May 2017 Cate & Chloe VIP Box Subscription Review + 35% OFF PROMO CODE!

DSC_1172

Cate & Chloe VIP
The Breakdown:
Monthly | Cost: $39.99/month
3 pieces of jewelry
Ships via USPS | Ships to the US

DSC_1174

What is Cate & Chloe? What do they do?

Each month our stylists will pick two of the most popular styles to send to you. Styles include earrings, bracelets, bangles, necklaces and more to keep you up to date on the latest trends. We also love to surprise our VIPs with bonus items including beauty essentials, make up, & more!

They have a style quiz you can fill out to help their stylists send you the right kind of jewelry and you can choose whether to start your subscription at 1 piece of jewelry/month ($19.99), 2 pieces of jewelry/month ($29.99), or 3 pieces of jewelry/month ($39.99) – which is what this review is for. 🙂

Shipping is free and you always get an extra item in your box, no matter which subscription you choose!

DSC_1173

They win points for the cute tissue paper!

DSC_1175

There is variation in everyone’s box, depending on your style quiz results. I didn’t get to take the quiz as this box was sent to me for review, but at least you guys can get an idea of some of the jewelry Cate & Chloe will send out.

DSC_1176

Harper Majestic Leather Choker – Chokers are super “in” right now so I’m not surprised to see one in a jewelry subscription box. However, I am surprised to see it in a Cate & Chloe box because the jewelry they sell in their online store is mostly comprised of metal necklaces (which I would have rather received, if I’m being honest) and I don’t believe there are any leather pieces there.

Currently, I don’t see this piece in their online store, so I’m not sure what their retail value for this is.

DSC_1178

All of that being said, it’s a nice choker. It wears comfortably and looks to be on-trend.

DSC_1179

Not sure how I feel about the… charm (?) though. It’s not really my style and it feels like it’s plastic. But I guess it gives off a cool rainbow shine, kind of like opal.

DSC_1180

The back of the charm.

DSC_1182

Aubrey Fair Gold Stacked Jewel Ring ($49) – This one is in their online store and here are its details:

  • Gold Plated
  • Black Circle and Hexagon Stones
  • Style: Stackable Ring
  • Size: 7
  • Base Metal: Zinc Alloy
DSC_1183

View of the back.

Unfortunately it is not adjustable, so if your ring size is not exactly a 7, then you’re out of luck. (however, it is good to note that you can indicate your ring size in the style quiz)

DSC_1192

Side shot.

DSC_1195

This is a nice statement piece, but I just don’t see myself wearing this.

DSC_1200

The previous two pieces came in their own velvet pouches; the last piece came in its own Cate & Chloe box.

DSC_1201

Heidi Amazed Earrings ($45) –  This also came in silver (which I would have preferred) and here are the details:

  • Silver Plated
  • .8″ Triangle Earrings with small triangle stud
  • Backing: Push
  • Base Metal: Zinc Alloy
DSC_1203

These definitely pair well with the choker and would be a pretty edgy look for a concert or a night out.

DSC_1204

If you’re not into the bigger triangles, you can just take them off and wear the smaller ones as studs.

DSC_1208

L’ange Hair Replenish Detangling Conditioning Spray ($17) -Every month, they also send out an extra item. For May, it was this conditioning spray. It smells very tropical with its coconut top notes.

Formulated with Pro-Vitamin B5, and wheat amino acids this light-weight leave-in detangler conditions, adds body and maintains a healthy scalp. Aloe, Chamomile, Sage and lemon balm sooth and moisturize the hair. UV protectant helps color from fading. Paraben free.”

DSC_1206

Overall enjoyment: I think I would have enjoyed this box a lot more if I could have filled out a profile/taken the style quiz because there are other pieces on their website that I can totally see myself wearing. From the pieces I received, I can tell that they were styled toward “statement/edgy/gold”, whereas I would have much preferred “classic/delicate/silver”.

When I buy jewelry, I’m using looking to purchase pieces that I can wear on a daily basis… so to be completely honest, I don’t see myself wearing any of these pieces and will most likely just pass them to a friend; all three pieces just are not for me.

But at least this review will give you guys a good idea of what kind of jewelry you might receive if you like statement pieces! In general, I think it’s a pretty good deal at $39.99 for three pieces plus a special bonus item every month, especially if you like to mix up your jewelry to create different looks and want to stay on trend.

If you’d like to try out Cate & Chloe, use BFDUNCONDITIONALVIP35 to get 35% off your first month (when you check out with the month to month subscription)!

 

 

 

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

