Althea Haul Review!

DSC_0071

Althea
No. 1 digital destination for all things K-beauty – shopping, lifestyle, and trends.

What is Althea? Althea is an online store that carries all sorts of Korean beauty products and this is a review of my haul! 🙂 They ship to Asia and have recently started shipping to the United States as well so that we can all share in the awesomeness.

DSC_0072

As you can see printed on their box, they offer quite a lot of promising guarantees! Just a few highlights are:

  • All items ship from Korea so you know it’s 100% authentic
  • Free shipping from Korea on orders over $50
  • 30 day unconditional return if you aren’t satisfied with the products
DSC_0073

Althea reached out to me and asked if I would like to review their products, which is what brings me to this post! They gave me credits so that I could shop for what I want and share this review with all of you. 🙂

Each item I chose is linked back to the website’s exact page so that you guys can see them too. One thing I really like about Althea is that they have a lot of detail on each product so that you know exactly what you’re getting and how to use it as all of the products have Korean on the packaging and not all of them have English instructions.

I split the review into two parts – part one is masks and part two is actual products because what Korean beauty haul would be complete without beauty masks? 😀

DSC_0075

Holika Holika Pig-Nose Clear Black Head 3-Step Kit ($1.25 each) – Black heads and large pores on my nose are probably some of my biggest skin problems… which is why I got four of these. XD I tried one of them out and while I didn’t see a lot of white heads or black heads being pulled out in step two of the kit, the strip in step three really made the skin on my nose feel smooth and clean.

This kit works in three steps to make sure you have clean, well-kept pores: step 1 works to open up them, preparing them for dirt removal; step 2 works to extract the sebum and blackheads (relish in the satisfaction you get when you peel off that sheet and see the dirt come off!); step 3 finally works to minimize the cleaned pores to ensure sebum control and smooth skin.”

DSC_0077

Holika Holika Gold Monkey Glamour Lip 3 Step ($2.25) – I haven’t had a chance to try this out, but when I was browsing through the sheet masks, I couldn’t help but want to grab one of these! I think lip sheet masks are fun and they look ridiculous (which is even more fun, haha).

This kit works in 3 steps to get perfectly delicious lips: a lip peeling patch infused with pure gold and cellulose to exfoliate and smooth out the skin; a volume lip pack containing hyaluronic acid and collagen to hydrate and soothe lips; and a honey lip essence to moisturize and nourish the lips for that perfect pout.”

DSC_0078

Pure Smile Choosy Lip Pack ($0.75 each) – I’ve tried these before and LOVED them. I don’t know if they have any true long term effect on your lips, but I do know that the experience is super fun and that your lips feel very nice right afterward. 🙂 I got it in two different “flavors” of peach and fruit; each one is supposed to do a little something different for your lips!

DSC_0079

Holika Holika Baby Pet Magic Mask Sheet ($1.75 each) – Okay, these looked SO COOL that I just had to get one of each. The whole premise of this type of sheet mask is that each one has the pattern of the animal on the packaging ON THE ACTUAL MASK. And then as time passes after you’ve put it on your face, some of the pattern will disappear to make it look like the baby version of the original animal.

Here’s an example photo from Althea’s website for the pug sheet mask:

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 12.43.56 AM

WHO WOULDN’T WANT TO DO THIS? Hahahaha. I love it! 😀

DSC_0080

Next Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Blackhead 3 Step Program ($2.00) – Clearly getting four of the Holika Holika blackhead mask treatments was not enough… I had to try a different one. XD This was the most expensive blackhead mask within the three I got so I’m excited to try this one out too!

Step 1 works by opening up your pores for more effective blackhead removal. Apply the mask on your nose, leave on for 15 to 20 minutes, and rinse off with lukewarm water.
Step 2 removes your blackhead. Apply the sheet on your nose, leave on for another 15 to 20 minutes, and gently peel off.
Step 3 tightens the pores on your nose. Apply the mask on your nose, leave on for about 10 minutes, and rinse off with lukewarm water.”

DSC_0081

THE FACESHOP Jeju Volcanic Lava 3-Step Blackhead Remover Nose Strip ($1.75) – Yet another blackhead remover mask! I couldn’t help it. XD Ever since I experiment using a Dr. Jart one, I’ve been hooked and have wanted to try as many of these as possible!

DSC_0082

APIEU Gold Silk Blanket Mask ($1.50) – I had to get this one after I saw a photo of what it looked like out of the pouch (as taken from Althea’s website):

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 1.19.38 AM

It’s basically a gold sheet mask with a gold sequined pattern! They also had a silver one that I was tempted to try but I ultimately went with the gold one. XD This may just be the shiniest sheet mask I’ve ever received!

DSC_0083

That was my sheet mask haul… and now onto other k-beauty products!

DSC_0084

COC Pro Skin-adhering Foundation Brush ($3.00) – This was a super cheap foundation brush that I happened to see while looking through their items and thought… why not? I honestly don’t wear makeup every day but I’ve started wearing BB cream that has 50SPF because it’s getting warmer and the sun is getting brighter as we move into summer. As skincare also includes UV protection, I thought it was time for me to start wearing BB cream. XD

DSC_0085

The bristles are so soft and feel really nice against my skin!

