April 2015 Angels Cup Review

DSC_1133

Angels’ Cup 
The Breakdown:
Weekly, Bi-Weekly, or Monthly | Cost: $7.99/delivery
4 packets of single origin coffee from different roasters
Ships via USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_1134

Angels’ Cup is a pretty unique subscription in many aspects! First off, you can choose the frequency of your deliveries. If you love coffee and drink it every day, you can get your coffee samples delivered every week. Or if you only drink coffee every once in a while, you can get it as a monthly subscription instead. Then, you can choose who you want your coffee samples – whole bean, coarse grind (for French press), or fine grind (for drip). And of course, the coolest part is that it’s a mystery!

They will mail out four different single origin coffees from different roasters. Their focus is on third wave coffees which have been a huge, growing trend right now and they work with awesome and talented roasters from around the country to bring the newest and most unique coffees straight to you. It’s a great way for everyone to enjoy new coffees!

To tie in with the mystery, Angels’ Cup actually has an online app where you can go enter in your thoughts on each coffee and then compare your notes with roastmasters! I went through the app (it’s super easy to follow and you don’t actually have to sign up if you don’t want to) and it was fun to see how far off I was (coffee tasting is definitely not my forte, haha)!

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 4.43.22 PM

I think you can see my notes/guesses HERE!

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 5.01.14 PM

Well, you can see that I was going in the right direction… but I clearly couldn’t truly grasp what I was drinking. XD

So… I’m actually not a huge coffee drinker. I actually don’t drink coffee at all, never have. That’s only because I’m super sensitive to caffeine in general and so if I even just drink a sip or two of coffee, I’m up all night. XD However, both my mom and my brother drink coffee (my mom drinks a cup every afternoon, haha) so I enlisted their help in tasting the coffees I received! I participated too, because I couldn’t pass up such an awesome opportunity to try out different coffees. 😀

DSC_1137

Coffee Tasting #0115
Roaster
: Sunergos Coffee
Origin: Colombia, Hulia
Flavors: Carrot Cake, Cinnamon, Ginger, Nutmeg, Brown Sugar

This was my mom’s favorite out of all four! I will say that none of us guessed that carrot cake was a flavor in this roast. XD But some of the things we noticed was that this coffee definitely was not bitter and was actually a little sweet. There was definitely more body in this coffee than the rest.

DSC_1141

Coffee Tasting #0116
Roaster
: Sunergos Coffee
Origin: Bali Kintamani
Flavors: Raspberry, Starfruit, Strawberry, Soft Tannins

One thing we learned through the course of tasting all four coffees is that ones with fruit flavors tend to be higher in acidity level and will taste sour as a result. This one was “thin” in body, in other words, it didn’t have the well-rounded, full-bodied coffee flavor that might come with a darker roast. My brother said that this had a taste similar to whiskey flavoring. XD

DSC_1139

Coffee Tasting #0117
Roaster
: Square One Coffee
Origin: Ethiopia, Adado
Flavors: Orange, Lime, Blueberry, Apricot, Coffee Blossom

I think this was our least favorite due to the sourness of the flavor that can be attributed to the acidity levels. It was also a “lighter” coffee.

DSC_1143

Coffee Tasting #0119
Roaster
: Square One Coffee
Origin: Kenya, Kiruga
Flavors: Clove, Honeydew, Peach, Passionfruit, Black Tea, Tomato

This smelled really, really good after we ground the beans. If you love the smell of coffee permeating throughout the kitchen in the morning (or really, just any time of day), then this would be amazing. Seriously, I loved how this smelled. So much coffee in the air with this one! Taste-wise, it didn’t have a lot of coffee flavor. XD And it definitely wasn’t bitter at all.

DSC_1145

Straight out of the packet.

DSC_1147

Coffee beans before grinding.

DSC_1148

Grinding the beans.

DSC_1149

It’s a lot of fun to just inhale the scent of freshly ground coffee. XD

DSC_1152

Color of #0115.

DSC_1154

Their info card.

DSC_1155

Explanation of the app! Which will soon be in iTunes and Google Play!

DSC_1156

Each delivery comes with a “cheat sheet” so that you can see what you’re drinking. XD And it’s a great way for you to see which flavors are associated with which coffee. Suffice to say, I was completely unable to name anything correctly.

DSC_1157

My tasting flight!

DSC_1158

If you fall in love with any of your samples, you can easily purchase the full size on their website! But what’s more exciting is that they are soon launching a different subscription with the option to buy 3 oz tasting bags instead of these packets! That way, you can really get a good idea of what you like before committing to a full bag.

They also offer gift subscriptions so you can send this to your coffee-obsessed friend. 😉

Overall enjoyment: I’m by no means a coffee expert/lover, but I had so much fun trying out these mystery coffees! The interactive app is also a great way to get people excited about their tasting flight while learning about coffee. My brother and mom also really enjoyed this experience! They liked smelling and tasting the different coffees, which were very different from their usual choices (we usually get Philz’s Tesora and some special coffee from Taiwan). I think Angels’ Cup is a great way to sample coffee without commitment for both coffee experts and beginners! It’s just a lot of fun to be able to actually try so many kinds of coffee at whatever frequency works out best for you.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

