July 2015 CalmBox Review

DSC_0019

calmbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $35/month
Shipping is free in the US, $10 to Canada, and $15 to the rest of the world
A box full of items curated around calm, mindfulness, and stress relief
Ships via USPS Priority Mail (US) | Ships EVERYWHERE

DSC_0020

 

First look!

Now what is calmbox? It’s a monthly box that inspiring positivity, peace, and calm in your everyday life! Every month you can expect to receive: “items to help with mindfulness and calm. It may include anything from books to candles, natural minerals and crystals, aromatic herbs, music, tea, motivational cards, physical aids, and much more! We choose a new theme every month (like meditation, zen, or mindfulness) and ship a box to your door with items to help you live a calmer, more peaceful life.”

When calmbox reached out and asked if I wanted to review their subscription – yes, they just launched and July is their first ever box – of course I said yes! If you asked me a year ago if I needed a subscription box centered around positivity and stress relief, I would have laughed (just a little). But that was because a year ago, I was still living the good life (aka college) and stress was only midterms and finals. Now? I am so, so happy to welcome a little calm and peace into my life. Stay in school, kids. Work is no fun. :p

DSC_0020a

Info card – side one. Each item was included with a lot of thought and care – and it shows. This box starts you off to help you learn, then gives you time to reflect, clear your mind, and helps to reintroduce the themes so that you don’t forget them!

 

 

DSC_0020b

Info card – side two.

Definitely refer back up to these information cards for the purpose of each item!

DSC_0029

Learning – Zen and the Art of Happiness by Chris Prentiss (paperback): This was included to help  you begin your mindfulness journey.

You know what’s sad? I haven’t read for fun since my junior year of college. But maybe I can sneak this one in with all of my work-related readings since it’s such a small book and just 145 pages. I’m actually a speedy reader, but nowadays, I just want to watch TV when I get home. XD Hopefully this book, with its smiling buddha on the cover, will inspire me to pick up reading again.

Oh and this book? It has 4 stars on Goodreads out of 1,599 ratings.

DSC_0030

The first page.

DSC_0026

Writing – Moleskine Cahier Pocket Journal and Ticonderoga #2 Pencil (sharpened) – These were included to help you become a more active observer of your life.

When I first saw moleskine on that info card, you have no idea how quickly I went for this item. I love stationary and I especially love notebooks that are easy to carry around because I’m always making lists: to-do lists, songs that I heard on the radio lists, grocery lists, etc. This is probably my favorite item in the box just because it’s stationary. XD

I chuckled a little when I saw that the pencil was pre-sharpened. I haven’t used a pencil in forever (I remember in high school when I was thinking how I’d never use pens because how the heck would I take effective notes when I couldn’t erase anything? But now I only use pens) and so I thought I would have to track down a pencil sharpener to even use it. Thankfully calmbox thought ahead and sent one that was already sharpened. :p While I did prefer mechanical pencils, Ticonderoga was my favorite brand for #2 pencils.

DSC_0025

It’s lined! My favorite. 😀

DSC_0027

Mindfulness Cards – These were included for easy carry! You can take these anywhere with you to help remind you to just take a deep breath and calm down a little when things seem to be too overwhelming. These are honestly just good reminders that no matter how bad things may be, it’s important to take a step back and just breathe.

DSC_0038

Mindfulness Aid – Necklace: This was included to be a visual cue to remind you to take your time and calm down so that whenever you see it, you’ll remember to be mindful of your mental state and try to turn down those stress levels.

And I know that fashion isn’t the point of this item, but… this is actually a really awesome inclusion since it’s summer and this would be a perfect accessory. 🙂

DSC_0039

Close-up.

DSC_0031

Mindfulness Aid Candle: Candles can help with meditation and on the card it says that it’s calming to watch the flame flicker for a few minutes to help clear your mind. I can definitely attest to that. There’s something alive about that flame and it just helps to take your mind off of other things because you’re so captivated by that fire.

This candle doesn’t have a scent, which, I guess, helps contribute to clear your mind so that you don’t end up focusing on how it smells. XD

DSC_0033

What’s in the box? (I will always make this joke whenever there is a box within a box :p)

DSC_0034

These beautiful gemstones!

DSC_0035

Mindfulness Aids – Gemstones: These were included because gemstones are believed to be healing, each with their own unique property.

These are gorgeous! As a kid, I used to buy these gemstones when we went on road trips because I love shiny and colorful things. XD Based on the info card below, I think I received (from top to bottom, clockwise): brecciated jasper (strength and vitality), red carnelian (energy), rose quartz (love), ???, and new jade (inner peace).

DSC_0036

Side one.

DSC_0037

Side two.

DSC_0023

Yogi Calming Tea – For unwinding at the end of the day! This has lemongrass and chamomile and tons of other flowers to help you relax! The best part is that it’s caffeine-free, which means I can actually drink it at night without fearing that I can’t fall asleep.

 

 

DSC_0022

 

Pure Organic Chocolate Brownie Bar – Because chocolate! I’m sorry to say that I didn’t enjoy the taste of this bar. XD But that’s only because I don’t like dates and I could clearly taste them in here.

 

DSC_0042

 

The July 2015 calmbox!

Overall enjoyment: I really liked it; this box was well-curated and well-thought out. The items that they included all had a purpose and if you really tried to incorporate them into your life, then you could find yourself changing for the better. 🙂 I’m really excited to break in that moleskine and to hopefully give that book a try.

If you’re interested in giving calmbox a chance, use BOXESFORDAYS to get $5 off your first box!

 

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