DSC_0089

Etude House Sunprise Must Daily SPF 50+ PA+++ ($7.25) – Speaking of UV protection… I did get this sunscreen that contains vitamin D in its formula for days that I don’t want to bother with BB cream and just want to slather on something to keep the sun from aging my skin. XD I chose this one in particular because it’s a very light-weight lotion that also acts like a moisturizer, which is what my skin needs!

DSC_0090

Innisfree Volcanic Black Head Out Balm ($4.00) – Yes, this is another blackhead-related product. XD But I thought I’d give this one a try because it’s not a mask and can be used multiple times! The container is quite big and there is a lot of product within it. 😀

DSC_0091

The container!

DSC_0092

The actual product!

How To Use: Scoop out a small amount and massage onto skin until it becomes an oil for about 3-5 minutes. Rinse off with water and follow up with cleansing routine.

DSC_0093

Mizon Collagenic Aqua Volume Lip Essence ($7.00) – I love lip balms and chapstick… so of course, I had to try this out! It comes out like a gel, which is my favorite kind because it’s so hydrating and really helps to protect your lips. This one has a faint peach/fruity scent and also 10SPF!

DSC_0184

Perfect for your purse/travel.

DSC_0095

A plastic, slanted applicator tip.

DSC_0097

Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream ($12.00) – BB cream! Korea has some of the best so I decided to try out this Missha one. 🙂 There are two shades available on Althea and I went with No. 23 (which is a little darker).

DSC_0100

This blends SO nicely and the coverage is fantastic! I love how it feels on my skin and the fact that it’s SPF42 is fantastic. 😀 (see below for swatch)

DSC_0115

Witch’s Pouch CC Cream SPF50PA++ ($7.00) – I’ve never actually tried a CC cream before but I’ve heard good things about them and this particular product had good reviews on Althea so I went for it!

DSC_0117

It’s a 6 in 1: UV protection, whitening, anti-wrinkle, tone-correcting, covering, and moisturizing. It’s basically everything you want for your skin care! XD The coolest thing is that it comes out as a pearly white, but slowly blends into a skin tone color as you rub/dab it against your skin! I honestly think this is SO COOL and it has a really nice, light vanilla scent. (see below for swatch)

DSC_0236

Missha on the left and Witch’s Pouch on the right.

DSC_0237

On the bottom of the Witch’s Pouch, you can see the beginning of the white becoming beige as the color capsules are broken and the color is released!

DSC_0102

Petitfee Black Pearl & Gold Hydrogel Eyepatch ($9.75) – I love eye gel patches more than sheet masks or blackhead removal masks or any other kind of mask! These are so cooling and refreshing… and it just feels so nice to have a mini spa treatment every night. 🙂 This one’s made with black pearl and gold! Sadly it is currently sold out, but there are a couple of other hydrogel eye patches available on the website.

DSC_0104

It comes with a plastic spatula so you don’t contaminate the other eye patches!

DSC_0180

How gorgeous is this?!

DSC_0181

Side shot. XD

DSC_0182

And action shot!

DSC_0105

Petitfee Gold & Snail Hydrogel Patch ($9.75) – Well of course I couldn’t just try out only one kind of hydrogel eye patch. This one is made with gold and snail extract! I know it might sound gross but all of that snail mucus is good for your skin. 😉

 

DSC_0108

This also came with its own plastic spatula!

DSC_0177

HOW GORGEOUS IS THIS?

DSC_0178

I can’t deal with how pretty this is. *___*

DSC_0183

Action shot, of course!

DSC_0109

Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Toner ($16.50) – I haven’t been regularly using a toner (I know, I know… it’s important to use toner in your skincare routine) so I thought I’d try this one! It has great reviews and the fact that it’s targeted to help control excessive sebum secretion really sold me. It has a light floral scent and I’ve been using it the last couple of days and it hasn’t made my skin break out (which has happened to me with other toners) so fingers crossed this will be the one!

DSC_0111

Out of the box!

DSC_0113

Make sure to shake it well! There’s sediment that settles to the bottle of the bottle.

DSC_0119

This is just a small sample of the items that Althea carries in their online store; they carry so much more ! I mainly went for skincare products to stay true to my own interests, but I was very tempted by their lip products as well. 😀 They also put out some special boxes that are just great for the value and the products they curate so I’d definitely keep an eye out for those!

Overall, I highly recommend trying out Althea – they have really awesome brands ranging from ones you’ve definitely heard of to lesser known brands that are fun to experiment with. 😀 Let me know what your favorite product was and maybe what you would buy after you browse through their selection of items!

 

 

*Disclosure: The above item was complimentary and received for review purposes. All opinions are my own and no compensation was received. I only review things that are in line with my interests and wouldn’t subject you, my dear readers, to boring products or subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

