March 2015 New Beauty Test Tube Review

DSC_0609

NewBeauty Test Tube
The Breakdown:
Ships 6 Times a Year | $29.95 each time + $8.95 Shipping | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0611

“NewBeauty TestTube is the ultimate beauty sampling program. Six times a year, members receive a TestTube filled with deluxe and full-size products from the hottest beauty brands. Members also get a  subscription to NewBeauty magazine.”

DSC_0614

The packaging and presentation is very clean, but the best part? IT COMES IN AN ACTUAL TUBE. I’m sure most of you who have subscribed or have previously read reviews regarding this subscription already knew that, but it’s just so much cooler in person. 😄 Plus, the tube has a fun design and I’m just a sucker for colorful patterns. :p

DSC_0615

Each tube will come with a magazine detailing that month’s products!

DSC_0635

It is a full-on magazine that tells you about the product, how to use it, and even details about the company! It will also tell you where you can buy more.

DSC_0618

A quick first look into my tube! Another fun thing about NewBeauty Test Tube is the fact that every subscriber will get a “grab bag” of random products in every tube. It’s basically like a mystery box within a mystery box. (aka my favorite thing) Here’s what I got:

DSC_0621

Tan Towel Look Good Naked (5 towelettes, $12) – I think this would be a great product for someone who loves to self-tan… in other words, someone other than me. 😄 I probably could do with more color in my skin, especially since my job has me sitting indoors all day. But I’m just not for tanning so I’ll have to pass these along. (I think my aversion to tanning is due to that Friends episode where Ross goes to get a spray tan and ends up turning orange, hahaha). These do get rave reviews on Ulta though, 4.4/5 stars!

DSC_0638

Philosophy Hope In A Jar (12 ml/0.4 fl oz, $8.80) – I keep getting these from random places (seriously, I don’t even remember where anymore) and I keep forgetting to use them because I’m currently working my way through my favorite moisturizer (embryolisse lait-crème concentré! best stuff ever!) and I just never remember to open one of these to try. But this also gets great reviews on Ulta at 4.1/5 stars. I should really just toss one into my workbag in case I ever need moisturizer. 😄

DSC_0641

I was SO excited when I saw this in my tube!

DSC_0642

Mally Lip Magnifier in Punch (Full size, $20) – I have seen so many subscription boxes send out Mally products but I never seem to get one! So I was super happy to get this because not only was it something I have wanted to try, it was full size. 😀 It’s a soft lip crayon/lipstick that is so easy to apply! (and the best part is that the shade is perfect for me)

DSC_0647

Look at that beauty!

DSC_0649

A quick swatch (it looks better in person, heh).

So that was a pretty awesome “grab bag” of products for me – and remember, your NewBeauty Test Tube may contain completely different sample products! But the core products (coming right up!) will always be the same.

DSC_0622

John Frieda Luxurious Volume 7 Day Volume In-Shower Treatment (1 fl oz/30 ml, $2.12) – My hair actually has enough volume on most days so I don’t know if I want to add to it. 😄 But this is a hair thickening treatment, so if you have thin hair for whatever reason – this would probably be a great way to try and give it a bit more oomph! The full size is pretty cheap (just under $10) so it’s okay to fall in love with it. 😉

DSC_0624

Lumene Bright Now Vitamin C Day Cream SPF 15 (15 ml/0.5 fl oz, $5.01) – I’ve never used a Lumene product before but I’ve definitely seen their products in subscription boxes before. This is a day moisturizer with SPF so you can keep your skin both hydrated and protected at the same time. The description on the magazine says that one of the ingredients is something by the name of the arctic cloudberry, which has me intrigued. I just hope it smells good!

DSC_0625

Key West Aloe Gentle Aloe Facial Cleanser (1 fl oz, $2.75) – YESSSS. Birchbox was sampling this last month and I believe this month… and I didn’t get it. 😦 So I am stoked to get it here! This smells so good and so fresh. It reminds me of Sprite or Seven-Up! I can’t wait to try this out.

You know how some people can’t wait to try out that new lipstick or eyeshadow? Well, I’m that way about cleansers and skin care in general. I know I run the risk of having bad reactions to whatever product I’m testing out, but I just can’t pass up the chance to try out something new! This is supposed to be very gentle and so I’m banking on that – hopefully my skin will react favorably to it because I just love how it smells.

DSC_0626

 

DSC_0627

Your Best Friend Mechanical Eye Pencil in Charming Champagne (Full size, $14) – This is pretty cool as eye pencils go! (let me just say that I kind of love oversized eye pencils and lip products) You use it and when it runs low, you just twist it up for more product. I really like the subtle color and sparkle that this shade gives so that you can wear it alone or layer it with other eyeshadows! Or you can use this as a highlighter (which is probably what I will end up doing).

DSC_0629

This is a couple of swipes for that much pigmentation. You can play around with how much you want to use for the best effect. It is very shimmery though!

DSC_0634

John Frieda Frizz Ease Beyond Smooth Frizz-Immunity Shampoo and Conditioner (1.5 fl oz/44 ml each, $2.99 total) and John Frieda Frizz Ease Beyond Smooth Frizz-Immunity Primer (0.7 fl oz/20 ml, $1.92) – Wow, FOUR John Frieda products in one tube! 😄 I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing at this point. I guess I’m okay receiving hair care products because it’s important to take care of your hair too, but four hair products in one tube might be overkill. However, these smell AMAZING, no joke. I can’t stop opening the shampoo to smell it.

It’s also important to switch up your shampoo/conditioner every once in a while so that your hair is getting the best combination possible! I find that my hair tends to become more oily over time if I keep using the same hair products so I like to rotate my shampoos. 🙂

DSC_0650

My March NewBeauty Test Tube!

Overall value: $69.59

Overall enjoyment: Not bad, not bad at all! I was pleasantly surprised by my mystery items but was also interested to note that the three mystery items’ values was more than the total of the actual items in the tube. 😄 I don’t know if I lucked out or what, but it is what it is.

I am so excited about that Mally Lip Magnifier and the Key West Aloe Facial Cleanser – those two by far are my favorite items in this tube! The item I didn’t expect to love as much as I do now is the Your Best Friend Mechanical Eye Pencil – it is so neutral and subtle that I can wear it every day without feeling like I’m being overly dramatic with my makeup.

 

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

