THE best scent in this box. OMG I am in love with this. It smells so sweet and so vibrantly pineapple. It’s basically a pineapple upside down cake in the best way possible. Right out of the bottle it smells like pineapple and then it just dries down to this amazing sweet vanilla with a small hint of pineapple. I am buying this scent in EVERYTHING on launch day because this has just shot all the way up to my top three favorite FCS scents!

DSC_0395

Whipped Cream – It’s Only A Dream: Calming verbena, lemongrass, calla lily, and citrus blended with leafy greens, ylang-ylang, rosewood, and ozone. With hints of soft musk and roses.

When people describe a scent as floral, I immediately think I’ll hate it because I associate floral with rose and old people. XD (my grandma really likes rose scents so I’m not really interested in smelling like my grandma, even though I adore her!) BUT. BUT!!! This is nothing like that. This is absolutely amazing and my second favorite scent in the box, which really surprised me because I was 100% set to hate this, but it is smells so good when I apply it to my skin. And yes, it is really floral, but it’s a kind of floral that I love… and I want to just slather this all over my body. XD

DSC_0397

This is a really pale pink.

DSC_0399

FCS – Almost Alice: fresh green snap peas and juicy pears brighten this bouquet of sweet pea flowers and freschia sprinkled with ripe berries.

Their signature product – the Fortune Cookie Soap itself. This is such a pretty color! It’s a pearl, light blue. It smells like a marriage between ocean and flowers… and it reminds me of something that I’ve smelled before. Interestingly enough, I don’t smell pears or berries – only florals. I don’t love it but I don’t hate it either. I do like that it’s a very clean scent and will work very well as a soap.

DSC_0401

OCD Hand Sanitizer – We’re All Mad Here: Playful mint waters and natural leafy green notes with a musky rich cedar wood.

I really wanted to love this but I think the musky cedar wood kind of overpowers everything else. (but the purple is so pretty!) I do smell the “green” but nothing of the mint. This is also a very clean scent and it’s definitely unisex, leaning more towards masculine. I like it and I will use it, but I don’t think I’d get this scent in any of their other products.

DSC_0402

I love this purple!

DSC_0403

These two make a striking pair when you put them side by side.

DSC_0407

Bath Bomb – Off With Their Heads: Groves of meyer lemon and succulent oranges, mingle with a perfectly manicured garden of wild roses, violets, star jasmine, perfumed with romantic tones of bergamot and egyptian musk.

Okay this is adorable and so pretty but unfortunately I don’t like this scent at all. 😦 The floral (rose, mainly) is way too strong for me in a bleh way and it is the first thing that I smell, which is overwhelming. And for some reason, the lemon notes in this is really harsh and reminds me of cleaning agent. Overall, it’s just too much of what I don’t like.

DSC_0411

Seriously so beautiful.

DSC_0412

*___*

DSC_0415

 

DSC_0416

Bath Tea – Twisted Tea Party: A light green refreshing green tea with notes of sweet herbs, vanilla beans, cucumber, neroli, and geranium, stirred with a bright sprig of spearmint.

This smells like tea! (to the surprise of no one, hahaha) I can definitely smell the green tea and then the herbs. But it’s mostly tea, which I’m really happy about. 😀 Tea smells amazing and I hope that they’ll have this scent available in other products because I’m curious to see how it translates to a whipped cream or an OCD hand sanitizer. I wish I took more baths/had time to actually enjoy taking a bath, but I’ll definitely have to give this a try because this seems worth going through the trouble of drawing a bath for. This honestly smells really fantastic.

DSC_0418

Incense Cone – Who Are You?: A mysterious mixture of crisp ripe pear, twisted with tart lime, vanilla orchid and a dash of raw cane sugar.

These are so cool! I’ve never tried burning incense cones before and these smell AMAZING. I’d say this is my third favorite scent in the box. I think this was the first thing I smelled when I opened the box because the scent just permeates into the air. I smell the pear and the sugar right away… and if these weren’t incense cones, I’d probably keep sniffing them because they honestly smell fantastic. I can’t wait to see how they work when I burn one – you’re supposed to light it (after you’ve placed it on a non-flammable surface), let it burn for 10 seconds, and just extinguish it! (also, careful – these leave black dust on your fingers so don’t touch your eyes afterwards!)

DSC_0419

By itself.

DSC_0433

I lit one. >:D

DSC_0437

What it looks like after you extinguish it. Not a bad scent after you light it, but it doesn’t smell as good either.

DSC_0426

A butterfly and green squiggles.

DSC_0442

Overall enjoyment: I claim to not like florals, but after this box, I might have to retract that claim! I absolutely loved most of this box and I was all set to be disappointed! XD But instead, Fortune Cookie Soap has really exceeded my expectations and I am completely and absolutely obsessed with the Eat Me perfume oil. If nothing else, you must try that scent because it is just AMAZING. I know I’m going to spend so much money on launch day because I need everything in Eat Me and It’s Only a Dream… and maybe even Who Are You? February 27th can’t come fast enough!

3 comments

  1. Haha! I hated the whipped cream. And I thought I liked the OCD sanitizer but then I used it and that is all I could smell for SO long and my brain got tired of it. I mean, it’s nice that it lasts but I guess I wish it was the bath tea scent instead. I really really hope they do other products with the Twisted Tea Party and then Who Are You? scents. Those two were my favorite. Wait, no. I lie! The Eat Me was my 100% favorite. Then the Tea Party, Who Are You? and the Futterwackin.

    1. HAHAHA. I guess our noses don’t always agree. :p But I found someone on the FCS FB group who basically loves all the same scents that I do so I like to see what scents she likes and then judge them for myself too.

      I feel the same way about the OCD hand sanitizer! It was okay at first but now I’m kind of over it after trying it a couple of times. I’ll still use it, but it’s not something I would buy more of. XD

      YESSSS Twisted Tea Party smells amazing. As does the Who Are You? scent. But EAT ME IS THE BEST. SO AMAZING.

      Futterwackin was just okay for me – didn’t love or hate it either way. XD

Leave a Reply

