April 2015 Birchbox Review

DSC_1037

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US, Canada

DSC_1038

The box design this month? It’s fantastic.

DSC_1040

Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Moisturizing Shampoo (2.0 fl oz/60 ml, $3.49) – Ever since I’ve discovered Fortune Cookie Soap’s shampoo and conditioner bars, I haven’t been as excited as I used to be when it comes to receiving shampoo and conditioner in my subscription boxes. But… this does smell good! Too bad it has SLS and is made in PRC. And I can’t even claim that this would be great for travel because the FCS shampoo bar is even easier to pack and doesn’t run the risk of spilling!

DSC_1041

Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Moisturizing Conditioner (1.35 fl oz/40 ml, $3.05) – Same thing goes for this one, unfortunately. Fortune Cookie Soap’s conditioner bar trumps it! At least both this and the shampoo were decently sized samples.

DSC_1042

.

DSC_1043

Jane Iredale Just Kissed Lip & Cheek Stain in Forever Pink (?, $2.50?) – I have no idea what the size/weight of this sample is! But it is quite tiny! I’ll estimate it at $2.00 (10% of the full size) because the full size is much bigger and costs $25.00. This was my PYS and I love it! The color works well for me and it smells like strawberries. 😀 It claims to be “specially formulated to adjust to your body’s unique chemistry to create a customized, ultra-flattering hue” and guess what? It is actually true! It looks so awesome when I put it on and while I wouldn’t use it as a cheek stain (too greasy), it is PERFECT as a lip stain. I love this so much!

DSC_1044

Harvey Prince Hello Body Butter (15 ml/0.5 fl oz, $1.25) – Hello by Harvey Prince is hands down my FAVORITE perfume ever. So when Harvey Prince started expanding their product lines I was ecstatic! I’ve tried Hello body wash and cream. Unfortunately I have yet to try their shampoo/conditioner. But when I heard they were making a body butter, I was so excited! (and also really hopeful that Birchbox would sample them). So when I found out that not only was Birchbox sampling the body butter but that I would be receiving it? I WAS BASICALLY :D.

Sadly, I find that their body butter is not what I wanted it to be and has a weird dry down scent that lingers. I much prefer their body cream! But of course, their best product remains their perfume. The Hello perfume is the best! I have so much Hello perfume.

DSC_1046

LA Fresh Instant Body Soother Wet Wipe (2 wipes, $0.67) – These contain peppermint and are described to be sweet-smelling so I know I’m going to love them! Peppermint is always a win. I’m throwing them into my workbag for emergencies, just in case. Luck favors the prepared. 😉

DSC_1048

My April 2015 Birchbox!

Overall value: $10.96

Overall enjoyment: Well damn, this was a low value month. XD But even though the two biggest samples weren’t fantastic, the Jane Iredale Lip Stain is AMAZING and kind of makes the entire box for me because it’s something that I’m excited to use! The Hello body butter was a little disappointing but I’ll still use it, I guess. (if I’m not too busy using Fortune Cookie Soap’s whipped creams!)

2 comments

  1. Well, I guess I don’t need to send you my Harvey Prince body butter. 😀 I really like my lipstain, too. It really is the main (only?) good thing about this box.

    1. Hehehe awww <3. Does it smell weird/different to you? IDK but I'll stick with the body lotion from HP for now. XD Haha, I think the lipstain is definitely the only good thing, especially after that mass email Birchbox sent out about the Beaver products…

Leave a Reply

