February 2017 Epicurean Box Review

DSC_0984

Epicurean Box
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $65.99/month
+ shipping (it was $20.79 to ship to California)
6 small batch gourmet food items
Ships via USPS
Ships to the USA

DSC_0987

What is Epicurean?

Epicurus believed that the greatest good in this world was pleasure and that the only way to ascertain pleasure was through seeking knowledge of the world through experience. Join us as we journey through the culinary world here in the U.S. and around the globe to seek out new, interesting, and culinarily expansive products. Our monthly subscription box features five to six full sized food items and culinary accoutrements that will expand your food experiences. For the foodie who is never satiated, the pleasure attained through culinary experiences and learning about our food’s origins never ends.

They have three different subscription tiers:

  1. Le Petite – 2 items/month for $25.99/month
  2. Enthusiast – 4 items/month for $45.99/month
  3. The Epicurean – 6 items/month for $65.99/month

I was sent The Epicurean for review. It should be noted that the Epicurean Box is a brand new subscription box and that this is their first ever shipment out to subscribers and reviewers alike.

DSC_0988

Their information pamphlet lists out the 6 items. Even though there was no specific theme stated; it looks like the common denominator is Asian influence.

DSC_0989

Some background and consumption ideas.

DSC_0990

A couple of recipes.

DSC_0991

Maybe this was a welcome gift? Not sure as it wasn’t included in the pamphlet, but it’s a nice extra! 🙂

DSC_0992

Cumin Seeds – Not quite sure what to do with these (other than to follow their recipe or go look up some recipes myself) because I’ve never actually cooked with whole cumin seeds before.

DSC_0993

A close-up.

DSC_0994

Japanese Style Red Bean Mochi – I am sad to say I really did not enjoy these. I love mochi and I have been spoiled with all the fresh mochi stores around where I live, so these pre-packaged mochi just didn’t compare. But even then I really would not suggest these as a first experience for mochi as the “red bean” inside of these mochi really isn’t very good, unfortunately. 😦

DSC_0995 DSC_0996

Maesri Red and Green Curry Paste – I love Thai curries but have never made it myself (because it’s honestly just so much easier to order take out for these)! I guess I’ll have to at least try my hand at making a curry now that I have these cans of curry paste.

DSC_0998

Canned Red Bean with Sugar Syrup – I’ve bought this before at my local Japanese market and it’s pretty decent. A fun topping to add to shaved ice or green tea ice cream!

DSC_0999

Falak Basmati Rice – We’ve never cooked basmati rice at home because we usually prefer jasmine or brown rice, but I actually really love basmati rice. I’ll definitely have to make some for myself with this 2 pound bag. 🙂

DSC_1001

Everything came packaged safely in this huge box with paper worms.

DSC_1000

Overall enjoyment: It pains me to say this but I really do not think this is worth $65.99 + shipping cost. Not only are these items easily purchased at local Chinese/Japanese/Indian supermarkets (I honestly believe I could find all of the items included in this box at my local Ranch 99… and it looks like you can also hunt some of them down on Amazon as well), but none of these are what I would consider “small batch gourmet food items”, which is the stated description on their website. If they had sent this out for $20-25, then maybe it would be worth it.

Also the fact that shipping is $20.79 to ship 6 items to California? That is ridiculously high. I understand the need to protect the items being sent out as well as the consideration of their weight, but I have never seen such high shipping fees for a single food subscription box. I did see on another blogger’s review that it cost around $8 to ship to New York, so depending on where you live, you’ll get a better/worse deal. If it is truly costing them this much to ship out, then I would highly recommend that they look into different shipping options/partners.

My issues with this box thus far is 1) the value of the items is disproportionate to the cost of the box, 2) the shipping cost is far too high, and 3) the items they sent out do not fit “small batch gourmet food”. However, I do believe that they did send out food items that expand food experiences for those who might not have access to so many different cultures and cuisines. And as it is their first month, I hope that they will improve in the coming months. I do

 

 

 

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

