Memebox #HDReady Cream Matte Lipstick Set Review

DSC_0101

#HDReady Cream Matte Lipstick Set
Cost: $20 for the set or $10 each| One-Time Purchase

DSC_0103

Memebox sent me this set of Evon cream matte lipsticks! They are part of Memebox’s latest collaboration project with Evon (makeupbyevon) and is part of the #HDReady Collection. The new trends to start paying attention to are matte lips and marsala! And I’m super excited by matte lips because I’ve always liked my lipsticks to be more matte than shiny. 😀

DSC_0104

#3 Daring Marsala – sensual, bold, and rich wine aka Pantone marsala.

DSC_0105

#2 True Marsala – better than nude, warm soft brown with a hint of marsala red undertone

DSC_0106

#1 Shy Marsala – classic pinky nude beige, the lightest shade on the marsala color spectrum.

DSC_0109

 

From left to right: Daring Marsala, True Marsala, and Shy Marsala!

DSC_008

Close-up shot of the applicator! (this was shy marsala)

DSC_0110

 

Swatches of the three shades. From left to right: Daring Marsala, True Marsala, and Shy Marsala.

I was surprised to find out how much I loved Daring Marsala – it’s my favorite of the trio! I don’t know what it is, but that shade just works stunningly well with my skin tone. If I apply a light layer of Daring Marsala, it’s the most gorgeous color ever. And if I want a more vampy look, I can just do a few more layers.

The True Marsala was too orange for me, but I think with the right foundation/makeup, it would look amazing. And the Shy Marsala was quite light when I tried it on! It’s actually lighter than the natural color of my lips, which gave me a nude lip color that I really liked. 😀

Pros: I love how these apply! The application is so smooth and they don’t feel flaky afterward. I’ve tried Too Faced’s Melted Lipsticks and those are terrible in comparison. With the Too Faced products, it felt like I was caking on mud. But with these Evon cream matte lipsticks? I can barely feel the product but all the color is there!

Cons: Just one, actually. But for me, it’s kind of a big one. I really did not enjoy the scent/taste of these. They’re super floral and it’s not something I want near my mouth. :/ I was hoping that they would be minty or vanilla but unfortunately… it was not to be so. 😄

Otherwise, I really loved these! They were easy to use, smooth to apply, and the formula itself was creamy. They weren’t drying and the color definitely lasts.

 

You can also check out my other Memebox reviews here.

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

