June 2015 Beauty DNA Review

DSC_1006

BeautyDNA
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $25/month | 1-2 Full Size Products
Beauty products for skin, hair, and body based on your personal profile
Ships via USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_1008

First look!

DSC_1009

So how does BeautyDNA differ from other subscription boxes? Well, for one, you have to fill out this super extensive survey at the beginning before you can even get something. ๐Ÿ˜„ But that’s actually the awesome part – you can tailor this subscription to your needs. If you have don’t want a certain type of product (like self-tanner) or if you have an allergy to certain ingredients, you can fill it out on your survey and BeautyDNA will try their best to avoid sending you anything that you don’t want.

DSC_1010

I actually don’t really remember how I filled out my survey, but I do remember that I was filling out my survey in a way so that I would be more likely get a skin care product. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And so what did I get?

DSC_1011

Yon-Ka Gel Nettoyant – Cleanser and Make-Up Remover (Full size: 6.76 fl oz, $31.86)

“2 in 1 gel for make-up removal and freshness.This azure blue gel with its smooth and silky foam is appropriate for all skin types.ย  It gently cleanses and removes make-up from face, eyelids and eyelashes, and purifies and revives the skin. Gentle on the hydrolipid film, it leavesย  your skinย  supple, fresh and comfortable.”

DSC_1012

At first I was a bit meh because it’s just a cleanser, but then I thought… well, since I got it, I might as well give it a try. And oh my goodness, I am serious… it works so well! I don’t use it as a make-up remover, I just use it as a daily cleanser to get all that office A/C off my face. :p But I am so glad I gave this a try because it make my skin feel so soft and clean afterward. Some cleansers make your skin feel tight or dry after usage, but not this one!

DSC_1013

It has a unique delivery system, haha. You twist the top and it opens for you to squeeze/pour some out. It doesn’t really foam up too much, but it feels great on!

DSC_1014

It smells pretty good too! One of my initial fears was that it would smell too floral or too overwhelming, but it’s very calming with lavender and fresh notes. Plus I really love the soft blue of the gel itself. I’ve literally (yes, actually literally) been using it every day since I received it and I’m really glad it’s not crazy expensive so that I can buy more when I run out of this one.

DSC_1015

Fun fact – one of the ingredients for softening/hydrating is actually me, aka Iris. ๐Ÿ˜„

DSC_1016

Overall value: $31.86 on Amazon ($39.50 elsewhere)

Overall enjoyment: I am so glad that I gave this a try. My initial reservation about this subscription was that they sent out full sized items and I know I never finish anything full size (unless it’s food hahaha) so I do prefer samples. (I feel less guilty about abandoning a sample when I get bored of it). But a cleanser that makes my skin feel amazing and it’s something that I can use daily so I’ll actually finish it? YES. I have one more month coming as I bought a two-month deal from RueLaLa a while back, but I’m really excited to see what I’m going to receive. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments

Leave a Reply

