April 2015 Ipsy Review

DSC_1017

Ipsy
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | Beauty and Makeup
Ships via DHL | Ships to US, Canada

DSC_1018

Okay, let me just say that I love the bag this month! It’s a straw bag that looks like the perfect thing to bring along with you on that summer beach trip. (though that won’t be me because I’m not a beach person, nor will I have time to go on vacation in the summer months, haha). This bag is very sturdy and lined! Plus, it doesn’t smell gross like some plastic Ipsy bags have in the past. All in all, a very awesome addition to my collection of Ipsy bags. (one of the reasons why I stay subscribed to Ipsy is for the bags, I’ll admit).

DSC_1019

.

DSC_1020

Mullein & Sparrow Mini Lip & Cheek Tint (Full size: 0.25 oz/7 g, $10.00) – This smells like a weird orange chocolate… and looking at the ingredients list, it has essential oils of patchouli and orange. Orange? Okay, not a terrible choice. But patchouli? For a lip product??? NO. No, thank you. I will say that the packaging is cute, but I cannot put something that has patchouli essential oil on my lips, where I will accidentally taste it. Nope.

DSC_1021

.

DSC_1022

Mica Beauty Cosmetics Eye Primer (4 g, $22.48) – This is also half of the full size! And… it’s also too bad that I won’t be using this product. Ipsy sent out a mass email to all subscribers who received this product in their April bag to let them know that the black dots on the product weren’t mold, but colored air bubbles. Still, I’m not going to risk anything because I really would like to keep my eye sight and not get an infection.

DSC_1023

If you’re curious about the email, here it is:

Screen Shot 2015-04-19 at 12.29.42 AM DSC_1026

.

DSC_1027

theBalm Cosmetics NUDE Dude Eyeshadow Single in Flirty (1.0 g/0.035 oz, $3.00) – I love theBalm! They always have the cutest packaging and this product is no exception. The magnetic closure is fun too. :p I’m easily pleased by nice packaging when it comes to commonly sent-out products, like eyeshadow. I love the shade that I received (flirty) because it’s shimmery yet subtle enough for an every day look!

DSC_1029

Yeah oops, I accidentally ruined the outer box in my effort to get the actual blush. 😄

DSC_1030

.

DSC_1032

.

DSC_1033

Hikari Blush in Tango (Full size: 6 g/0.21 oz, $15.00) – This blush is HUGE and even if I wore makeup every day, this would still last for longer than a year. The box was kind of hard to open and I pretty much ruined it, but at least the product was in tact when I finally got it out! 😄 It’s nothing to write home about, but if you like alternating your blushes, then this would be a fun addition to your makeup stash.

DSC_1035

Lather Ultra Light Face Lotion (1 oz/28.3 g, $10.50) – This is half of the full size! Too bad I won’t use it because I’ve read other reviews that state this lotion smells like roses. 😄 And looking at the ingredients list, it contains damascus rose oil (or rosa damascena flower oil). I’m very particular on scented skin care so if it’s scented, it has to be a scent that I like.

DSC_1036

My April 2015 Ipsy bag!

Overall value: $60.98

Overall enjoyment: This wasn’t the best month for me, but I think the bag and theBalm eyeshadow single make up for it! Plus I had used my Ipsy points to redeem a NYX butter lip stick in Pops Explosif because I loved it so much last month. But hey, for $10 a month, this is still a great subscription. At least, that’s what I tell myself. 😉

One comment

  1. I honestly don’t think you’ve got anything to worry about. It actually is just air bubbles (I poked them to check :D). I’ve already got a full size one of these from Boxycharm and it’s a really nice primer. I mean, don’t use it, of course, if you don’t want to but I highly doubt there is anything to worry about.
    Also, patchouli?! In LIP BALM?! I’m with you on that. But I have a major dislike of patchouli in any form. I was really surprised by the size of the blush, too! Not that I’ll use it because I love my current blush way too much… but that’s a huge blush!

Leave a Reply

