Rachel Zoe Box of Style Summer 2015 Review

DSC_0047

The Zoe Report – Box of Style
The Breakdown:
Cost: $100/quarter or $350 for an annual subscription
Fashion, Beauty, and Lifestyle Items
When: Ships in March, July, September, December
Ships via UPS

DSC_0048

Ta-daaa! First look. 😀 I was so excited to find this at my front door because this is hands down my favorite quarterly box that’s out there right now.

DSC_0050

Every single item is individually wrapped, so you can practice tearing through wrapping paper for Christmas.

DSC_0051

Item #1

DSC_0052

How gorgeous is the packaging?

DSC_0054

.

DSC_0056

A beautiful gold outer casing.

DSC_0057

Too Faced La Creme Colour Drenched Lipstick in Spice Spice Baby (Full size, $22) – How much do I love this? SO MUCH. The lipstick packaging feels so luxurious and the case itself has a good weight to it. The cap itself doesn’t just click on, you can feel it slide into place. And the color/shade? Yes, oh yes. It’s a beautiful, rich rose that is just amazing. Interestingly enough, it applies on pretty sheer and shimmery. The best part is that it smells like vanilla/lemons and feels so good (read: hydrating) when applied. It’s like putting on the most amazing lipstick/lip gloss/chapstick product. I can honestly see why Rachel Zoe says she’s obsessed with this product!

DSC_0059

Item #2

DSC_0063

Another item from Too Faced!

DSC_0064

When you put this down, it looks like a giant medallion. 😄

DSC_0066

Too Faced Sun Bunny Natural Bronzer (Full size, $30) – I’ll be the first to admit that I really don’t know how to properly apply make-up. Sure, I can do the basics, but contouring? Not quite there yet. 😄 And honestly, I’m too lazy to put on makeup most days so I really don’t get too much practice. But this is such a pretty case (with SO MUCH BRONZER THAT IT WILL LAST FOREVER) and this particular product gets amazing reviews on Sephora… that I will have to try my best to experiment and hopefully get closer to mastering the art of applying makeup properly.

DSC_0067

Item #3

DSC_0068

I wasn’t expecting for it to come packaged liked this! But you twist the top off to reveal…

DSC_0069

This!

DSC_0070

O.R.G. Skincare Mineral Face Peel (Full size, $44) – Amazing effect or miracle  aside… this smells SO GOOD. It’s clean and fresh… and just a little fruity tropical! I have yet to try this, but it’s definitely first up on my list because I want to slather this good-smelling stuff on my face. 😄 (Probably not the best thing to do to your skin – haphazardly putting stuff on just because you like the smell, but hey, I trust Rachel Zoe and the ingredients list looks promising!) You spray it onto dry skin, let it absorb for 3 seconds, and then using your hand or a wash cloth, exfoliate by rubbing circles, then rinse with warm water! I wasn’t super excited about this when I first saw the spoilers, but now I can’t wait to use it. I swear this happens every time I find out something smells good, haha.

DSC_0071

Eh, this was a bad photo, but… it is what it is. 😄 (and I might have forgotten to take a “wrapped” photo for this one… oops)

DSC_0073

I think everyone received these nippies skin in the shade “light”.

DSC_0072

Bristols6 Nippies Skin (Full size, $26) – I swear to god, Rachel Zoe keeps introducing me to new things and tricks to help with my minimal fashion knowledge. First the fashion tape and now this! You use these when you don’t want to wear a bra and want to avoid a nip slip. These mold to your body and are reusable! You can actually also use these as heel pads or insoles if you don’t want to use them to cover your nipples/you don’t wear sheer/gauzy tops. 😄

DSC_0074

Item #5

DSC_0095

Mara Hoffman Sarong Exclusive ($98) – This is an exclusive print by Mara Hoffman, designed just for the Rachel Zoe Box of Style! I wish I had taken better photos/actually taken it out of the plastic because these photos do not do this justice at all. It is absolutely to die for and crazy soft (it’s 100% rayon). When I first saw the spoilers, I was like… what am I going to do with a sarong? But this has so many other uses! If you don’t want to use it as a sarong, you can use it as a shawl or a scarf. It is light-weight and bold and so colorful. I am absolutely in love with this. *____* This is a summer must-have for sure.

DSC_0096

You can’t see it in either photo, but each corner has a cute little tassel. Love, love, love.

DSC_0078

Item #6

DSC_0080

The Hero Item! 😀

DSC_0084

Unclasped and complete with unruly strap.

DSC_0085

The Cambridge Satchel Company White Leather Pushlock Handbag ($150) – This was the Hero Item that was revealed a long, long time ago… and what made a lot of people sign up ASAP. 😄 Me? I had the annual subscription so I was just elated to see such a high value item! I wasn’t 100% sold on the fact that this was white, but now that I have it? IT GOES PERFECTLY WITH EVERYTHING. I tried on at least five different outfits and this literally looked good with each one. The length of the strap and where the handbag itself falls on my hip is spot-on. The construction is study. The look is classic. This is just sheer perfection. I didn’t know how much I needed this in my life until I got it.

DSC_0086

Of course it came with a dust bag!

DSC_0087

.

DSC_0088

Side view.

DSC_0089

Slightly closer.

DSC_0098

The Summer 2015 Rachel Zoe Box of Style!

Overall value: $370.00

Overall enjoyment:I think I love this box even more than the first one… and I thought that one would be hard to top because I absolutely adored the Miansai Screw Cuff and wear the Toms Sunglasses almost every other day! But the bold colors of the sarong, the smooth application of the lipstick, the fresh, clean scent of the face peel, and the timeless beauty of the hand bag seriously won me over. If I sounded way too enthusiastic in my review, it was because I am so excited about these products and how I’m going to incorporate them into my daily life! We don’t know what the hero item is for the fall box, but I highly, highly recommend you sign up for it anyway because Rachel Zoe’s Box of Style is killing it every quarter!

4 comments

  1. I have never been more disappointed in a subscription service in my life! You pay $100, 3 months in advance – and when you STILL don’t get your box, there is no customer service number to call in order to investigate. When you try and email, it goes unreturned!!! I have tried multiple times to reach their customer service, and get NO response! It is beyond frustrating! A company of this size should have a phone number, or at least reply to your emails! How am I supposed to get an update, or request a refund? The box looks amazing….too bad the service sucks! I will never purchase from Rachel Zoe again!

    1. Oh geez, I’m so sorry to hear about that. 😦 I wish I could help but I’m guessing you’ve already exhausted all means of communication with their long list of emails to try and get in contact with a CS rep.

  2. Great review! I love love love LOVE this box! So far it’s my favorite sub box of ever (that includes all the Popsugar LE boxes, Quarterly, etc.) I’m already excited to see the fall “hero” item. . hopefully it’ll be released any day now. 🙂 I think what I appreciate the most is that everything in the box is high quality and useful, not just random discounted stuff. This is the first sub box I’ve had that is thoughtfully curated and aimed to please everyone.

    1. Aww, thank you so much! 🙂 I loved this box too; it was so well-curated and is very, very close to being my favorite sub box (but I think Popsugar beats this one just for the fact that it comes every month so I don’t have to wait so long between boxes haha). I can’t wait to see what the fall hero item will be either – I hope it’s something amazing… 😀

Leave a Reply

