March 2016 Birchbox Review

DSC_0168

Birchbox
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $10/month | 4-5 samples | Beauty and lifestyle |
Ships via UPS or USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_0169

Well hello there… it’s been a while since I’ve posted a Birchbox review! ๐Ÿ˜„

DSC_0170

My items this month! I picked the Parlor by Jeff Chastain shampoo and conditioner duo for my sample choice because I wasn’t really drawn to anything this month and you can always use shampoo/conditioner.

DSC_0172

Baiser Vole by Cartier (spray vial, $1) – As always, I assign $1 value to any perfume sample. :p This one is pretty powdery/floral with the lily as a top heavy note. To be honest, this smells like a grandma kind of perfume, if you know what I mean. It’s not my favorite but you can’t always win with perfume samples.

DSC_0171

Nothing too exciting for me. I don’t see myself wearing this fragrance at all.

DSC_0173

Parlor by Jeff Chastain Volumizing & Texturizing Shampoo and Conditioner (Shampoo – 30 ml/1 fl oz, $2.75 and Conditioner – 12 ml/0.31 fl oz, $1.13) – Great for travel, especially in more humid countries since it’ll help give your hair volume. ๐Ÿ˜€ I haven’t opened these yet, but a lot of people who have sampled them say that these have a great scent, which is a bonus!

DSC_0174

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Cleanser (1.o fl oz/30 ml, $3.90) – My mom and dad both love Kiehl’s but I prefer Origins. :p So I guess I should give Kiehl’s a try, right? I’m always down to try a new cleanser, especially one from a brand with great reputation. Hopefully it won’t make my skin super dry/flaky. ๐Ÿ˜„

DSC_0175

Because there was glare, here’s a better photo.

DSC_0176

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Op Eye Shadow Trio (0.04 oz/1.2g, $12.44) – I got the “Filter” trio, which consisted of Vanilla, Sable, and Sumatra.

DSC_0177

This is terribly blurry and out of focus photo, oops. ๐Ÿ˜„ But as you can see, it neatly slides out and is compact enough for just about any purse! The colors are great for a natural look or a starting foundation for you to blend with other, wilder colors.

DSC_0178

Cynthia Rowley Brightening Illuminatorย (1 g/0.04 oz, $10.18) – A little goes a long way with this product! It’s supposed to work on all skin tones, helping to give that extra brightness to your cheekbones, brows, and the inner corners of your eyes to complete your look.

DSC_0179

Cynthia Rowley always has great packaging for their products.

DSC_0180

A little guide on how and where to use the product.

DSC_0181

Random thing of note… this month Birchbox did away with the tissue paper and instead went with a foam-like bottom.

DSC_0182

Overall value: $31.40

Overall enjoyment: Definitely not a bad month in terms of value! But I don’t really see myself using the perfume sample or the eye shadow trio.ย I am hoping to love the cleanser and the highlighter though, both are great brands. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

